We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New level of customer service 2.0”
Review of B&B Calamatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Calamatta
Ranked #70 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tiel, The Netherlands
1 review
“New level of customer service 2.0”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our stay at Calamatta B&B was perfect. Valerio the owner is so helpful and give right away good information about the city, I would call it Calamatta B&B & ( Tourist guide) :)

The location is near all the major location of the city, the room is clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    52
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
49
155
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazzè, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place was AMAZING. The room was beautiful, located right across the street from the hall of Justice so the neighborhood was very safe, breakfast was a voucher at a cute little cafe around the corner, and we were within walking distance of most of the major attractions. Valerio, the owner, was very helpful and friendly, and left us wanting for nothing. My biggest complaint was that we only stayed 2 nights! We had a lovely time in Rome in this quaint and quiet little B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank team_m2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This B&B was one of the best things in our travel to Rome. Valerio, the manager, is a very nice and welcoming person who gave us much attention to make sure we enjoy our stay. The room is very clean, quite and well organized with hot water in the bath thanks to the electric heater. The hostel is located within a short walking distance to the main attractants of Rome such as the Vatican, Piazza Navona and more. The breakfast is not in the same building but it is just around the corner (60 meters from the hostel) and with amazing coffee (!!!) and service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shachar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a great experience staying at the B&B Calamatta. What I loved probably the most was its wonderful location. The Vatican, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon are within about a 5-10 minute walking radius of this place. It was great that we did not have to drive anywhere or find public transportation for the places we wanted to visit.

The guy in charge of helping us was fantastic, and provided very useful tips on the locations of local stores and restaurants. I love that he provides a map for guests, which can be marked up and torn off of a stack of them.

The room was awesome too-- just as I'd thought it would be from the pictures. There's even a (shared) refrigerator to store food and/or leftovers. In the room, there was also an umbrella for the anticipation of rainy days, which was nice. And the price was very reasonable!

I would only make a couple suggestions for improvement of this place.

First, we had a little difficulty finding it-- it's down a small street next door to the Rome Hall of Justice. We walked down the street a couple times and did not see it. Finally, we asked a bank security officer about its location. After asking a second person, we realized that it was only marked on a very tiny menu on a list of businesses on a building in the middle of the street. We had expected more signage.

As for the room itself, I had some trouble with the multitude of keys. My boyfriend (who was with me) had been expertly opening the doors and when I finally needed to do it myself, I had trouble opening them. Once I realized that you have to turn them as far as possible clockwise, I was able to do it every time forward. I would also suggest for the owner to provide an extra blanket, since the one we had was a little light.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a terrific stay in Rome and hope to visit this place again sometime soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XSamX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just came from Rome and spend our nights at B&B Calamatta. The B6B was nice, clean and comfortable. If you are only sleeping in the room, this is cheap and just perfect place to stay. If you want find something negative about this B&B, it's the shower. The waterpressure was lame and you have to do much work to wash your hair. So, if you are looking some spa experience, go somewhere else.

The owner, Valerio, was nice guy and helped us very much.

Breakfast was in cafeteria just few steps from the B&B. Only sundays you can have your breakfast in the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyTimeInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Calamatta for four nights and we felt very confortable. Very nice rooms (even though the shower could do with a little more water pressure), nice and helpful reception. Excellent service and friendly guy! We'd go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sepp_Ultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#224 of 1,256 in Rome
784 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#24 of 3,642 in Rome
982 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#53 of 3,642 in Rome
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
OM2Rome
OM2Rome
#41 of 3,642 in Rome
296 reviews
Prati
B&B El Dorado Vatican
B&B El Dorado Vatican
#67 of 3,642 in Rome
332 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#29 of 3,642 in Rome
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Calamatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Calamatta

Property: B&B Calamatta
Address: Via Luigi Calamatta 16, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Prati district between Trastevere, Vatican City and Castel Sant'Angelo, among the typical features of Rome, with craft shops, the quaint shops, bars and cafes.Located in a very quiet street, in the center of Rome, within walking distance of St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican and of the most elegant and famous shopping streets(via Candotti, via Frattina, via Veneto, Via Cola di Rienzo) reached on foot in 5 min.Fontana di Trevi, p-ing of Spain (10 min.)P-za Navona, Campo dei Fiori (10/15 min.)Colosseum, Roman Forum, Pantheon (20 min.)P-za Venice (15 min)Trastevere (15 min)located on the first floor of an elegant early twentieth century, boasts sleek and comfortable and the perfect accommodation for those wishing to live and visit Rome.It is ideal for anyone who wants to stay in the Eternal City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Calamatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing