We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcoming hotel in a non touristy part of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcoming hotel in a non touristy part of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The location of the hotel is not central but the Metro station close by means that the centre is easy to reach. The real bonus of this location is that you get to drink in local bars and eat in local restaurants so it feels like you are experiencing the real Rome. Prices are not over inflated like in central Rome in the main tourist areas.

We were greeted very warmly at the hotel and immediately provided with a map and advice on which metro stops to use and also bus alternatives. Free wi-fi was also sorted on arrival. The receptionist described staying at the hotel as like staying with friends in a big house- and that was a great description of our experience.

The double room we had booked was amazing. Beautifully decorated, large and a bathroom with a double shower - heavenly! The room was very clean and everyday was serviced to a high standard. Really impressed that each morning a letter was left outside the door with the weather forecast and a lovely quote for the day. It was a really thoughtful gesture from the hotel. Breakfast was a simple and plentiful self service buffet.

Our only disappointment was the fitness room as we'd specifically booked a hotel with fitness facilities. The fitness area is very small with basic equipment and so we didn't use
it.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Rome and would definitely stay there again. Huge thanks to all the staff for making the hotel a great experience rather than just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

I read with pleasure your contribution on Tripadvisor released for the stay in our Hotel Aurelius.
I agree, when talking about the area where the hotel is located, emphasizing that here you can truly experience the city. Finding plenty of opportunities to eat well, and at the right price.
I would add that the same Aurelius Hotel offers rates that, compared to all the other downtown hotels of the same category, they are much more affordable.

We hope you can come back again in Rome and in the meantime we tell you thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    209
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
127
416
20
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by Renate, one of the lovely receptionists who soon gave us all the information we needed for our first trip to Rome. The hotel is very clean and our bedroom has recently been refurbished, but the hotel is bright and clean. Breakfast was plentiful with attentive staff when needed. Situated not too far from the centre of Rome, we can thoroughly recommend the Aurelius as a place to stay. Excellent value for money!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hauskarlsruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

is very nice you want to recommend to all, as you have written on Trip Advisor, to stay in our Hotel Aurelius.
For us it is good to understand by these words that you was pleased with our small hotel. This fact gives us the necessary enthusiasm to continue in this direction.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful stay here. Top marks on everything, which helped make our stay in Rome unforgettable.
The hotel manager was absolutely terrific! He spoke excellent English, was extremely helpful and friendly, yet very efficient and professional.
5 star service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGrayCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for the positive feedback left on Tripadvisor about our Hotel Aurelius.
Every day we work with the aim of offering a high quality service and the warmth of a home.

We like to communicate with our Guests (and in this language are important) but even more we believe it's important to talk with the looks and smiles.

We look forward again to Rome.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel Aurelius about 2pm via hired car from FCO on a Friday (4/4), about a 30 minute drive. The area is very blue collar and workmanlike, and the hotel is on a very busy street. There is a hospital west of here so ambulances were a regular sound, but even with the constant traffic and being on the second floor, it really wasn't a noise issue. The rooms were surprisingly spacious, impeccably clean, and comfortable. The level of friendliness we received from the staff was second to none - on a daily basis they went out of their way to make us feel at home. Breakfast started every morning at 7:30 and was delicious. Internet access was not a problem for us. We always stayed connected although the signal was pretty weak.The location was not a problem because there was a metro station less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and we could be at the Colosseum within 30 minutes from leaving the room. There are a couple of nice local restaurants - Gustosando and Joseph - nearby, a fantastic pastry shop east of the hotel on the first opposite corner, and a pizza and kebab place that we also recommend, and all are within 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
With the level of service, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, daily breakfast, internet access, location to metro, and nearby restaurant choices we consider the Hotel Aurelius to be highly recommended for your trip to Rome. We travel extensively and this, our first trip to Rome, went off without a hitch. And a fair part of that was due to the courtesy and professionalism of the staff at the Hotel Aurelius. Stay here - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

reading your review on Trip Advisor and finding it so rich in detailsI understand how it was great satisfaction in choosing our Hotel Aurelius.

Thank you for the many positive comments on our service. But thanks even more for having testified at all how easy and quick reach any place of Rome ... even those further away, such as the Colosseum.

We hope to see you again in Rome

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Similar to other reviewers, I would never usually write a review of a hotel, despite always reading reviews before booking myself. On this occasion, I felt the staff in Hotel Aurelius were so friendly and helpful that I wanted to give them positive feedback on our experience staying here.

My now fiance (we got engaged here on a day-trip to Florence!) stayed here for a week from the 10th to 17th of April this year. On our arrival, Renata helped us to check-in and was very friendly and helpful. We were given a map of the city, and shown the nearest Metro stop to the hotel. The nearest stop is called Cornelia and is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It's very convenient. Just leave the hotel, turn left and left again after McDonald's and you will see it. As we arrived in the late afternoon and hadn't eaten in a while, we wanted to grab a bite to eat in the local area before heading into Rome city centre. Renata was extremely helpful and informed us of around 4 different restaurants within walking distance from the hotel that she considered to have good food. Very helpful!

Later on in the trip we wanted to go to a football match (Roma vs. Atalanta) but were not sure where to buy tickets. We asked Renata at reception and she went above and beyond to help us. She told us that to buy tickets we would have to go to a Roma FC shop and should take our passports as these are required for many ticket sales in Rome. She also showed us the nearest Roma FC shop on the map. GIanfranco was also very pleasant and helpful to us.

The hotel was extremely clean and rooms were cleaned every day. Breakfasts were also good, with a selection of cooked foods and continental style breakfast. The only minor annoyance was that you can hear quite a lot through the walls in the rooms. It seems they are paper thin. This is definitely only a minor point for us though as after walking around Rome all day it would be difficult to stay awake at night regardless of noise! Overall, an excellent hotel for a city break in Rome.

Room Tip: We had a room that was not facing onto the busy road. I would expect it would be much noisier in oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for wanting to write for the first time, a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay in our Hotel Aurelius.

Read words so positive for us is always a new office, and a new push to continue in this direction.

We have taken note of the slight criticism and faaremo sure to make the room you occupied much quieter ...

Thank you very much.

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've never written a review on a hotel stay before but after staying in this hotel I felt I wanted to.I think sometimes in hotels in foreign countries the staff members can be abrupt, there can be cultural personality differences or language barriers, but I've never stayed abroad in a hotel where the staff were so friendly. John Franco greeted us upon arrival and checked us in. He was very welcoming and put us at ease straight away. He gave us a map of the city and gave us very helpful tips on how to get around and visit the sight seeing locations.

One day two wine glasses accidently smashed in our hotel room and we told the staff member at reception about it on our way out to a sightseeing visit. She was really nice about the whole situation, it was cleaned up straight away and we weren't made to feel bad about it at aIl. They didn't charge us for the broken glasses at the end of our stay at the hotel which I thought was very nice. One morning before heading down to breakfast I dropped my earring down the sink. I could see it stuck at the bottom of the pipe. When I told John Franco about it at reception, he was really kind and told me not to worry, to have my breakfast and he would call maintenance and retrieve it. It was handed back to me about 20 minutes later.

I thought the friendly staff really made the stay in Rome a very pleasant one as we all know if the staff in the hotel you are staying in are not nice and you feel uncomfortable or afraid to go to them if you've made a mistake/need something, this can dampen your holiday mood.

Every day upon coming and leaving the hotel reception we were always warmly greeted by the staff members.

We had breakfast included in our package and it was really nice. They had a wide variety of foods to select from. The location is nice in that it is a bit out from the main sight seeing places, so it is not too busy or noisy, but the metro is just around the corner from the hotel so you are within all the main hot spots within 10-20 minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel to stay in if you are a couple looking for a city break in Rome.

Kind thanks and regards again to all the staff at Hotel Aurelius.

Best wishes,

Helen and Niall

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Helen and Niall,

we want to thank you for many reasons.
Firstly you for choosing our hotel for your stay Aurelius in Rome. Thank you also for the sympathy and enthusiasm that you have given us. Of course thanks also for appreciating our daily work. And finally thank you very much for wanting to share your experience with the Tripadvisor members.

We try to accommodate our guests as we would in our house during the visit of friends. If we were able to achieve this goal we are really happy.

We still expect to Rome.

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel is close to Metro. Just make sure you head towards McDonalds which is on the street corner (same street as hotel is on). When you pass McD's you will then pass a few small convenience stores that sell fruit, snacks and good priced wine.

Check-in was fast and efficient. We were given a map of the city and shown major landmarks.
Through our stay a Polish lady served us several times when we needed help. We found her very friendly and would go out of her way to help us. She is a true asset to the hotel.

The room was on top floor with a large veranda with table and chair. The room had a king bed, work desk, chair and wardrobe. It was rather compact and it is a tight squeeze if you have 2 large bags. The room was always well cleaned.

The bathroom was clean and functional. The bathroom amenities (shampoo etc) are only in little plastic bags where you tear the top off like sauce. Sometimes you can run out if your partner has long hair but I'm sure the hotel would have no issue in supplying more. No separate hair conditioner was supplied.

Breakfast was very good, thought the same thing each day i.e the eggs were scrambled the same each day including ham/bacon and small sausages. There was a good selection of cereal and cold cuts (cheese, ham), yoghurt, biscuits, pastries and good coffee from a self serve machine.

WiFi. You will need to get a code for each device that seems to expire each day or so. The top floor room would sometimes have issues connecting so needed to come down to the lobby.

The hotel is well served by metro and buses to down-town Rome. Being towards the end of the metro line means when you get on to go into town, it is easy to get a seat.

We only had 1 issue with house keeping which was resolved and a small bottle of wine was supplied.

Overall this is a good hotel and we would return. With WiFi and breakfast included, this make the package good. Even though the location is out of town, if you allow an extra 15 mins each side on your daily travels, then you will not notice being in the suburbs vs down-town.

Room Tip: Select the largest room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dropandflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for wanting to share your experience on Tripadvisor referring your stay in our Hotel Aurelius.

Who puts passion in our work feels gratified by the beautiful words that are written talking about the hotel in which we work.

And this is the reason why every day we strive to give the best.

Really thanks a lot

gianfranco carocci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#31 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#68 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#74 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Pirandello
#95 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Property: Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Address: 458 Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#81 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutiique Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay.Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 70 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops. This gives our customers the possability to get to the hearrt of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing