We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and great room”
Review of Relais Orso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Orso
Ranked #356 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This small and intimate hotel is located around the corner from the Piazza Navona but far enough away from the bustle of the tourist track....located in a small street, we were able to absorb some of the community feel of Rome, something we had missed on our previous visits. Great eateries in the area, staff that were helpful, room was lovely being recently refurbished and with a lovely roof top garden with a bar, the hotel was delightful. Only 2 down sides....they were extending the hotel next door so it was a bit noisy during working hours (that should be over soon), and their coffees were not up to Rome standards.....

Room Tip: Overlooking the street...noise is not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 404 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Relais Orso is neat and clean and very well situated. Walking distance to many attractions. Modern design of the rooms and the restaurant. We had a minisuite with our own terrace with jacuzzi for two. Breakfast ordinary with great coffee. Free Ipad in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

On the way into Rome from the airport, I discovered that I left my iPhone on my plane. The front desk clerk at the hotel was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to speak with several airport/airline employees in assisting me and although I was unable to relocate my phone, her, and other hotel crews made our brief stay welcoming.

The location was fantastic for this was our first time in Rome and we needed to be central. We booked a junior suite (or was it a suite?) and were happy with the outdoor jacuzzi / patio. Both AC and Wifi worked well (which was not the case with some other hotels we stayed at in Italy). I booked this deal on Jetsetters and would not hesitate to do it again.

Room Tip: book a suite or jr suite if you are used to U.S. sized rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Washdsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It started off the worst way it can start, after a 14 hour flight the hotel told us they had a problem with our room and we had to stay elsewhere for the night. We were VERY disappointed. Particularly since Relais Orso is a brand new hotel and we were put in an old hotel, old room, old bathroom (although well located, next to the Pantheon). But the nice service in Relais Orso actually made up for this bad first impression and we ended up having a great experience (of course the beauty of Rome did help). They were always super apologetic and kind and offered us a free day in their rental car on our first day back. THE CAR IS REALLY ADORABLE! I do recommend that anyone staying there rent this little car, it is def worth the price and it is delightful to go around Rome in this. Easy to park and don’t believe everything you hear, we found it easy to drive in Rome.

About the hotel itself, INCREDIBLY well located. You can walk everywhere. The rooms are all brand new and very beautiful, with modern appliances and nicely decorated. One note is that we had to change rooms after one night since the bed was actually a pull-out couch. I then realized that some rooms are actually adjacent to major suites, so they have pull out coaches in case the same person rents both rooms together. It was not the worst night ever, but the actual bed is certainly much more comfortable. Make sure you book a room with a bed and not a pullout couch.

Last note is that I wished they improved their breakfast. Could add the option of preparing eggs or sandwiches on order or something and could def improve their coffee. Even considering that breakfast in Italy is not great overall, we expected more here. In any case, all things considered, I do recommend this hotel. I’d think it’s the best option for visiting Rome due to the location and modern facilities (oh yeah, and the amazing little rental car).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with an actual bed (not a pullout) - think you'd need to call to make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabiL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night there on our way out of Italy. The place was smartly decorated; the service was friendly, and the location was quite central. Unfortunately, our internal air conditioner's condenser started leaking, and the best the hotel could do was get a mechanic in the morning. It's something they should be a little better attuned to. Also, the cleanliness wasn't great - there was grime on the remote and hair in the shower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRelaisOrso, Direttore generale at Relais Orso, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the review and the useful feedback you have provided.
We apologize if you did not find the cleanliness appropriate; we run double checks every day in order to assure everything is perfectly clean. We have already taken actions in order to understand what happened during your stay and ensure this will not occur again in the future.

Our best regards,
Il Relais Orso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I will start by saying that I am really disappointed with this hotel. We paid a premium price for very little. There are other cheaper options in the area.

The only plus I can give it for my holiday is the location although for the unwary note that the website boasts a few steps from the major attractions the reality is less than 30 minutes walk to the major attractions as they couldn't be close to everything. Suffice to say I thought location was good and possibly the only reason for its over the top price.

As for the rest.
We paid for a costlier room (a junior suite) to avoid some issues of other posts but to no increase in quality.

The shower barely worked (the water dribbled out only one side).
The remainder of the bathroom is very small and I had to stand on an angle to use the mirror which is so badly lit may as well not be there.
The towel rack was broken.
There is also mould growing around all the edges so I did not want to lean on anything and there were soap stain marks from the previous guests. The toilet while modern looking is also completely uncomfortable.

Smoke drifts in from any angle it can. Just horrible.

The iPad and speakers in the room (while a nice idea) did not work.

The wifi did not work. We asked it to be fixed but staff provided no assistance and I ended up resetting the wifi myself after many hours of playing around.

The lighting is awful as well (not helped by the many blown lightbulbs). While it looks "modern" it is not practical at all and just leaves the room feeling dark. This didn't help my better half who had to kneel on the bed in front of the only mirror in the room above the bed in dim light to get ready.

Last but not least was the sound insulation. There is none. At all.
The supposed beautiful courtyard (which the view of from above is all service ducts, lift shafts, scaffolding and brickwork which to be honest you expect apart from scaffolding) is just a nest for the hotel staff to shout and smoke from. We were 3 floors above and the staff below may as well have been sharing with us which at 11pm is not ideal. Worst of all was the demolition work. Now while this wouldn't happen all the time I am sure, it really ruined our stay. We hoped for a slight sleep in on our last day but the hammering and drilling was so loud that this was impossible. If a hotel knows this type of work is happening they are obliged to let people know and offer a discount. All the other problems might have been lived with but lack of sleep and an empty wallet for staying here has just annoyed me too much.

Suffice to say we wouldn't choose this "boutique" hotel again and if we did not think quality was anywhere else we would pay half the cost and hope to avoid sleep deprivation somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonTheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRelaisOrso, Direttore generale at Relais Orso, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking some time to review our hotel.
We are sorry that your stay with us has not been as you expected. However, we would like to inform you that, because of your feedback, we have replaced the speakers for the iPad and fixed the problems in the toilet.
We had some issues with the internet provider and had Wi-Fi signal not working well for a week. We have now resolved the problem and the Wi-Fi connection is properly working.
We apologize this occurred while you were staying with us.

Best regards,

Il Relais Orso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The best part about this hotel is proximity to Piazza Navona and Castel Sant'angelo. The rooms were a bit tight and the aircon wasn't really cold enough for some warmer days and nights. We picked up a few nights for our last trip leg through jetsetter.com.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Zanardelli
Residenza Zanardelli
#458 of 1,272 in Rome
224 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#670 of 1,272 in Rome
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#176 of 1,272 in Rome
1,514 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Portoghesi
Hotel Portoghesi
#117 of 1,272 in Rome
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Orso

Address: Via Dell'Orso, 88, 88 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Orso 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a superb location in the heart of the historical center, Relais Orso boasts magnificent interior designs that harmoniously combine the backdrop of ancient Rome with modern elements of style and luxury. Just a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon and the Castel Sant’Angelo, the Relais Orso accommodates easy exploration of Rome’s most famous monuments while its 15 beautifully designed rooms offer an oasis to help you relax and unwind from the day’s activities. While staying at Relais Orso, you can also enjoy Vicolo88, a restaurant dedicated to offering an excellent culinary experience in a relaxing and elegant environment. Vicolo88 also services the Roof Garden, should you wish to enjoy a cocktail while admiring the breathtaking view of the city from above.Relais Orso – Modern luxury deep in the heart of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Orso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing