We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value, clean rooms and excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giuliana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giuliana
Ranked #126 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GB
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good value, clean rooms and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

stayed her in mid February and I have to say it was everything and more a "budget" hotel should be. Personally I like staying in nice hotels, but my wife who is more of a seasoned traveller found this little gem. The room was a good size, and clean, bed comfortable, bathroom spotless. Checking in was excellent, all the staff speak excellent English, recommended restuarants nearby which were superb (even saw the owners in there the same night we were !), loads of maps and advice. Cannot fault it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    416
    86
    20
    19
See reviews for
205
561
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in Dec 2008 with my husband and young daughter. The english speaking staff were fantastic ( our italian is shocking !!) . We walked from Termini station and to most of the big sites . We loved the rooms, the breakfast was delicious, and the old lift was a favourite of my 8 yr old daughters each morning. Cannot recommend this hotel more highly. Anyone visiting here will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Spent 4 days in Rome in early March 09 at the Hotel Giuliana. Don't be put off by the large exterior door or the 1940's lift when you enter the ground floor hall.The hotel is situated on the 2nd floor and Jean the owner makes you feel welcome immediately. Our bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the double glazing did allow some traffic noise, and on the Saturday and Monday we heard the street traders setting up their stalls at 6 am ( with the windows, shutters and curtains closed ) . Breakfast was included in the price and was sufficient, no frills, tea/coffee toast ,cereal, juice, fruit /yogurt. Well positioned for sightseeing , good restaurants near hotel, don't pay 18 euro for a taxi from the train station, its a short 10 min walk. Overall ,would recommend, and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorresN_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

Spent a long weekend in Rome, and booked Giuliana on strength of previous reviews. Ignore the somewhat unprepossing street entrance, accommodation is first rate for the price. About 5 years ago on last trip to Rome I spent more on a so-called hotel with rooms you couldn't swing the proverbial cat in, Very handy location, close to Termini, Santa Maria Maggiore (for the hop on/off tour buses) and the bus routes on Via Nazionale. Friendly owners, whose restaurant suggestions were spot on. Only 2 mistakes - first was booking through one of the agencies; go direct to the hotel for best rates. Second was ignoring the advice re walking from Termini station and getting ripped off by a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoAntrimUlsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

We spent five nights in Hotel Giuliana in February and could not praise the owners and staff highly enough for their excellent service. This family-run hotel is very well located, easily accessible on foot from the train station and provides a perfect base from which to explore Rome. The hotel reception is manned 24hours a day and all guests ring the doorbell to enter, therefore it is very secure. Having said that, the area seems to be very safe anyway.
Rooms were spotless and beds were comfortable. Breakfasts were very good, consisting of cereals, juice, croissants, toast, fruit and yoghurts.
The service could not have been better. Jean and her daughter Marianna were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us plan and book our activities.
On our last day, I was ill and despite us having already checked out, they went to the trouble of preparing a room for me to rest in before flying home and even telephoned the next day to ask if I was better!
This hotel ticked all the boxes for us. In addition the staff's genuine warmth and friendliness made it the ideal place to stay. We will continue to recommend this to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0LLYDAZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

We truley enjoyed our stay at this hotel sitauted in a very nice location withing walking diatance from all the sites. The hotle staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay in Rome. would highly recommend this to anyone travelling to Rome. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irelandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalesund
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

My husband, 10 year old son and I just returned from 9 days in Rome. We stayed 8 days at this hotel, which is located in a great spot and the price can't be beat. The staff is extraordinarly helpful and kind, the room was bigger than I expected and we couldn't have been more pleased.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norskkvinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#74 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#129 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Chroma Pente
#139 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giuliana

Property: Hotel Giuliana
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rome
#65 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Giuliana 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giuliana is a charming family-run hotel in Rome. It is completely renovated and is ideally situated in the centre of Rome in a street facing the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica which leads to the Spanish Steps - the famous fashion centre with its beautiful shops! Other renowned historial and artistic monuments and sites such as the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Trevi Fountain and the Opera House are within walking distance. The Pantheon and lovely Piazza Navona is easily reached by bus from the Via Nazionale just 2 mins. From the hotel. The Metro Republica nearby connects directly with St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Giuliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giuliana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing