We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed three nights at the Aurelius in January 2014. I booked this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews, as they all seemed to be fantastic. I was definitely not let down, what a great hotel this is.

We arrived and were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist who assisted us in checking in, we came back down and she recommended a nice little restaurant about 300 yards away for a quick meal as we arrived pretty late. The room was nice, a huge balcony overlooking the local area with a very stylish bathroom. Some wallpapering was coming away in places in the bedroom, but a very minor issue that didn't affect our stay whatsoever.

Breakfast was brilliant for such a small hotel, a wide selection that we both enjoyed. Again, the receptionist on duty was more than happy to recommend places to go and to see, and provided us with a map of all of the local attractions. She was even kind enough to print off a map and directions to the zoo for us, and translated the webpage of information to us.

The location was very good, a 5 minute walk from a metro station. The metro ran to all the local attractions and sights, so despite not being right in the city centre, it takes less than 5 minutes walk and a small ride on the metro to get anywhere.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enyoueffsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

really thank you very much for the kind words addressed to our Hotel Aurelius. And thanks again for having desired to share them with all the Tripadvisor's Members.
In this way, the effort that we put into our daily work get a great satisfaction.
You are right when you say that, although not in the historical center, Aurelius has a good location because with a short metro ride will get you everywhere ... I would then add two other reasons: the first is related to the rates that far from the center are cheaper. The second is that near our hotel, not being strictly tourist area, you can find good and inviting restaurants.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 819 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed four nights at this excellent hotel. Although on the outskirts of city it is easy to take the metro or bus into the centre. We asked for a room at the back which was pretty quiet. The best recommendation however has to be for the staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, definitely the best in any hotel we have stayed in.Special thanks to Renata who gave us ideas on which local restaurants to try, you are a really credit to the hotel and we will certainly remember our stay for a positive reasons.Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back (4 or 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petera169462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Also to you we say 'Thank you' for wanting to testify, on Tripadvisor ', your presence in our Hotel Aurelius.
You are right when you write that, although not in the center, we are a good destination for those who want to discover Rome.
We know we can never stop improving. And using the enthusiasm, created by your words, we will give our best.
Thank you so much.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a very comfortable 5 days at this hotel.The staffs are very helpful and serving very well.Thanks to Renata,Alejandro and Gianfranco. The area is not centre but easy to access to everywhere by bus and metro.Breakfast was very good and many things to eat.you can feel that you are like at home.We stayed at triple rooms which was bigger than our fried room.only this 4 stars hotel need to cgange cover sheet not only bed sheet. But we csn not complain about cleanless that was perfect.Upon their suggestions we had very good dinner nearby the hotel instead of going to the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanuAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Banu,

I thank you for wanting to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor about our Hotel Aurelius.
Even with your testimony we can improve our service increasingly putting more and more attention to detail in order to become even more competitive with the hotels in the center of Rome (seeing from the perspective of tariff, in fact, we are already much more convenient).
Thanks again and hope to see you again in Rome.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Aurelius is a really amazing hotel. It has these many positive reviews for a reason.

Pros. The staff at the hotel are really nice, cheerful and friendly which is a plus. There was a very warm reception upon arrival - the lady on the desk provided a map, gave recommendations about restaurants within the vicinity.
A little touch which makes the hotel very memorable is the note you get on your door each morning with some words and the weather conditions for the day.
They have a tiny fitness area and a wellness area with an infrared sauna and a jacuzzi.

I loved the place.

Con. The only thing that can be perceived as negative about this hotel is the location (which is subjective). It's not in central Rome but it is very accessible (being only a few minutes walk from the Metro). As I was at the hotel to just sleep - it gave Rome a distinct contrast; the quiet and serene surrounding of the hotel in Cornelia and the busy Central Rome, touristy places and even Trastevere. Negative? Not so much for me.

I would definitely return to this hotel with future visits to the eternal city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayodeji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you, thank you, thank you for your words and for the satisfaction expressed on Tripadvisor for the stay in our Hotel Aurelius.
And again thanks for the 'pro' but more for the 'con' because, as you have explained, it is not really negative that the hotel is far from downtown.
And in addition to your reasons I would like to add another: if the hotel was in the center, in fact, we couldn't offer such affordable rates.
Hoping to see you again in the near future we send you greetings from Rome.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I travelled to Rome and Spain for my honeymoon and this place was our first hotel during our trip. We wanted a quiet place, away from the crowds of the city centre and this place was just perfect. It was just 300m from the Cornelia metro station. Travelling to and from the hotel was a breeze because of the location. The room was cosy and small but had everything we wanted. It also had a small balcony overlooking the streets. The washroom was very neat and tidy. The receptionist was very sweet, she gave us quite a lot of directions about things to do in Rome.The best part of our stay was the breakfast spread, it was mind blowing. It was a big spread, right from the breads to the cakes and pies. We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and enjoyed every bit of it. The place doesn't have a lot of fancy restaurants near it, so it is advisable that you have dinner in the city centre before grabbing a couple of bottles from the many mini markets around the hotel and heading to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megs245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing, on Tripadvisor, your experience in our Hotel Aurelius.
You are right when you say that it is very easy to reach, from the hotel, the center of Rome. And surely you also know that the Hotel Aurelius offers the same stadard of the downtown hotels but with cheaper rates.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again if you come back again in Rome.
Thank you very much.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Aurelius was the best hotel experience I have ever had.

We stayed last week from 13-17 January and if I return to Rome I will definitely go back there again. Amazing staff, quiet area (if you exclude the main road outside) and yet a central location with a Metro station just two minutes walk. The Metro station's name is Cornelia, and it is just one stop from the end of the line, but that is not a problem because it takes just fifteen minutes to get to the central station, Termini. It takes less time to get to the Vatican, about half that time, because that is only a few stops from Cornelia. From the central station, Termini, it's just two stops from the Colosseum. Either way, it is within a short distance of all tourist attractions.

The hotel itself is beautifully presented with amazing decor on the ground floor. We were on the third floor with an amazing balcony overlooking the main street, however with the patio doors closed there was no noise and we slept soundly. The room was perfectly clean and presentable with a beautiful bathroom. The room wasn't large but we were running around Rome all day and space wasn't a requirement. What we needed was a quiet hotel and a good night's sleep and we got both. The room was cleaned each day by a lovely cleaner who was very nice and polite and very discreet when doing her work.

There are lovely restaurants nearby, all just a couple of minutes walk, including an all night pizza place if you get back late and you're hungry. There's a well-known fast food place on the corner of the street, about a minute's walk from the hotel, whose name I won't mention, if you like that kind of horrible "food". That seems to be open late at night too. There's a big, two-tiered supermarket just across the road for any forgotten items which came in handy. I think it closes about 9pm.

Great breakfast in the hotel too! There's enough to choose from and sometimes we arrived late, just half an hour before the close of the breakfast room, so some of the items had been finished. That wasn't a problem at all because with so much to choose from we were very full and never needed to eat again until mid-afternoon, which was perfect as we had so many sites to visit in the short time. The staff are just amazing, but Renata gets a special mention for the incredible information she gave us that proved to be invaluable. All in all we felt like we weren't in a hotel, but with a family of wonderful people. If all hotels were like this everyone would be on holiday and no one would go to work!

Just a note about Rome itself - don't miss Ostia Antica - you can get all the way there on your Metro ticket!

Ten out of ten across the board. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
We read with great interest all the reviews, regarding our Hotel Aurelius, which are left on Tripadvisor. Because in those very positive, such as yours, there is the impetus to continue to give the best in our work. In those with some criticism, however, we find a way to identify and solve any problems.
We hope that you can come back again in our hotel and we thank you very much.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had read a lot of the reviews for this hotel before booking it, and all seemed to be so positive that it was an easy choice to make.

Yes it is a little further out of town, but for us that is what we like. We prefer to be in and amongst the locals and sample what they will enjoy. It is so close to the metro line, and plenty of local restaurants and supermarkets nearby.

We were greeted by Renanta, who was wonderful. After having had to get a very early flight from London, she certainly perked us up for the day ahead. As I am a light sleeper I had emailed ahead, asking for a room away from the main road. Because of this, there was no room available for us when we arrived (way before check in, so no problem). Renata checked us all in, so that when we got back we could just go straight to our room.

Renata gave us a lot of advice on where we should go on what days, to avoid queues etc. They were also very good at giving recommendations for restaurants in the area.

The room itself was fine. It was defanitely not something to write home about, but it would suit our needs for somewhere to sleep. It could probably be described as needing some modernisation. The bathroom was lovely, with all the mosaic tiles. We were on the Mezzanine level, facing the courtyard, so it was lovely and quiet. I am glad that we were away from the main road, as the room was exceptionally hot, and the air conditioining did not appear to blow out cool air. It meant that in the middle of Decemeber, we were having to sleep with the window open. It didn't ruin the stay for us by any means...I guess the heating system was just set to hot for the whole hotel hence the hot air blowing out.

The breakfast is not bad. There is a lot of choice in terms of cererals, pastries, hot and cold meats. But get there after 9/9:30 and there will be no fresh pastries left. Also they do not continue to check the hot items, and only when requesting more will they then go and do some. It does mean at least you are getting freshly cooked bacon, but it can mean having to wait 10 minutes or more. The biggest let down at breakfast is the Juice. It is described as fresh, but it would most certainly appear to be concetrated. It is sickly sweet and not refreshing. On the other hands the coffees were great.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would have no hesitation recommedning it to others. The staff are what make this place great. Especially Renata, who goes out her way to help.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to talk about Aurelius Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We always appreciate all the times that are released testimonials referring our hotel as well so we can correct that still does not satisfy our guests. And at the same time we know what are the good points of which leverage.
We hope to be able to welcome you again and, in the mean time, we thank you very warmly.

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#115 of 1,272 in Rome
1,517 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#100 of 1,272 in Rome
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,272 in Rome
2,565 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#224 of 1,272 in Rome
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel

Address: 458, Via Aurelia, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
#93 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $59 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelius Art Gallery Rome Hotel is a delightful "Boutique 4 star Hotel", intimate and cosy, wich offers its customers a relaxing and well-being stay. Our Property is three subway stops away from the Vatican City and we are only a 100 meter walk from the subway station "Cornelia" and several bus stops, and 50 mt to the Sit shuttle Bus to fiumicino Airport. This gives our customers the possibility to get to the heart of the city in no time at all. The atmosphere of the hotel is high class elegance, and our staff will always be ready to assist you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing