We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good For Business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #57 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good For Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was not looking forward to another hotel in Roma, but thank you to River Palace, they changed my mind. Having been in many hotels in and around Roma, I found this hotel to be the best. Service is always friendly, the staff go out of their way to meet your every need. The rooms are clean well equiped, not big but sufficient for two people. A great presentation for Breakfast, tasty. The location is very central to all necessary transport such as trams, taxis etc. Internet access throughout the hotel. This hotel will be the only hotel for me on my business trips to Roma.

Room Tip: Balcon Rooms give you a little extra space and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    539
    126
    28
    22
See reviews for
296
1,286
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having read the reviews on here before booking in to this hotel we knew the rooms weren't huge, so decided to treat ourselves to the Borghese Suite with an outdoor terrace, and boy was it worth it! If you are staying in Rome for a short break I would seriously recommend this option, especially when the hotel offer specials such as three night for the price of two, which make it more affordable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. We contacted them before our stay to get restaurant recommendations and this allowed us to book dinner every night of our stay before arriving. The restaurants were all excellent - see separate reviews. Breakfast was good and the happy hours in the evening for pre-dinner drinks is not to be missed.
The hotel location was fabulous, very near the Piazza do Poppola and Villa Borghese.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and upgrade to the Borghese Suite with the outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

this is a classy, well decorated, smaller hotel - yet affordable. the location is great. the staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. the breakfast was good, and be sure not to miss the 6 to 10 pm happy hour at the bar! there is no charge for the internet, however during our stay it was problematic and the staff were working on correcting the issue. a written weather report is provided at the turndown service. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

As older and inexperienced travels River Palace Hotel made this trip perfect from time of arrival to check out the staff were so helpful and kind. The position was ideal . Metro a short walk away . Trams very close. Location just down the street from Piazza del Popolo . The room and bath room were small but had every amenity and very clean and although small as a couple we manage well, good air con.,Breakfast one of the best we have had in a Hotel , great choice and again lovely staff on hand.We would return to this Hotel without hesitation as it so helped to make our trip to Rome so memorable. The one minus would be the lifts.A good sized one from ground to first floor you then have to change lift to all floors above one this is very limited in space and can only carry four people which is quite a squeeze it can be guide frustrating first thing in the morning if you are staying on floors 2 to 7 as the wait can be quite long, in saying this it would not put us off this Hotel a small price to pay for otherwise a great Hotel. L&P Smith

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSmith480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very close to Piazza del Popolo giving easy walking routes to a lot of the main attractions. In particular there are a lot of good value restaurants in the area so make sure you wander down some of the side streets.

The hotel is very comfortable and clean, and the staff were always ready to help or offer advice.

Unusually the minibar is actually reasonably priced so we didn't need to fine a local store to pick up some soft drinks.

The bar is very nice with a large array of cocktails and a happy hour that lasts most of the evening.

The rooms are quite small, but I wouldn't expect any different in the centre of a city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The River Palace is the perfect location while visiting Rome. We have stayed there a couple times and were not disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. The rooms are great and very comfortable. The breakfast service is outstanding and delicious. We liked that the Metro is only a half block away so we could jump on that a be anywhere in just a few minutes. There a a myriad of great restaurants close by within walking distance. And who doesn't love people watching in the Piazza del Popolo?
We will definitely be back when we visit Rome again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel has great staff and is in a great location - but as a 4* I was expecting a wee bit of luxury and it was just - ok.

PROS
- Staff are polite and friendly - they even sent up a bottle of wine since it was our honeymoon!
- Breakfasts are great; a good choice
- Location just down the street from the Piazza del Popolo and a tube station
- Great air con; in the middle of the hot Roman summer it was a godsend!
- Bar is great; very comfy, live piano music, friendly bar staff and a great happy hour!

CONS
- Rooms are tiny. Now, I know that a few reviews here have already said that the normal rooms were small so we booked a deluxe since it was our honeymoon. It seemed to be the same story; you couldn't fit two people around the bed and the shower was uncomfy; it was like a glass coffin.
- Lifts are annoying: we were on the 4th floor and we had to get two lifts up; one to the 1st floor and then the tiniest lift in the world to the 4th; you can maybe fit 3 people without luggage in there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRiverHotels, Direttore generale at River Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

thank you for your latest review. We are very glad that the staff and the service met your expectation. We offer to any of our guest an Happy "Hour" (it last 4 hours from 6 pm to 10 pm) with 50% off from any drink (champagne excluded). We are very glad to hear that you took advantage from this special offer. On the other hand we are sorry that you found the room and the lift on the small side. Unfortunately the elevator from floor 1 to floor 8 is small (it can fit up to 4 people with no luggage). If this might be annoying you please let us know. Our staff welcomes any suggestion and is ready to solve any disputes concerning room assignment. We are more than pleased to change room and assign a new room on lower floor.
Should you need any further assistance please feel free to contact me any time.

Michele Scandellari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#36 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dharma
Hotel Dharma
#54 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#25 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 3,589 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#69 of 1,285 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing