We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Location”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Perfect Location”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the Piazza del Popolo. From there, you can access everywhere on foot, including the Vatican City (furthest attraction) in 45 min. We walked to/from the Spanish Steps, Borghese Gallery, and Trevi Fountain. One day, we walked from the Colosseum, through the Roman Forum, up Capitoline Hill, to the Pantheon, to the famous Alfredo alla Scrofa restaurant and back to the hotel. Yes, my feet hurt! But it sure is safer to walk than using the metro due to pick-pocketers. But if you want to use the metro, the Flaminia station is just a few minutes away. Restaurants in the neighborhood, including a Burger King. My favorite is the sit down Italian restaurant a few shops from Burger King. You can watch them make your pizza! Villa Borghese is within 10 min walk from the hotel. A big park with bike and Segway rentals. The Zoo is also located in this park.

The staff were incredibly friendly and they all speak English. Drinks are half price during Happy Hour (6-10 pm). An assortment of appertizers are served. Breakfast is very good with lots of varieties for everyone.

We had a triple room. There wasn't much room for our luggage but we had a sizable bathroom. The shower was a bit awkward with a half glass shield over the tub. I did not master taking a shower without getting the marble floor wet, but nothing the towel mat can't dry. We used the safe for valuables. We love to be able to control the room temperature. After a hot and humid day out and about, it was very nice to walk into a cool "home".

We stayed for 4 nights and would stay here again. Good wifi!

Back to location... If you are staying there on a Sunday, Via del Corso is closed to traffic for a few blocks. We walked back from the Spanish steps about 6:30 pm and the shoppers are out. Shops close at 10 pm.

Room Tip: You first use an elevator to get to the second floor (or 1 for European floor). To take the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapleweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,539
    607
    135
    29
    21
See reviews for
349
1,444
63
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here with our whole family (11 people) including five teens. They were so friendly and took such good care of us. Their recommendations were fabulous ( Pizza RE and St Anna restaurants) We will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgsevigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights & found the hotel to be a great place for us. The staff speaks great English & that is much appreciated. They were so helpful & went out of their way to help. Our TV lost its satellite connection and Antonio had it fixed within minutes. Giorgio was especially helpful & took our unusual request in stride. The location was excellent for us b/c we wanted to be in more of a neighborhood rather than in a busier, touristy area. The metro is 2 blocks away making it very convenient to go where we needed to. There is a small supermarket between the metro & the hotel and the restaurants in the area were good. Another supermarket is around the corner. Yes, the rooms are small, but since we were in the room so little and it is Europe after all, it was not an issue for us. Our room had its own climate control & it was GREAT to be able to control the air conditioning temp so we could sleep comfortably. The king bed was very comfortable. The breakfast had lots of variety & relatively standard fare. The happy hour was excellent! I was very impressed that the drink prices were so reasonable as are the mini-bar prices.

Room Tip: Some 1st-floor rooms will have lots of traffic b/c breakfast room is on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl5812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our trip. The hotel had great charm and we were very happy with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The bar has a happy hour each night with great snacks and there's an open area to enjoy the drinks and meet other travelers. Breakfast was plentiful and of high quality. The location while north of everything, was very easy to navigate to...it seemed almost as all roads led back to the hotel. We were able to see almost everything by walking, though we did cab to the vatican out of convenience and timing. The room wasn't large by any stretch but seemed to be spacious enough by Rome standards. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to the bar here for happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent 2 nights here in June, and couldn't have been happier. We were offered an upgrade for a very reasonable price, so of course we took it - a lovely suite with bedroom, sitting room and huge bathroom. The only downside was the shower, which was a hand held shower while standing in the spa bath. The bathroom had a an extra wash several times!!
Staff friendly and helpful, very nice buffet breakfast.
Central to everything, and 5 minutes from metro station, which is very easy to use once you get the hang of it.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieE1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is very well situated a couple of minutes from a Metro station and within easy walking distance of local sites and shopping areas. The rooms are small but very clean and they offer a very good breakfast buffet included in the cost of the room. It was our second stay at the hotel and again we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

There's not a lot I can add to the many (good) reviews on this hotel - location, rooms, happy hour, the staff etc all great. Our needs changed at the last minute from needing 2 double rooms to 1 triple, the staff were great in accommodating this. Re the room size, 3 adults stayed in a deluxe room, and we managed fine!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,680 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,258 in Rome
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing