We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$384
$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$311
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$474
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$148
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$409
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,599)
Filter reviews
2,599 results
Traveler rating
1,727
669
149
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,727
669
149
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf price drinkspiazza del popolospanish stepsfree bar snacksflaminio metro stationdeluxe roomwithin walking distancepastriesrooms are smallturn down serviceevery eveningclassic roomtrevi fountainan upgradelovely hotelhotel barfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
2,223 - 2,228 of 2,599 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2006

My Boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel at the beginning of November for a birthday suprise. I had e-mailed the hotel beforehand to check rates for an upgrade and was told i would be able to check when we arrived. We didnt need to, the room was great so kept it as it was and had a personal note from the manager wishing my boyfriend a happy birthday and a pleasent stay, Such a nice touch we thought.
The turning down of the bed covers every night and the weather forecast for the following day just added to the nice touches.
The staff were very helpful, nothing was any trouble for them, location is brilliant, 1 min walk from the nearest Metro and short walking distances from all the major sights.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if we ever go back we will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AmyandKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2006

I travelled with my sister and mother for a "girlie" weekend to Rome for the first time in late October. I had researched the hotel and finally decided to give it a go after reading the reviews posted on here.
We were not disappointed. We negotiated our way from the airport to the Termini and then on the Metro(as suggested on an earlier review) with no problem and for a lot less money than a taxi would have been.
The Hotel staff were extremely helpful, spoke perfect english and were most accomodating. We also ate in the hotel restaurant , with the promise that if we were not happy we would be refunded.The food was excellent , the manager a charming host and the whole experience a pleasant start to our weekend break. Breakfast was plentiful, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pastries, cakes, breads, a selection of hot food, all fresh and homemade.
Many reviews quote the room size as being "tiny". I would have to say that we found them perfectly ok, with a lovely marble bathroom. A nice touch was the turndown of the bed on an evening, with chocolates and the next days weather forecast!
The hotel is situated in a great position for walking to all the sights. We walked to the colesseum, trevi fountain, pantheon, vatican and the spanish steps are only 10mins away.
Make sure you visit the palazza navona for a cappucino and people watching!!
We would definitely return to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank maloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We just got back from a 4 nights stay at the River Palace Hotel in Rome, and we can only say good things about our short vacation. Beautiful city, charming hotel and exquisite food.
Rome is just amazing and the River Palace is located perfectly to visit it. Our room was a deluxe and it was large enough for us, our luggage and my girlfriend's shopping bags!!! Which means pretty big and it only costed 50 euros more than the classic accomodation. It was very nicely decorated and with an extra luxury marble bathroom! One thing we did not like is the elevator that takes from the 1st to the upper floors, but they said it is going to be changed soon. The staff was very helpful and kind, always going a step further to accomodate your needs and make you feel comfortable. They suggested us to try the hotel's restaurant and they seemed to be quite sure about their product, in fact they offered to pay in case we would not be completely satisfied. They did not have to pay!!! In fact it was our best meal ever. They just hired a very talented young chef from the Amalfi coast who's not only a great cook, but he's also a very nice person. The Restaurant Manager got internationally trained from Four Seasons Hotels and runs the show with the utmost professionalism. The Sommelier was very knowledgeable and also very funny! To make a long story short, excellent food (the desserts are out of this world), great wine, incredible service for a very reasonable price. We only spent 100€ for a full dinner including wine. Also the breakfast was outstanding, almost everything was home made. We will warmly recommend the River Palace and their restaurant to all of our friends and we will definetly stay there again in our futur visits!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ness76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

In a good location situated at the top end of Rome, and within in walking distance of some of Romes main highlights.
The room was clean and comfortable but again quite small. Not much space around the bed, and the bathroom was the same although is a BD really necessary?!
Chocolates left on pillow at night with bed turned down which i thought was a nice touch.
A wide choice at breakfast to set you up for a day out.
Overall, this is a clean and comfortable hotel an ideal base for exploring Rome!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wackychick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

I read reviews of the River Palace prior to booking 5 nights for a recent trip to Rome. The location is great, and the hotel is clean and well appointed. The rooms, however, are really, really small. I read several reviews that mentioned room size and had brushed it off as feedback from people not used to European standard hotels. I have traveled extensively in Europe, and often hotels are much smaller than their N. American counterparts.

That said, the rooms are tiny. Smallest hotel room I have ever seen. It was quite difficult to accomodate two people of normal size/stature. If you are tall and/or wide, forget it. There was barely room for suitcases/shopping bags, or anything else.

The elevator situation, previously mentioned, is also a bit of a drag as it requires two separate elevators to reach the upper floors of the hotel, and the 2nd of these can only accomodate two, maybe three, people at a time.

Based on experiences with other hotels in Rome, I would say look elsewhere unless you can't get a room. If you do end up here, know that other than the suites, your room will be very small, but will be clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank smeyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews