We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pangea(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveler rating
538
238
38
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
238
38
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscornelia metro stationaround the cornerdouble showervia aureliacentre of romegarden roomrestaurants in the areaday tickettrip to romehotel is locatedpastriesexcellent hotelmain roadbusy streetstayed at this hotel for nightseach morningreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 828 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Well situated close to subway. Paid parking close by, 15?. Staff very nice and incredibly helpful! They help you make reservations, print tickets, call for services etc.
Very nice rooms and beautiful batrooms, and nice breakfast. Until 10 AM. Good value for your money!

Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor members the memory of your stay at our Hotel Aurelius. In this way we receive new energy to continue in this direction.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After reading most of the reviews of this hotel, I can say that it is all that I expected and there was no disappointment in any aspect. We took a shuttle from the airport and I thought we'd never arrive since it is not in the center of the city. It is located just around the corner from the Cornelia Metro station which made it very convenient to go back and forth to all of Rome's sites.
The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful.
A small room with double bed was reserved and, indeed, it was small. There was just enough room for the bed, wardrobe, table and a stand for a suitcase that left very little room to walk. The bed was comfortable after a full day of walking. The bathroom seemed to have been recently remodeled and was clean and very nice. While out during the day, I overheard a women state that the shower in her hotel was the size of a phone booth and that pretty much describes the size of the one we had. A large person would not be able to fit in the shower. Perhaps that is a standard size of showers in Roman hotels.? The size of the room was not really a problem for us since all we really needed was a place to sleep.
The breakfast offered enough variety with hot and cold items to get one going for the day. I would caution anyone trying to get "American" coffee from the coffee machine to stand back when filling their cup. The coffee tended to splatter quite a bit when adding water to the cup.
The only issue we had was that since we had a very early departure flight from Rome, we decided it would be safest to use the hotel’s driver/airport service for 50 Euros. Well, the driver was 30 minutes late picking us up and had we not printed our boarding passes out at the hotel we would have missed our flight. It was a very stressful 30 minutes waiting and wondering if the driver would show at all. Anyway we made it to the gate on time and all was well.
Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel based on the cost, location and the friendliness of the staff. It just depends on what type of experience you wish to take from your visit to Rome. If you desire to be out walking at night and to really experience Rome, I would recommend to spend more and stay near the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain area. If you don’t mind a short metro ride-1.5 Euros one way-to all Rome has to offer, then this hotel will work fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EJS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks for talking on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Hotel Aurelius.
Yes, it is true, we have rooms of different types depending on the size. And often, when possible, we like to offer guests the opportunity to take advantage of superior rooms. If we come back to find, so ask us if we have greater availability. We like to be able to satisfy our Guests / Friends.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

While we had an overall positive experience at this hotel, there are a few things that encouraged the particular rating. We would stay here again in spite of the rating with the hope that things mentioned over which the hotel has control will be assessed and hopefully resolved.

It would be wise for the Aurelius Hotel ownership to try to work with the City regarding the numerous (always full / overflowing / smelly) gigantic garbage receptacles near the entrance to the hotel. The area seemed a bit iffy, especially at night, and these giant garbage bins certainly distract from the otherwise fairly positive experience. When in the area around the hotel, walk like you know where you are going, even if you don't.

Not sure about other rooms, but ours was similar to ones in Washington, DC that we call "walk-in, back-out" rooms with so little room to maneuver. The room was clean and neat with a simple bed and desk; the bathroom appeared to have been recently tiled and was attractive and clean....not large but certainly more than adequate. The bed was small, perhaps a double/standard but after a full day of flying, sleep comes easily. Considering we go to the city to enjoy the history, architecture, art, etc., the size of the room becomes less significant.

Hotels are expensive in Rome and this property offered rates that were a bit less, likely because it is not in the city center. However, the excellent subway offers easy access to all the locations of interest, and the Metro is easy to use as it has only 2 lines. For example, we hopped on for a short ride to the Colosseum from which we meandered around the various points of interest ending our day at the Spanish Steps where there is a Metro stop. Everything is crowded in Rome including the subway, and as always, wear a safety pouch with your items and money tucked under your cloths and into you waist/abdominal area out of sight.

Breakfast was good and included scrambled eggs, meats (for those who eat meat), fresh tomatoes, variety of biscuits (cookies), some fruit, fresh pastries/croissant-type items, machine to brew cappuccino, espresso, American-style coffee, etc. Adequate to get you off to a good day of touring. Service staff were friendly and helpful.

The front desk staff was very helpful with maps, directions to Metro, sharing the history of this hotel that was once a private home, etc. The lobby's computer was a nice resource for checking emails, etc. when one does not have own computer or smart phone in hand. The sitting areas / lounge were comfortable and inviting in typical European style.

We likely would stay here again for the positives mentioned but would request a larger room and bed if staying longer and would hope the city had cleaned up the area to make it more appealing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swamp2desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
reading the reviews on Tripadvisor that concern us we were surprised to see the score given to our Hotel Aurelius. We thought it was wrong all during your stay.
Reading, then, we understand that the vote was not directed to the hotel (where you would like to come back), but to external services that we will try, with the help of public administration, to improve but do not depend on us.
Perhaps, and we say it with a smile on lips, was more real to assign to Hotel Aurelius an evaluation of the services provided and to the town a severe judgment.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in late September, 3 adults in a triple room (no 344). Well... it was a double (as clearly stated on the fire-escape plan), but very large by Rome standards, so pretty comfortable for us.

Pros: PRICE (big advantage compared with accommodation prices in Rome); location, very close to Cornelia metro station and to a bus station - direct line to the Vatican; lots of shops around; breakfast - good quality; large bathroom, high quality towels, changed every day; very good housekeeping - spotless clean throughout our stay; very helpful personnel (thank you, Renata!); air-con worked very well; minibar - large enough to put your own stuff in it.

Cons: beds not that comfortable to sleep in; wardrobe - not big enough for 3 people; blankets - need a good washing; breakfast - pretty much the same everyday, which is not OK when you stay for a week; very small shower cubicle in an otherwise large bathroom!; smallest TV I've ever seen; poor signal from TV satellite; no channels in English, all Italian, only one in French; safe - not big enough for a laptop; the surrounding area doesn't seem very safe later in the evening/ at night.

Room Tip: Our room (no 344) was in the back of the hotel, but still the terrible noise of the Via Aurelia very busy traffic got through - I can't imagine the noise in the rooms facing the street, so beware!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CostinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for having spent at the Hotel Aurelius your stay in Rome. And thank you for wanting to share your experience with Tripadvisor members.
Reading the personal observations we were not happy because we would always leave a positive memory to 100%.
But we will certainly use your observation to continue to improve.
And for this reason we thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very good hotel - certainly for its price. Yes I know it's not in the city center but the underground is really close! Just around the corner! And the metro system in Rome is very easy so you're at the popular places within 15minutes or so.
Furthermore there are two gelateria's, a McDonalds, a couple pizzeria's and some mini-supermarkets. So if you go to the hotel late in the evening you can still find something to eat to take with you.

The service is incredible. Our host (lady) was super friendly at the check-in and was practically at the lobby everytime we got in our out the hotel. Whether it was for access to the whirlpool, a problem with the safe in our room or even the access to our room, she was always there for us. Same for the older guy who just chatted with us while waiting on our taxi. And breakfast staff too - there all really really nice, polite and helpful. Something pretty rare in Italy, apparently...

Btw, there's no actual swimming pool, but we had problems with the whirlpool. They'd cleaned it during our stay and when we used it, there should've been some cleaning product left or so because when we entered, our eyes got completely irritated (redness and itchy). But I guess that problem was just temporarily. The friendly lady thought it was because of the chloride like in swimming pools, but neither my boyfriend nor myself ever experienced something like that.

Our room was always clean - we even got a weather note every morning at our door. Breakfast is simple but certainly tasty. Really good coffee and nice biscuits!

The hotel is rather small but charming, decorated with typical classical art. And if you're not afraid of taking public transport I would REALLY recommend it to everyone who plans a city trip to Rome!

Hotel Aurelius, we thank you for such a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fethora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks to manifest your liking on Tripadvisor for our Hotel Aurelius.
We know we have always continue in this direction to be able to get your satisfaction.
For this reason I also appreciate you've talked about the Jacuzzi: we will make sure that after each maintenance can be accessed in our wellness.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews