We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so good and more”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

what to say so many good points about this hotel. example i came with my grandparents and my granddad got badly ill and the staff tried to do all they can for him the called the docs and even offed a wheel if needed and much more. also they let him stay in the room until the taxi came to take ours to the airport. The staff will do any thinking to make you stay as great as you want and are very accommodating.
The breakfast is the best so much to choose there will be something you like. happy hour is great free food and half priced drunks. i just don't want to go i love the Rome and i love the river place hotel great. i will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adambevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
There are newer reviews for River Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

The best city hotel we have stayed in. Room 102 was very nice. Happy hour 6 to 10 pm 50% off bar bill and free food on the bar! sandwich! sausage rolls and nibbles. All with a smile. The best cocktails we have ever had. The wife wants to go back now. We are retired couple.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lensparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our recent visit to River Palace Hotel, found the staff very accommodating and friendly even helping our friends, who were staying at a different hotel, locate their hotel and provided a map with directions. Rooms were small but very well appointed, bed was comfortable and room was quiet considering we were on the road side of the building. Location was great and an easy walk to Spanish Steps & Trevi Fountain. Happy hour was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

First impression from outside was good once in the reception staff were friendly and accommodating the rooms we booked were superior and we were impressed small but well designed and beautifully decorated a comfortable nights sleep was had. The tv in the room had a vast selection of English sky channels available once i figured out how to work it the breakfast room was impressive great selection of good food and drinks. The car area was comfortable the staff great and happy hour was 6 till 10offering half price drinks and free sandwiches nibbles and pastries compared with my last Roman holiday this is paradise

1  Thank sparksy11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My luggage didn't arrive on the same aircraft as me so we waited until it did. Upon arrival at the hotel the staff expressed concern as they had expected us earlier. Check in was efficient and Francesca took extra time to explain the services of the hotel and provided a map of the City and the local area including some recommendations for nearby restaurants. She several times assured us that the hotel staff are there to help.
Breakfast was delicious, great coffee, and the weather forecast card that is part of the turndown service is a nice touch.f
Our room was upgraded and the bathroom was GORGEOUS.
Happy HOUR with half price drinks and snacks from 6 to 10 pm was generous. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PottsHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Like others mentioned, the room sizes are standard for Europe. That said, the place was very nice. Only two blocks from the walls of Rome and super place to begin and end the day.

Service is wonderful. Decent wi-fi thru out the hotel. Nice selection of channels on the TV including many in English.

Like the bar on-site for that final lemon-cello nigh-cap.

We would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyChicago773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just spent four nights here and we really enjoyed it. The staff are so helpful and are always available to answer any queries. As documented previously the rooms are small - but very clean and to be honest how much time do you spend in the room on a City Break - we just slept and showered. The bar is very popular as they have a 4 hour (Happy Hour) where most of the drinks are half price - we tended to have a couple of drinks before we went out to eat at night - Rome is a definite daytime city as this is the time when everyone is seeing the sights -night time tends to be a drink and a meal then quite early to bed for the next round of jaw dropping sights.

Breakfast time offered plenty of choice hot and cold food, but the regular coffee in the urn is pretty gross - so order a cappuccino which is very good- there is a choice of Twinings Teas and the usual juices and even prosecco if you feel so inclined.

There are a few shops, banks, bars and restaurants within a couple of blocks - Villa Borghese is definitely worth a visit about a 10 min walk through the Piazza de Popolo. Through the Piazza there are the main shops and countless restaurants.

The Metro is a couple of blocks around a 3 min walk from the hotel and we used it every day - we bought a 3 day ticket and we definitely made money on it. If you don't want to use the Metro you are able to walk to some of the sights - The Spanish Steps and the Trevi will take you 15 - 20 mins but it is a nice stroll - just beware of the flower sellers they are VERY persistent.

We were more than happy with our stay at the River Palace Hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,963 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,260 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $121 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing