We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of City Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Guest House
Ranked #2,428 of 3,693 Rome B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013, paid 59 euro for a double room, found this to be excellent value for money. Both breakfast and bathroom were included in this price. The hotel was also close to a metro station (2 minute walk from hotel) this metro station was then around a 10/15 minute journey to Termini Station. Furthermore, staff very friendly and helpful and rooms clean. I could not fault this hotel in anyway and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    207
    110
    62
    34
See reviews for
86
233
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great and very helpfull staff,standard breakfast,very close to the metro station,but quite a few stops to the city center.Clean rooms although walls were a little thin...There was a very useful vending machine with cheap bottles of water,sodas and candy.











  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eleni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been there for 4 days, it was very nice because it was near restaurants of all sorts of foods, supermarket and laundry. The breakfast was very nice too. Eventhough is a bit far away from the city centre, it is very near to a subway station (25 minutes travel to city center. I totally recomend it!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had an excellent time during our stay. The staff were very helpful and even helped calm our nerves when we left our keys in our room and thought we would be locked out of it….24 hour reception! We enjoyed seeing more than just the tourist area in Rome and would definitely recommend staying at the City Guest House!

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stac419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've just spent a week here. The staff couldn't have been more helpful (with a family emergency) or friendly. The room service and breakfast service was excellent, good range of continental breakfast. Ok, some reviewers are right in that the decor is a little tired (mostly could do with some fresh paint - the rest of it is lovely ) but get real you're paying a much reduced rate for being in Rome than you would pay to be central. You're only a few minutes walk from the metro, easy access from bargain airlines at ciampino and near real Rome with good local restaurants (la Strega - busy every night) at non tourist prices. The hotel offers a great transfer service for 30 euros to ciampino that is so much easier than lugging heavy bags on the metro. If you want posh and elegant with everything within a short walk, pay a lot more and go to central Rome. If you want friendly, clean, lovely big beds with lovely crisp linen and a very relaxed stay (check out not till 11am) then stay here, you won't be sorry (and there's a laundrette on the corner so you don't have to worry about stingy luggage allowances from cheap airlines!)

Room Tip: it can be a bit noisy as you're near an airport but this quietens down at night. However, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerformingMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good place to stay with family or friends, very convenient,metro nearby.helpful staff aware about the local knowledge very well,speak English fluently, We stayed there two nights. Good wifi reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasanna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
6.0 mi away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#955 of 1,264 in Rome
198 reviews
7.9 mi away
Scheppers Hotel
Scheppers Hotel
#1,038 of 1,264 in Rome
261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,032 of 1,264 in Rome
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Jonico
Hotel Jonico
#750 of 1,264 in Rome
340 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Brand Hotel Roma
The Brand Hotel Roma
#1,055 of 1,264 in Rome
166 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Guest House

Property: City Guest House
Address: Viale Opita Oppio 76, 00174 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,428 of 3,693 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Guest House Hotel Rome
City Hotel Rome
City Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing