We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the River Palace for Christmas week. We opted for the upgraded room and it was worth the cost. As others have said, the rooms are a bit small, but clean, well appointed and attractive. I thought the mattress was a little hard at first, but I slept fine on it and my husband's bad back did fine as well. What I liked the most was the "feel" of the place. Without exception, everyone was friendly, professional and genuinely helpful. A couple of examples... When I had trouble printing my boarding pass, the front desk staff spent 20 minutes and a couple of computers and printers to get it done for me. I happened to have a birthday while staying at the hotel and when I returned to the room for the night, a bottle of wine and a lovely note from the general manager was in the room awaiting me. What a wonderful place! I would go back in a heart beat!
An aside...our son and his wife were staying at a large hotel across town, but met us for happy hour and snacks at the River Palace. Next time in Rome, they plan to forget the big name hotel and enjoy the River Palace.

Room Tip: The upgrade from standard is worth the money. The hotel room was a bit warm, but cracking open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debmacc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Things we liked about the hotel:
- Location, just to the north of the central area was great, we only had to get the metro a couple of times
- Breakfast, lots of choice particularly cured meats and cheeses. Plus the little cakes were great, especially the muffins which were excellent
- The staff were all very helpful and friendly

Things we didn't like:
- The size of the room was on the small side
- The lift system within the hotel meant that you had to take two lifts to get in or out which often took a long time

Overall we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajs245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here with our grandchild and I'm not sure who was more excited--her or us. From the fantastic driver who met us at the airport and returned us later to the front desk staff and the servers and bell staff, everyone was helpful, charming, warm, welcoming and informative. We were especially pleased with their graciousness toward our granddaughter--forever imprinting Rome as one of her favorite cities. As other reviewers have raved, the rooms are beautifully done, the brunch room offered a wide array of well prepared food for all sorts of tastes, the happy hour at the end of the day is delightful. We easily walked to the Piazza de Popolo (where one evening we listened to a free concert), the Spanish Steps, and even to the Coloseum. Not a large hotel, the River Palace is obviously well known and well-loved, with many visitors from around the world staying there. It is quiet, comfortable, elegant. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kh0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We choose the hotel because of its high tripadvisor rating and location and it was no mistake.
The location couldn't be better: Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and thr Pantheon are all in
walking distance even to the Colosseum you can walk (40 minutes if it ain't to long).
The breakfast was excellent with a very wide choice, the rooms were abit small but that didn't really matter because we only slept there. The Happy Hour was another highlight : drinks for half price(cocktails out of this world) and free snacks, not something for granted in every hotel.
The staff was very fiendly and helpful, i would definitely choose this hotel again if i return to Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We loved our stay at the River Palace in Rome this December. We were very close to the Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps. Extensive buffet breakfast was our brunch each day. We enjoyed the happy hour at beautiful bar area (see my attached picture). We were lucky to get an upgrade, so our room was a great size. The concierge gave us great advise and we walked all over the city! I would definitely stay there on our next trip to Rome!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LPLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in December 2013. The hotel was first class food excellent location close to all major attractions all within 30 minutes walk. Hotel situated just a few minutes walk from Piazza del Popolo and the metro station. The bedroom was beautiful well decorated lovely pictures and the bathroom was spacious and the marble effect was top class.
The 6-10pm happy hour every day was something to come back to the hotel for the food which was also available during this time was fee and well laid out and the drinks according to us was very cheap and plenty available. The staff were al very friendly from Antonio who first showed us to our room to the reception staff and breakfast staff could not fault this hotel at all. So thank you all for making my stay at your hotel very enjoyable and would definitely stay here next time I visit Rome

Room Tip: Look no further for a four star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late November, the hotel is clean, the buffet breakfast has just about everything you could wish for, and all of the staff are very helpful and polite. Happy hour in the bar is a must, half prive for 4 hours every night and the measures are extra large, plus there is the added bonus of free sandwcihes and snacks every night. The hotel is in a great location and all of the major sights are within a 30 minuite walk. Some of the rooms are apparantly on the small side (noy unusual in Italy) but we had booked the suite and this was a nice size with the added bonus of a terrace area. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,272 in Rome
2,306 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#77 of 1,272 in Rome
2,722 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,272 in Rome
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing