We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roman Holiday”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Arrived in Rome very tired. We had arranged for the hotel to send a private car to pick us up at the airport. After retrieving our luggage we walked out the door to find Alessandro waiting for us. I can't tell you how great he was. Took us on a short tour of Rome before heading to the hotel. We even made a stop at Aventine Hill. His enthusiasm and passion for his city revived us and got us very excited to be in Rome. It was a great start to our Roman Holiday. The River Palace is in a good location with easy access to transportation. The rooms are small but very nice and clean. Management even had a small bottle of white wine in our room for our Anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2PenceTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just returned from a magical trip to Rome to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We could not fault this hotel - ideally located just across the road from Piazza del Popolo and the Flaminio metro station.

We only actually used the metro for getting to and from Termini when we arrived and departed, as Rome is so beautiful to walk around - we went by foot to everywhere we wanted to visit.

In the hotel we found the staff very attentive and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful and there is something for everyone's tastes. We booked a superior room which was very clean and comfortable; we both slept well despite overlooking the street where the trams run.

A couple of other bonus points - the 4 hour happy hour and free wifi!

Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The breakfast was fantastic with many different options - it was a nice way to start the day. We loved the happy hour offerings. Very convenient location - easy to walk or catch the subway. Accommodations were excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in the Suite Villa Borghese. Welcomed with a bottle of wine and a hand written note from the manageress in our suite as we were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. All staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Worth paying more for the balcony, as after a long day sightseeing in the heat, it was nice to relax with a bottle of wine looking out over Rome. Took a taxi to the Vatican as we had an early start and weren't sure where the office meeting place was but could easily walk to all the sights. Breakfast and Happy hour were excellent. Only have good things to say about River Palace and would definately stay here again but my husband says he will only go back if he can have the Villa Borghese Suite!

Room Tip: Worth paying more for the balcony for the views over Rome especially in nice weather but may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First of all we want to tell about stuff - they are AMAZING!!! Special thanks to Andrea, who helped us alot, Francheska and everybody else!
Great hotel, everything you need and more. Very clean hotel, helpful staff and four hours each night for happy hour is a bonus. Hotel is located in an excellent position within 40minutes walking distance to everything. The breakfast buffet offered lots of options - fruit, yogurt, pastries, breads, cold meats, cheeses, even sparkling wine (!) a hot selection, different types of bread and soya milk. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful. Thank you very much! We will be back!
Don and Olga, USA, were there August 19-24, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. It's in a great location, just far enough away from the action to be quiet, but close enough to walk to everything you'd like to visit. We stayed in a deluxe room, which was an ideal size.
The breakfast buffet offered lots of options - fruit, yogurt, pastries, breads, cold meats, cheeses, a hot selection, different types of bread and soya milk.
Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful.
The happy hour on an evening was a bonus - can recommend the mojitos!

Room Tip: pay more and opt for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great hotel, everything you need and more. Very clean hotel, helpful staff and four hours each night for happy hour is a bonus. Hotel is located in an excellent position within 40minutes walking distance to everything. The only negative was that the shower cubicle was a bit tight but this would not put us off from returning to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JL6763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
2,330 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,068 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,272 in Rome
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing