We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it if you get a good price”
Review of Relais Orso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Orso
Ranked #588 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We got a pretty good deal on this hotel, but paying full price my leave you feeling short changed. When we got here, our wifi, shower head, and shower drain in our suite didn't work. There were no rooms to move us to, so they tried to fix it, but then said we would have to wait till the next day. The wifi wouldn't work and they said it was impossible that it didn't work... I ended up fixing it myself by setting up the network since it seemed new... Everything was fixed by day 2. The buffet breakfast was alright. No hot food or coffee that we saw. Note that if you need anything gluten free you need to tell them before you check in. They had an espresso machine though. The rooftop terrace was also closed when we were there. Too bad since it was 70 one day. If you can get a good price it has a great location and they are trying hard for the modern feel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Relais Orso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 341 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Loved the location and the chicness of the entire hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They all had great recommendation of sights to see and where to dine for the best italian food.

The rooms are a bit on the small side but very functional. Also, our shower had a small leak, we were able to limit the amount of water by placing towels around the glass prior to showering.

I was disappointed to find out that the roof top lounge was not open to visitors yet. Also, be warned you can catch a TAXI to Rome Ciampino for 30 Euro flat rate. When we asked for a TAXI to be called they called a car service which we never asked for and it cost 55 euro. That is a large price difference.

I would recommend this hotel, just make sure to use a TAXI service to save yourself some money.

Vatican was about a 10-15 min walk, Piazza Novona was 5 minutes, Pantheon was 8 min, Trevi 12 minutes walking distance. Take advance of the great weather and walk everywhere you never know what beautiful sights you will run in to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The location was great near the piazza Navona and Pantheon, and across the river from the Vatican. It was easy walking distance to all of those and the Spanish steps. There is no metro nearby. You would need to take a cab from the train station or airport.
The room is a good size with a nice large bathroom and walk-in shower. Air and heat was fine. Our room window opened up to the street right above the entrance to their restaurant. This means loud obnoxious people and sounds late into the night, even with the window closed. The room walls are also thin, so you can hear quite a bit at night in the hallways, etc.
The breakfast was an ok spread of bread, pastries, cereal, meats and cheeses. No hot foods. I also expected decent coffee and I was wrong. They have an espresso machine, but used pods for espresso and only used the machine for steaming milk. It only worked one day and was broken the rest. This resulted in only bad coffee in a pot, and left us searching for an espresso bar every morning on the way to our next tour.

1  Thank Mika2808
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelRelaisOrso, Direttore generale at Relais Orso, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time to review us.
We apologize for the inconvenience of the broken coffee machine and for not being able to provide you with a coffee of your taste. We have now fixed the problem and should you decide to visit us again, we will be more than happy to offer you a delicious espresso.

Best regards,
Il Relais Orso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Perfect location on a quiet side street. Beautiful boutique rooms, modern, friendly staff and good breakfast. Couldn't ask for a better location for exploring Rome. Piazza navona, campo di fiori, the pantheon, the Vatican are all within a few minutes walk. The colesseum is about 15 minutes walk away. The Spanish steps and trevi fountain are a little further but still within walking distance! Fantastic and would definitely recommend the Relais Orso!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRelaisOrso, Direttore generale at Relais Orso, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Milson,
We are glad to hear you appreciated the style and services of our hotel. Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,
Il Relais Orso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was in Rome for a week at the beginning of this month, and I pre-paid my reservation at this hotel. I am always skeptical of reviews raving about a hotel, however, this place fits the bill! The reviews for this place are accurate, clean, perfectly located, friendly staff, newly renovated, good breakfast (included), and comfortable rooms. PS - Thank you Giusy!

Room Tip: No pool, and no fitness center.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fabulous location 2 minutes walk to Piazza Navona. Hotel very stylish. Rooms small but have everyhing you need. Reception staff exceptional, very knowledgeable about the area. We would recommend getting a taxi from the airport, hotel will organise this for you ,costing approx.40-50 euros definately well worth it as the hotel is just off the sq and could be a little complicated on first visit. Definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRelaisOrso, Direttore at Relais Orso, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Maureen,

We thank you for you kind review. We are pleased you appreciated our design choices and that we helped make your stay enjoyable.
We would be delighted to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Il Relais Orso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 2nights at this hotel.
The location is great, the staff are very friendly and the rooms were clean.
The rooms are compact but have everything you need.
The walls seem paper thin as we could hear other guests coming and going.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to spend time relaxing in their room but like most people when in Rome the time we spent was to sleep therefore the hotel served its purpose.
The breakfast is basic but is a sufficient continental breakfast.
I would stay here again but if your looking for something luxurious this is not your hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jm2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRelaisOrso, Direttore at Relais Orso, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Relais Orso and for the time you dedicated to the review.

We value guest feedback as an important measurement of service quality, which we strive to improve the quality day by day.

We are glad you appreciated the overall stay in Rome and if you decide to come back, we will make sure to provide you with a room that better meets your needs.

Best regards,
Il Relais Orso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#645 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Zanardelli
Residenza Zanardelli
#396 of 1,267 in Rome
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Rinascimento
Hotel Rinascimento
#598 of 1,267 in Rome
251 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Orso

Address: Via Dell'Orso, 88, 88 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #588 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $153 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Orso 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a superb location in the heart of the historical center, Relais Orso boasts magnificent interior designs that harmoniously combine the backdrop of ancient Rome with modern elements of style and luxury. Just a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon and the Castel Sant’Angelo, the Relais Orso accommodates easy exploration of Rome’s most famous monuments while its 15 beautifully designed rooms offer an oasis to help you relax and unwind from the day’s activities. While staying at Relais Orso, you can also enjoy Vicolo88, a restaurant dedicated to offering an excellent culinary experience in a relaxing and elegant environment. Vicolo88 also services the Roof Garden, should you wish to enjoy a cocktail while admiring the breathtaking view of the city from above.Relais Orso – Modern luxury deep in the heart of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Orso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing