We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce hotel, nice location, nice service”
Review of Relais Orso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Orso
Ranked #437 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NIce hotel, nice location, nice service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Relais, we had the room with the outdoor jacuzzi and loved it.
The room was a bit dark and small but quiet, very clean, good temperature and a really good location close to everything. The breakfast was ok but when in Rom, eat out!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaPeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    124
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
19
200
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in the middle of February. The location is perfect, so quiet, but still in the center of the city. The rooms are not too big, but not too small. We simply just loved it. Especially with the jacuzzi...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VRandJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel was in a great location - the location itself is really the best thing about this hotel. It is conveniently located just a short walk from Piazza Navona, a central point in Rome. That being said, the location was my favorite thing about this hotel. The rooms were very small and a bit odd - our room had the shower in the room and not the bathroom which was a bit awkward and created a bit of mess. The walls of this hotel are SO thin. I woke up multiple times due to hearing people in the hallway as well as people in the room next to us - even from hearing their toilet flush and alarm clock ring. The room was a bit dreary as well. The staff was friendly and the free breakfast included in our rate was a nice touch. They staff also recommended some restaurants which were some of our favorite of our trip. However, I think given the small size of the rooms and the noise, I think I would only be back for the location - that can't be beat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is located at a very quiet side-street close to Piazza Navona and other attractions. It is within a walking distance to Piazza di Spagna, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and even St. Peter's Cathedral (about 25 minutes). We had a suite on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking…neighbouring buildings. We expected to have a better view, but it was not crucial to us. If you want to enjoy the view of old Roman roofs, just go one floor up to the rooftop garden! It's nice.
As to the suite, we liked the style, but found it somewhat uncomfortable. We were dreaming about more comfortable pillows (ours were really hard)! The air conditioner is right above your head when you are in bed. We had to turn it off and open the balcony's doors. And there was only one chair in our suite which was very beautiful but too inconvenient to be used for purpose.
The staff was friendly, and the room service was good.
All in all, if you are looking for style and location, Relais Orso is just what you need!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June and we have nothing but great things to say about it. We loved the location - close to everything (we walked everywhere), but tucked away on a not so crowded street so you feel like a local and not a tourist. The rooms are very small (so is the hotel), but they are clean, updated and have everything you need. The walls are a little thin, so if you're a light sleeper bring earplugs. We would go back again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We discovered Relais Orso on Jetsetter and booked a few nights in a junior suite. We knew from other posts that the hotel was on a tiny street and hard to find, so I made sure to get good directions before arriving in Rome. (We took a cab to the hotel from the airport and later realized we overpaid by a significant amount. I would highly recommend that you email the hotel and have them arrange for a private driver to pick you up at the airport - convenient and the price will be less. We had the hotel arrange for a cab to the airport for our departure and the price 1/4 less.) Upon arrival at Relais Orso, we were warmly greeted by Ms Guisy. Although we arrived 5 hours before check-in, the staff gladly held our bags and made a point to get our rooms cleaned and ready so we could check in early. We loved the junior suite. It was spacious, comfortable and had a modern-lux feel to the decor. The little extra amenities, such as shaving kit, tooth brush, sewing kit etc were nice. Nespresso coffee, water, and iPads were in the room for our use. Unlike other reviews I've read, the air conditioner and free WiFi worked perfectly. The AC is controlled by a white remote control - not a wall thermostat. My parents, who traveled with us, had a suite and complained there was no AC. I went to their room and showed them the remote... They didn't realize it was for the AC. Perhaps that was the issue with other guests. In any event, we were happy with our room and slept well ...until the construction began around 7:45 the next morning. Very loud construction - pounding, buzzing, sanding..you name it. I found out that the hotel is expanding, hence the construction next door. Since we wanted to make the most of our days in Rome, the early "wake up" wasn't a big issue for us. However, if you like sleeping in, you may want to wait until construction is complete before trying this hotel. Overall, we really liked Relais Orso. We loved that is was conveniently located to all the main sites - we walked everywhere (Vatican, Colloseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon etc). Though in the center of Rome, the hotel is on a quiet street with great little restaurants, wine bars, cafes etc. The staff was very friendly and breakfast each morning, which is included in the room rate, was nice. If there was no construction noise, I would have given the hotel a 5 star rating.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kenscoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Heres the low down. If your spending a few days in room and just need a place to crash this it. Great location. But don't be surprised if your driver from the airport has a hard time finding it. Its in a former large private residence that was converted into hotel on a small street just blocks from vatican city. The hotel is in walking distance to so much s what makes it superior to others. The rooms are small but efficient down to having the shower in the room. Very contemporary hotel staff couldn't be friendlier. At night super quiet. All in all like I said if your in and out you cant beat this place. If you need space in your hotel room or plan to work out of there its not for you I promise. Great for a night or two if stop over or romantic week of sightseeing. Also they do not take american express and they are not in the american express system directory of hotels.

Room Tip: ask for room away from stree
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert_Tabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Rinascimento
Hotel Rinascimento
#607 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#606 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#176 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Genio Hotel
Genio Hotel
#490 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Orso

Property: Relais Orso
Address: Via Dell'Orso, 88, 88 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Orso 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a superb location in the heart of the historical center, Relais Orso boasts magnificent interior designs that harmoniously combine the backdrop of ancient Rome with modern elements of style and luxury. Just a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon and the Castel Sant’Angelo, the Relais Orso accommodates easy exploration of Rome’s most famous monuments while its 15 beautifully designed rooms offer an oasis to help you relax and unwind from the day’s activities. While staying at Relais Orso, you can also enjoy Vicolo88, a restaurant dedicated to offering an excellent culinary experience in a relaxing and elegant environment. Vicolo88 also services the Roof Garden, should you wish to enjoy a cocktail while admiring the breathtaking view of the city from above.Relais Orso – Modern luxury deep in the heart of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Orso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing