We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Museum and Crypt of Capuchins
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.45*
and up
Small-Group Tour Crypts the Bone Chapel and Catacombs
Ranked #95 of 1,514 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The front part was a very enlightening museum about the order and its origins. The latter is the crypt with the skeleton decorations. Very interesting and well preserved. Definitely gets the message across. I found it worth the 6 Euros.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderingTexan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    635
    195
    64
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something different...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I visited here on a Sunday afternoon and were surprised that it was pretty busy even at that time. It cost ?6 each to get in, and while we only spent around 40m there, I think it was money well spent.

The first part of the building is a museum with some interesting artifacts relating to the cappuchin order, and some amazing paintings including a Carravagio.

You then go through to the crypts, which are a series of rooms decorated with human bone, including a few whole skeletons in cappuchin style robes. I did not find it spooky, just fascinating and was well worth the trip.

Note - strictly no photographs inside the crypt.

Helpful?
1 Thank Boosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“must see the crypt of the Capuchin monks; unforgettable”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've taken multiple groups of travelers to see the crypt containing the macabre collection of bones arranged in an artistic warning of the temporal nature of life. You'll witness grim reapers, chandeliers, mummies, angels, and all kinds of decorations made entirely of the monks' bones and mummified remains. Just recently, a change has been made to the exhibit; visitors now enter through an interactive museum that explains the history and nature of the Capuchin monks. I found it very resourceful, considering before, the guest were left to wonder who exactly designed this strange display. It is a must see and a quick visit...30 minutes max. Even children will be impressed. The warning is..."What you are now, we once were; what we are now, you will become."

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank JulieBrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting but morbid”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm glad we visited but, it was a bit morbid for me. I wouldn't want to be in there at night. We walked into the first area where there is a cool monk giving a discussion about what we would see -- he was projected and looked pretty realistic. There are some cool artifacs from past friars.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank karendfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“So unusual you have to visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well worth takinga look at this museum and visiting the crypt - Museo Frati Cappuccini e Cripta Ossario . The Crypt has to be seen to be believed with monks bones on view and thousands of other bones made into patterns ... something just not right about it but fascinating all the same

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum and Crypt of Capuchins also viewed

 

Been to Museum and Crypt of Capuchins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing