We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Rome”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Rome”
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Hi

Have just returned from the River Palace Hotel, Rome. Picked this hotel because most of the reviews on Trip Advisor were positive so reckoned it should be ok. Was not wrong. It was our honeymoon and when we arrived at the hotel, they had given us an upgrade to a deluxe room free of charge. When we got to the room a box of chocs and a welcome message was waiting. We stayed in Room 204 which overlooked the courtyard. It was lovely and quiet. The lifts are rather small but as we were on the second floor we usually walked up the stairs.

Breakfast was good, with the usual choice for continental. I wouldn't describe the juice as 'fresh' as we know it in the UK, it tasted more like the reconstituted juice you can get, but it was certainly drinkable. Coffee was good. Waiters were very helpful and friendly as were all the staff in the hotel.

The room although fairly small (not a problem to us as we were out most of the day sightseeing anyway) was spotlessly clean. Sheets were changed every day (I've been to quite a few 4* hotels over the years and believe me, not many change the sheets every day!).

Would definitely recommend this hotel as we felt it was excellent value for money (without the free upgrade). Should mention that the Pizzeria Restaurant a few doors down from the hotel (on the same side) also gave excellent value for money if you like typical italian food (ie, pizza, pasta, antipasta etc). We ate there most nights. Usual cost of a two course meal for two with a bottle of wine was around 20-25 euros.

Only warning I would give is, if you decide to get a taxi from the airport to the hotel, make sure you know what you will be charged. As it was our honeymoon we decided we would take a taxi rather than the shuttle bus. Big mistake. The taxi cost us 90 euros (47 euros on the meter when we stopped), charge 90 because we had 2 small suitcases with us!!!

Also, look out for people at the Spanish Steps who catch you unawares (well, naive gullible people like us!), and charge 50 euros for a piece of string. Yes, my new husband fell for it - I couldn't believe it. Would rather have given the money to the beggars on the street of Rome (and there are lots of them)!

Well, that's our review. Recommend Rome, it's a beautiful city with lots to see, you'll certainly need a full day to see the Vatican, if you can stand the crowds. Without a doubt, intend to go back to Rome and will be staying at the River Palace.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like. Rooms a bit small but perfectly adequate for two people
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pangadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    607
    135
    29
    21
See reviews for
351
1,445
63
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Lovely Hotel close to main shopping areas but nice and quiet,
Everyone complains about the small rooms but ours was fine ,not sure if we were upgraded. This is one of the cleanest Hotels we have ever stayed in and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is great and there is free internet accessin the lobby. Only one small point the pillows were not that great but you could always take your own.

  • Liked — Cleanliness/Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The Pillows
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aldarofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2007

This hotel is within walking distance of all the main sights of Rome, and it is just a couple of minutes walk to the metro station. My only complaint is that the room was very small, but it was clean and had everything we needed, with a very nice bathroom. The air conditioning was brilliant, especially as it was 35 degrees all week! All staff were really friendly and helpful, and they even kept the bar open for us on our first night! Breakfast was also very nice and was available from 6.30am so you can get up really early to see all the sights!! Hotel has two computers in the lobby with internet access which is very handy.

  • Liked — friendliness of the staff, good breakfast, air conditioned bar and rooms.
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank terese77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a three week holiday in Italy, seven days of which were in Rome where we stayed at the River Palace Hotel. The hotel is very well maintained with friendly staff and nice amenities. The first room we were given was very small, even by European standards. We were upgraded to a slightly more spacious room, but were required to pay an additional 40 euros per night. Our room overlooked the street so it was fairly noisy. Otherwise, our stay was very pleasant and the hotel is within easy walking distance of most major attractions. The hotel's restaurant is pricey, but serves excellent food.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rosefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the River Palace in June. I was very impressed with the staff from the beginning. I booked the reservation directly with the hotel via email. Diana could not have been more helpful. We exchanged several emails and she assisted me not only our room selection and reservation, but the best location to drop off our rental car, transfers to the airport, etc. Once we arrived at the hotel, we found all of the staff to be exceptional and very intent on making sure the guests were comfortable. They were also anxious to know if there was anything they could do to make future hotel stays more enjoyable.

We had a Deluxe room. The room was a bit small, but plenty big enough for two people. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom was small and the lightting was a bit dim (hotels should really ask women to help them with bathroom lighting) but the bathroom was clean and beautiful with floor to ceiling marble. The room included a free safe and turn down service at night with Godiva chocolates.

The elevator from the 1st floor was extremely small and the air conditioning never quite cooled the room as much as I would have liked - but I realize that both of these things are just the quirks you live with when staying in older buildings. This is not to say that the River Palace looks old - the rennovation was wonderful.

We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary, so we opted for the Celebration Package. I'm so glad we did. The dinner at Ziro was AMAZING. Asia was the perfect host for our dinner and the chef was fabulous - the food not only tasted divine, but the presentation was beautiful. The breakfasts were also delicious with a variety of meats, cheeses, pasteries, etc.

The location of the hotel was good for us. It is not in the center of Rome (so it was very quiet), but it was very close to the Piazza Del Popolo and the Metro stop and bus stops were also only a couple of blocks away so we were able to get anywhere in the city very quickly. The walk from the hotel down Corso (major shopping) to the Colloseum was also very doable - if you like to walk.

We ate a fabulous restaurant our last night in Rome. I can't remember the name of it, but it was recommended by the front desk and it was easy walking distance from the hotel on Rippeta (ask them and they will know).

Overall, I would recommend the River Palace when staying in Rome.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — small bathroom, lighting in bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Beware this mega turkey!

1. Impossibly small rooms. Having travelled extensively through Europe, this was by far the smallest 4 star hotel room I have ever stayed in. We had a deluxe room, but despite this, opening the closet door meant one could not walk past the bed & thus from one end of the room to the other.

2. Lifts: The hotel occupies 2 seperate buildings. So if you stay above floor one you have to change lifts at the first floor. The second lift is so small that no more than 3 people can fit. This is especially inconvenient when it is used by the cleaning staff as well. Twice during a 3 days stay did we have to wait about 10 minutes after breakfast to use the lift as the cleaners and their equiment occupied it.

3. Breakfast: Bread was often semi-stale. Also, this was the first time I have ever had bad coffee in Italy. They also dont offer refills, you have to help yourself from an 80's style filter pot in a corner!

4. Concierge: Friendly but utterly clueless about restaurants.

5. Location: Central it certainly is not as descibed many times on this site. Few taxis in the area. Asking the hotel for a taxi = 7 euro surcharge.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRURAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozza, General Manager at River Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2007
Google Translation
I'm very sorry that the hotel did not meet our guest's expectations. We work very hard every day to make our guest stay better than ever. I'm very gratfull to receive any suggestion in order to improve our service. The only thing we are asking for is "Let us know". We might solve the problem right away. Do not waste your precious time. We can solve the problem for you. Our goal is to serve our guests+ make our guests' stay unforgettable.
I do agree that the small size of our rooms + lifts might not meet the american standards. This is due to the fact that the hotel is located in an old building, downtown Rome. It is also true that unfortunatly one day the bred was stale. Our home made bread is baked every day. Unfortunatly one day we could not used the owen and we served the bread of the day before. I agree that this shoud not happen in a 4 stars hotel.
The only thing I cannot agree is the location. We are very well located, few steps (50 m.) from the metro station Flaminio, and Popolo square. Within walking distance from the main attractions as Trinità dei Monti, Piazza di Spagna, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Galleria Borghese, and close to the main shopping area (as Via Condotti, Via Borgognona, etc.). St Peter Basilica and Vatican Museum are only 3 metro stops away.
Due to the above reasons I'd like to invite Mr Kruran to visit us one more time. We are glad to offer one night stay in our suite Villa Borghese.
I'm sure that we'll be able to satisfied even the most demanding guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Me and my husband stayed here for 4 nights on our 1st trip to Rome. It was very hot ( weather forcast said mid 30's but felt at least late 30's in the sunshine as no breeze most days) so the air conditioning was wonderful when we came back to change for the evening. Didn't eat in the hotel but menu looked good. Walked most places although would have preferred to stay even more central than this as our feet were bruised on the last day with all the walking. Staff very polite. Rooms clean ,small but good sized wardrobe,good shower ,backout blind and free safe. Didn't hear any noise at nights.
Got the metro to St Peters on a Friday at 10.30am - queued right around the building but moved quickly. After looking around, didn't realise had to join another massive queue to get into the Vatican. went back on last morning in Rome to St Peter's dome at 8.30am and we were the only people there - it was wonderful and would reccomend the extra effort in getting there early ( as it get's hot in the small staircases too later in the day)
Really reccomend getting coloseum ticket from the Palatine - no queue at all there and only a short walk away.

  • Liked — close to metro and air con
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,259 in Rome
2,888 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,259 in Rome
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,259 in Rome
2,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,259 in Rome
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing