We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giuliana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giuliana
Ranked #131 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Old Forge, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Five Star Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Jean, her family and staff were all wonderful. We are independent travelers who stay in a wide range of properties. The hospitality of the English speaking staff set this small basic clean hotel apart. They had everything you needed, a comfy clean bed, full bath, tv, a/c, and a basic continental breakfast with great coffee to get you started. The location was decent for us, who typically walk and take public transportation everywhere.

The hotel is situated in a nice part of the commercial center of Rome, that always felt very safe, many restaurants around..about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Train Station (Termini). Bus lines are also very close to the hotel. We found the Coliseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi, Pantheon, Forum, all on foot. We used buses to get everywhere else.

Do not expect a store front location...or a glitzy lobby. You get buzzed in to an old typical office building, with an old iron cage elevator, and wide easy old marble staircase..your first impression is kind of questionable. One floor up, and you'll find the hotel, on one floor, very compact, old fashioned, clean. The price was very good for a very expensive city. It is apparent they put love into what they do. There will be no other destination for us, we we next visit Roma. Thanks Jean for making us feel so comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    418
    87
    20
    19
See reviews for
205
565
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good location. Good price. Most importantly, EXCELLENT service! Everyone who assisted us at the reception were exceptionally helpful and very knowledgeable about any tourist questions we had (where to eat, places to visit, how to get to place, etc.).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel Giuliana is absolutely wonderful place to stay in Rome.
Excellent location ,only 5 minutes walk from train terminal -Stazione Termini and via Nazionale ( shoping area)
From the airport you can take bus to stazione Termini.
Rooms are very nice and clean ,and they have very good breakfast Italian style with cafe espresso & cappuccino.
The hotel is family run and they really take care of the clients.
We have been 2 times last year and we always coming back.
Strong recommendations because of excellent location ,good price and friendly stuff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked the Guilana in October, 2011. We reserved for September, 2012. Just befoire Christmas, we got a warm expression of hope for our yuletide cheer. Some friends said anyone could have done this. But, in fact, over decades of booking tens of scores of European and North American hotels, no other has ever done so.

Secondly---Unless you're very familiar with Rome, you would not know that cab fare from all points of interest in Rome save the Vaticano, to Giuliana is less than 10 euros,

Mini-bar, Wi-fi, Ac in rooms

We concur with every other kudo about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, for my first trip to Rome & haven't been disappointed! The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained, the staff are very welcoming & helpful & the location is great - just minutes from Termini, and a comfortable walk to most of the major sights. Breakfast is simple - cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit etc - but ample. My friend & I stayed in a twin room; the beds were a little narrow & firm, but pretty much par for the course in Europe, I think! Bathroom was also a good size, and of course, no Roman hotel is complete without a quirky cast iron elevator!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bris_tilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We first stayed in Rome at the Giuliana 16 years ago where I asked my (now) wife to marry me. We have now just returned with our two boys and had another fantastic stay. The hotel has moved around the corner some years ago to another very similar building but the best thing is that Jean and her husband are still there and she remembered us after all this time. The hotel is wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. (Even found the Roma and Lazio football shops when our boys asked). Room was very comfortable and hotel was spotless. Good recomendation of restaurant very close by and letting us know about vatican being closed on the day we were going to go. A real home from home and things like airconditioning and safe all included in price. Feels very safe around the area too. We will definately stay again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We found this property 5 years ago on tripadvisor and stayed here. We were not disappointed, so when we decided to visit Rome again, we didn't even consider another property. One so often hears a hotel that was once great was not so great when they returned. Not the case here. Our inquiries were quickly responded to. We made arrangements in advance for a airport pick-up and a bus tour to Pompeii. Pick-up was as promised. Pompeii so very worth it. I was traveling alone with my 3 children and always felt very safe at the hotel and walking around. The recommendations they gave for meals were great. We were able to access everything we wanted to do on foot. The staff was wonderful-even having breakfast ready for us early on the morning we took the bus tour. The room was clean and quiet at night, bed comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, typical of a European breakfast. Hoping for a third visit to Rome, I threw my coin in the Trevi Fountain, and will definitely stay here. Have recommended to friends who have also stayed and loved it as much as we have.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#84 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#78 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#74 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giuliana

Property: Hotel Giuliana
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 70, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rome
#85 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Giuliana 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giuliana is a charming family-run hotel in Rome. It is completely renovated and is ideally situated in the centre of Rome in a street facing the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica which leads to the Spanish Steps - the famous fashion centre with its beautiful shops! Other renowned historial and artistic monuments and sites such as the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Campidoglio, Trevi Fountain and the Opera House are within walking distance. The Pantheon and lovely Piazza Navona is easily reached by bus from the Via Nazionale just 2 mins. From the hotel. The Metro Republica nearby connects directly with St. Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giuliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giuliana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing