We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip to Rome in a good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Costanza
Ranked #620 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent three nights in rome in march and stayed in santa costanza.The hotel is very clean with a lovely reception area,staff were very pleasant and helpful,breakfast was good for the price we paid to stay.Room was very clean and cleaning staff were very attentive.
Our room was small and bed is quite hard. The walls were very thin and i dont think youd get much sleep if you had noisy neighbours but we didnt have that problem.The hotel is not near the centre of rome but metro is about 10 minute walk and buses are close at hand

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annetteboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Costanza, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Annette,
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay and to have chosen our Santa Costanza Htl !
I was delighted to hear that you appreciated our property, location and staff.
I have shared your comments with my whole team as you have mentioned their level of service.
We are very much grateful for your compliments and will do our best to improve our service in order to let you appreciate them in your next stay with us ;)!
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 824 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Trip to Rome 3 nights 4 days in Feb. Hotel clean but basic, friendly and helpful staff. Room cleaned every day. Rooms small but expected them to be! Bit old fashioned and slightly out of the way but bus stop is literally round the corner and metro station is 5-10 Min walk away, so easy access to get into the centre of Rome. Supermarket just down the street! All we needed for basic but comfortable stay.

We got a Roma pass (30 euros) from airport which gave unlimited access to bus and metro and access to 2 museums for free. NB Vatican Museum is not included but fast track on Colosseum if you go! Also do sent include aiport transfers!

N.B Terra Vision bus from airport in cheapest but busiest!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Nov. 2012 at our Rome trip with my husband and we think it was an excellent choice.If we visit Rome again, we definitely plan to stay there again because it is the most decent hotel that you get what you paid for. So if you are a budget tourist going to Rome please read our advice here. We bought a Roma Pass as soon as we landed the Leonardo airport which we had 3 days pass to all Rome public transport.(Roma Pass gives you access to metro, trams, buses plus 2 museum accesses, you may also prefer ordinary 3 day passes for public transport which is cheaper, but you can visit colosseo and borghese museum without hassle with roma pass) We took the Terravision bus to reach Termini(Don't prefer Loanardo Express, it's expensive and NOT fast, arrives at the same time with the bus) From Termini we took the metro and got off after 2 STOPS (Bologna Station) walked about 100 metres, there we were at Santa Costanza Hotel. Then we learned there was a bus directly from Termini which is stopping in front of Santa Costanza Hotel(the bus stop is also called Santa Costanza) So you may not to walk at all. The hotel is located at the corner of two main roads so you can reach every touristic area with the buses passing by or by metro. And believe me Rome is a big and exhausting city to walk around so you need to use public transport a lot!!!! Once you start to use the public transport, it soesn't matter if you stay at Termini or 2 metro stops away from it.
If you are a budget tourist going to Rome you have a few options. You may either prefer to stay at the hotels around Termini main train station which is a shady location at night. And most of those hotels have shared bathrooms, no breakfast options,no free wifis etc. Or prefer to stay at a hotel like Santa Costanza which is only a little bit far from Termini(totally easy to reach day and night by public transport) but has every comfort you need. The neighbourhood of the hotel is the consulates area so it is totally safe to walk around at night. The rooms are spacious enough and very very clean, the bathroom was decorated really nice for a budget hotel, all the staff was really helpful. If you are one of us who makes Skype calls and likes to reach social media during their trips they have a very fast and free wifi. They had a few elevator problems when we were there but it was fixed quickly. And the breakfast... Most of the budget hotels in Rome serves only a coffee and a croissant at breakfast but Santa Costanza has a real breakfast option. It has limited buffet choices with a few cereals, fruit yogurt, ham, 2 different types of cheese, a few types of local bakery (try them the italian pastries are great) but it's a decent breakfast. The only negative side was they have a coffee machine that serves disguting coffee but there is a small typical italian cafe next door with very reasonable prices. So you can sip your latte next door with the locals and start your journey at Rome. There is also a big Carrefour supermarket just 25 metres away from the hotel where you can buy anything. If you feel like hungry late at night there are a few places to eat at Piazza Bologna that serves sandwiches and beer. For four days we reached all the touristic places of Rome from Santa Costanza without any problems. We also went out every night, took a bus and went to malls, Hard Rock Cafe, restaurants around Trevi Fountain again without any problems. So don't judge this hotel like it is located at a suburb out of the city. It is not, in fact if you check the map you will see, it is located at a very convenient part of city where also locals live and you can reach anywhere you want, with a 15-20 minutes bus ride.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are more quiet from the elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank yildizsungur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Costanza, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Mr"yildizsungur",
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay!
We are very glad to know that you liked our Santa Costanza Htl and learn your appreciation about our staff, room, breakfast .
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Santa costanza,
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hotel stuff was helpful, but the hotel wasn't really quite even being far from noisy places of Roma. Too much technical noise from some hotel's machines and not good air-conditioning, especially in the bath-room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Valentina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went to Rome in the low season, so it wasn't too crowded. Hotel is clean & well decorated. Walls are (predictably) paper thin, and one neighbor of ours insisted on yelling at people over Skype (yelling!), but I think he tired out by 11pm each night, so we had no troubles sleeping. It was quite cold, even with the heater on, but they provided a really nice thick wool blanket that kept us warm & toasty (to the point that my brother kicked off his covers one night!) The breakfast is quite a spread and had meat, cheese, bread, toaster, croissants, fresh fruit, a coffee machine, juice, milk, cereal. I was very impressed, considering it is low season.

In my case, the price was right because we were staying in Rome for ~5 days, so there was an additional discount. Ended up paying ~USD60 per night for a triple room (again, low season pricing). The location of the hotel is not ideal, but still good. It's about 15min walk from the Bologna Metro station. The area surrounding the hotel is excellent (police station nearby on Via Livorno and some government Finance building on Viale XXI Aprile). Even coming home later in the evening (since it got dark so soon in the wintertime), there was never any fear of being in a bad place/situation. But it's still a 15min walk you have to make everyday to get into the Metro system.

Overall, we had a great stay in Rome, despite all the rain. If you have time, make sure to go up to Tivoli and see Villa Adriana & Villa d'Este. Thank you Hotel Santa Costanza for a very comfortable stay!

(btw, I see a lot of people complain about the beds in Europe being too hard to sleep on. I found that to be the case in every hotel I stayed in - not that I couldn't sleep, just that they like their beds stiffer than in the US. I think it's a cultural thing, not a hotel-specific thing.)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oink2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I booked this hotel, I was looking for somewhere quiet but with easy access to the city centre. This does not disappoint. It is approx 800m from the nearest Subway station (Bologna), which is roughly a ten minute walk. The price was good, the road noise from outside fairly minimal.

Be aware of the city tax that will be levied at the end of your stay - 2 euros per visitor per night.

The only thing that was a bit of a let down was that the air con didn't work, however this wasn't a problem at the time of year we travelled at, we were just able to open the window to cool the room down!

The breakfast is also nice - cheese and ham, croissant, cereal, yoghurt, tea/coffee and juice. Sets you up well for a day of looking at ancient monuments.

I also recommend getting the Roma card, as this allows for unlimited trave for three days on the public transport system, and gave us free entry to the Colosseum and Palatine Hill.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms would be better so that you aren't woken by the early risers trampling all over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very dissapointed in the location. Yes it was quiet. Yes there was a bus station close by. But I was staying in Rome, not a New Jersey suburb.

The first line on their website states "Located just a short stroll from many of Rome’s awe-inspiring monuments." This is an outright lie. Do not book this hotel if that is what you are expecting. Spanish steps a 2 mile walk. Trevi fountain 2 1/2 miles, Pantheon, 3 miles... and those are the closest major attractions. This is in NO WAY a short stroll away from anything. The metro is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
2  Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Principe Torlonia
#374 of 1,273 in Rome
437 reviews
Hotel American Palace EUR
#1,049 of 1,273 in Rome
1,388 reviews
Relais 6
#38 of 1,273 in Rome
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Fleming
#448 of 1,273 in Rome
1,347 reviews
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#236 of 1,273 in Rome
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Costanza

Address: Viale Ventuno Aprile 4, 00162 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $63 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Costanza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Costanza Hotel is set in a quiet residential area of Rome, away from the chaotic city centre but with excellent transport links to easily reach the major sights ( LINE B METRO BOLOGNA ). Hotel Santa Costanza is located in the center of the fantastic Nomentano district, the area with the highest concentration of embassies in the middle of patrician neighborhood and near some of the most important Roman attractions. A spacious hall shall welcome you and the comfortable breakfast room will greet you every morning. The entire building is served by Wi-Fi access and an internet point is available at reception. The hotel offers also a cosy garden with a romantic Mediterranean flavoured atmosphere, lighted by the colours of the nature. This is the great kept secret by the Hotel Santa Costanza in the Heart of Rome. Recently refurbished, we have made an effort to recreate the natural style of the gardens of the Nomentano district. The area is perfect to relax for the mix of flowers, lights, shadows and silence create a unique environment. In within the outside spaces it is possible to take advantage of the Snack /Bar services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Costanza Hotel
Santa Costanza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing