We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paolo VI”
Review of Residenza Paolo VI

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residenza Paolo VI
Ranked #115 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paolo VI”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I like the breakfast offer with the accommodation each day we stayed. The view at the top is excellent & very convenient to the Vatican City landmarks.
You need to stay at least 5 days to visit each major sites in order to utilize your holiday time. The hotel is a great place as your home base. It s not too well publicized as yet. Priests & nuns stay there when there are important events at the Vatican City. The hotel is managed under the Vatican City as one of their property. Read the website more for details.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettina Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    118
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
102
196
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two lovely nights at the hotel in early June 2013, and we agreed that it was our favorite hotel stay of our vacation in Italy. Firstly, the location is certainly right next to St. Peter's Basilica. It is a smallish hotel but well staffed, and the breakfast room is elegant (with a fabulous hot and cold buffet, with cappuccino on request) and excellent service. Our room overlooked a courtyard and was very quiet. The room had every amenity, very comfy king sized bed, and excellent quality linens. Did I mention that it was quiet? Definitely the best sleep we had the whole trip. Do go to the bar and have a drink overlooking the roof top terrace that overlooks St. Peter's. No, you may not walk out on the terrace, we were told that it is owned by the Vatican. Works for me, you may certainly look out on it and beyond, in fact we looked to the side and saw a nun (in habit) on the rooftop terrace on the building next door. Staff was all very pleasant and efficient. There was a problem with wifi in the hotel, which is not free, but was discounted because of the inconvenience of waiting for it to be fixed. Overall we felt the value received was great. One of the evenings we walked over the bridge to the "main" part of the city, and walked back - never felt unsafe, and enjoyed the exercise. Hotel couldn't be more convenient to St. Peter's, and is a reasonably short walk to the Vatican Museum Recommend highly, and if we get back to Rome, Paolo IV is where we want to stay.

Room Tip: Junior suites have views of St. Peter's, but if in a standard room ask for a quiet room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbnstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hidden gem literally 100 feet from St. Peter's is incredible! The location is fantastic to explore all of Rome on foot. The multilingual front desk staff are very helpful and can help you to get tickets to Papal Masses as well as other Vatican events. The rooms are bright and very clean. The morning breakfasts are scrumptious and the terrace and bar take you above the rooftops to watch the sun set behind the dome of St. Peter's. Incredible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a wonderful location actually in the Vatican City (No City tax!). Compact but extremely comfortable room but it would have been nice to have more power sockets . The terrace bar was small but lovely with an incredible view over St Peters, a lovely peaceful place to end the evening with a few drinks and the barman was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room was light and cheerful and the food was good quality and there was a excellent selection. All the hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The location was ideal for sight seeing within walking distance to most attractions and the 'hop-on-hop-off' touring buses stopped nearby. The hotel did not offer much in the way of food except for breakfast but this did not matter as it was central to many extremely good and reasonably priced restaurants. We would recommend this hotel to everyone and when we return to Rome we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Quiet, clean, best location for St. Peter's Basilica. it's a private entrance; stairs or elevator to small lobby. Rooms small but pleasant. Bathroom clean but size not bad for Rome standards. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Don't bother with any food except for breakfast as you must order them through the kitchen and it is not a good value. Staff very kind and helpful. The daily Bible readings and meditations were a wonderful touch.

Far from Colosseum and Forum but easy bus and taxi access. Safe walking area even at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here our last two nights of a two week vacation. I wanted to stay near the Vatican, which seemed to be the attraction of this place. When we arrived, we were told we get to stay "in one of the new rooms!" We were taken back down to the second floor to what was a pitifully tiny room, even by European standards. It was quite disappointing for 600.00/ night. We went up to the "terrace" for a drink. Although pictures suggest a fairly large patio overlooking St Peter's Square, the hotel only owns a 5 foot strip (from where the pictures are taken on the website)...the patio is owned by someone else and not accessible to hotel occupants. There are only 5 tables, and with the 6 people next to us smoking, just wasn't enjoyable.
That night our room was uncomfortably warm. I went to the desk, where the attendant apologized and said nothing could be done until the next day. There were no other rooms to move us to. Breakfast is really nothing fancy.
The next night our room was just as hot, despite being told that the AC was "fixed."
Next time I will stay back at the Bramante, which is almost as close, half the price, and larger rooms

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank love2travel2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

You really Cannot beat this location.Why stay in the extremely noisy centre of Rome when instead you can be the neighbour of his holiness the pope.My wife and i had a fantastic stay in a superior room, which is worth the extra expense .Having a separate exclusive entrance, to the floor, and high quality finish adds to the overall experiance.Breakfast is very good, a selection of cold food, along with hot bacon, and scrambled eggs, fruits , and pastries .The terrace over looks the basilica, and you have a front row view to one of the most worlds most religious sites, with the added benefit of being able to order a glass of vino , whilst deciding where to eat.We were extremely lucky to see the pope 3 times in 3 days, which was never a plan but did and can happen if are flexible , and willing to be part of the party, even managed to attend an intimate mass.The main historical sites are also within walking distance, and you do not need to take the metro , if you prefer to take in the feel of the city.Rome reminded me of London which oozes history, and a 20 min walk from the hotel is manageable .We found the staff to be very friendly, could not do enough for us, recommending near by resturants, which there are many near by, and NOT expensive.The hotel is best described as a boutique chic hotel, we would defiantly go back to Rome, and we would not stay at any other hotel.Finally if you do decide to stay, pay the extra money, even though you are not in your hotel long, it is best to remember the stay in a positive light, and not be disappointed with a small room.

Room Tip: Deluxe superior, we stayed in the Bernini room very quiet . Windows /shutters open fully on to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#371 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#36 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#67 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Michelangelo
#146 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#53 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#159 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Paolo VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Paolo VI

Property: Residenza Paolo VI
Address: Via Paolo VI 29 | Vaticano-Piazza San Pietro, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Rome
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#69 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Paolo VI 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Paolo VI, established on the premises of an Augustinian Monastery, was inaugurated at the beginning of the Holy Year 2000. The genius loci and the charm of tradition, still alive in its ancient walls, make this property your "private" haven in Rome, far away from chaos, in the pulsing heart of the Eternal City. Rome has many hotels, but only one of them is located directly on St. Peter's Square (Vatican): Residenza Paolo VI, the ideal place for those wishing to stay in the heart of Christendom, close to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Grottoes, the Necropolis, St Peter's and Saint John Paul II's tombs, the Vatican Gardens and St. Angel's Castle. Walking along the Vatican Wall, it's easy to reach the Vatican Museums and visit the famous Sistine Chapel. Furthermore, some of our rooms offer special view of the Holy Office or of the internal courtyard of the ancient monastery or even of St. Peter's Dome. From our magnificent Terrace it is possible to admire up close St. Peter's Basilica and the Apostolic Palace, exactly where the Holy Father Pope Francis appears to bless the faithful and to recite the Sunday Angelus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residenza Paolo VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Paolo Vi Hotel Rome
Residenza Paolo Vi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing