We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay... Great location..”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is how you would hope when arriving somewhere new. The staff are excellent and more than happy to talk to you in English. You are always greeted with a hello and smile when entering for breakfast. The breakfast is excellent and well catered. It was 40 degree s while we were there and unlike some hotels the air con here worked exception throughout the whole hotel. The location is superb. 2 mins walk to popollo , 10mins to Spanish steps , 15 to trevi. The bars happy hour which goes on for 4 , serves great drinks. Overall , great stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tramar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well we loved this hotel..Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable..happy hour was fantastic with free nibbles...lovely decorated in true Roman style..great taxi service from hotel on demand..the location was ideal.five minutes to Spanish steps..
I left one shoe in my room..My favourite pair...Called hotel and they kindly posted it back to me free of charge...
NOW THAT'S SERVICE FOR YOU!!!!
THANK YOU SO SO MUCH..xxx
If I could give 10stars I would..xx

Room Tip: Rooms are small but very clean and air conditioned.....ask before booking if you require more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livieangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our 18 year old son. All the staff were excellent. Their English was amazing and they were helpful and courteous.

The location was great - we walked to the colosseum and the Vatican although it was 35degrees while we were there. Walking to colosseum takes about 30 mins.
As previously stated the rooms aren't huge but were immaculate.
The bar and happy hour are key selling points! 6 - 10 for happy hour! We would definitely recommend this hotel. Breakfast was good but probably not amazing.
You can use the PC's downstairs for anything, and to check in and then email the reception staff to print out boarding cards.
Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank marysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here with my father in law in June for 4 nights.
First off the hotel is located in a perfect location close to the Piazza de Popolo and the Spanish steps.It is located just a 1 minute walk to the Metro.
Although the rooms are small they are very comfortable,the only thing lacking in the room was a kettle,and you need to take 2 elevators just to get to your room.
The beds were very comfortable.
The shower worked well although the bathroom was tiny.
Happy hour at the hotel was fabulous the drinks were artistic creations on there own and reasonably priced.
Breakfast was very good,and filling, enough to get you through a full day of sight seeing.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my close friends .

Room Tip: Upgrade for a bigger room if size matters as the standard room is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank getcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent a three-day trip to Rome here. It is a very friendly hotel with helpful staff who all spoke excellent English. It is located near to the Piazza del Popolo which has a metro station, but we did not use that as the Spanish Steps, The Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum are all walkable. We also walked to the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel on a different occasion.
The Hotel is put together from two buildings so that it was necessary to travel in one lift from the ground to the first floor, then a short walk to another lift to access the higher floors! Our comfortable room was a fair size with an en-suite bathroom and the air-conditioning worked. I believe that some of the rooms are quite small. Breakfast catered for many nationalities, but do not expect a full English. There is an excellent bar where it is also possible to get a sandwich if you fancy a snack.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsdenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The River Palace was in a very convenient place for sightseeing within walking distance of the main sights . We did catch the tube to the Vatican which was quick and easy . Wish we had researched restaurants nearby more thoroughly before coming as although all the food we had was of good quality it varied greatly in price not always good value. Staff in the hotel very helpful should of asked for help earlier choosing a restaurant . Lovely breakfast and good value drinks in happy hour .Room quite small but comfortable mini bar drinks reasonable . All in all a great hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked direct on their excellent web site and the deals and communication with all our dealings were excellent. We enjoyed wonderful service in a great environment for relaxing after a busy day. The happy hour(s) are sensational value. We would definitely return and recommend others to do the same.

Room Tip: If you can reserve a Junior Suite you will be well rewarded with a larger room and over a few days s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
2,330 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,068 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,272 in Rome
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing