We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Hotel”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at The River Palace on our honeymoon. It was beautifully decorated throughout, spotlessly clean and the staff were extremely helpful and polite. We were wecomed and made to feel very special throughout our stay and the doorman was kind enough to deliver us extra pillows, a european adaptor plug and a daily weather report along with chocolates. Happy hour was excellent value and the breakfast choice was very extensive. Tip: unless you are a small couple, upgrade to a room higher than standard as they are quite small. We are very glad that we did and then we enjoyed a lovely, large bed and both a bath and a shower. Well located for metro links and walking distance to pretty much every attraction. A special holiday that we will always remember.

Room Tip: Upgrade rooms as standards are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spag734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our belated honeymoon in May 2013. We booked the hotel through Citalia after it was recommended by one of their reps. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel owing to its great location and excellent service. The rooms are small (but this is expected in Rome!) but lovely, and very clean. There were lots of nice touches, from a bottle of wine delivered when we arrived, to the turn down service complete with handwritten weather forecast. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, and the happy hour in the bar is brilliant - half price drinks, including cocktails, and lots of little nibbles. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gedinburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The primary reason for staying at this hotel is location. An easy walk (10 minutes) to Trevi Fountain/Spanish Steps, other sites as well as shopping. Public transportation is close as well.
Coliseum and Vatican is a 20-30 minute walk away. Our room was on the street side and noisy. Although there is a closet, you still have to live out of a suitcase. My only negative was that the bed was like sleeping on cement! Staff was helpful. Breakfast a delight!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the street side and ask for a comfortable bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with top notch guest services and a great location, walking distance to the metro (3 minutes max) and to many of the most famous sites, such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, etc., (a bit longer walk but doable). From the outside, you hardly notice the hotel, but once through the entryway, you enter a lovely lobby with attentive staff and a calming, beautiful atmosphere. We asked for a quiet room, b/c I'm very sensitive to noise, and were very satisfied with our room which faced a courtyard. We arrived too early to check in, but we felt very comfortable leaving our bags and go out exploring. Upon our return, the bell staff had already delivered our luggage to our room. The room was comfortable, climate controlled, big enough for our large suitcases and had lots of amenities. The hotel offers free wi-fi throughout the building and desktop computers in the lobby for guests to use, a delicious, complimentary breakfast with cappuccino and a nice selection of food and pastries. Best of all, is the front desk staff, who is pleased to help you with everything you could possible ask for. They even arranged a "box breakfast" for us to take to the airport on the morning of our departure (we had to leave before breakfast was served). We were very pleased with our experience at this hotel and would return there without hesitation. Staying here enhanced the wonderful experience we had in Rome.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TehdeeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've spent four nights at the River Palace, two nights in two different rooms. Initially, the wifi was down - no biggie as that got fixed by the following morning. And then there was the missing TV remote. Again, we're not in Rome to watch TV, but it's nice to have when relaxing after all day out walking. However, the main issue was that the air conditioning wasn't working properly, and so by night three, at 11:30pm (23:30), we were moved to a second room. To clarify, the staff has been extremely helpful, and has done everything to make things right. The rooms are clean, nicely, though not luxuriously appointed. Full breakfast is just that, with a nice assortment of hot and cold dishes. The bar offers free snacks during happy hour, also a nice touch. And it's conveniently located just off Piazza del Popolo, near the Metro station.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned from Rome and stayed at the River Palace for 3 nights. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in an excellent position for getting about, and the Metro is at the bottom of the street. We had a deluxe room which was beautiful and plenty big enough for us, as a lot of the reviews say the rooms are small which we did not find with ours.

As there are so many places to eat, just be careful as some are not that nice. We found an amazing place just up a street from the Trevi Fountain and it's called LIFE. You really to make a reservation to guarantee a table in the evening, it's that good! Give it a go, the food and service are top dolllar.

We would go back to the River Palace tomorrow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biscuitqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is a lovely, charming hotel that is within walking distance to many of Rome's top sites and close to the metro for those a little further a field. It feels a bit hidden away which is nice to return to after a busy day in Rome!

The hotel is decorated lovely, possibly not to everyones tastes (we had a very strange picture in our room!) but it is impeccably clean and has that comfortable feel to it.

The rooms, as mentioned before, are not the biggest, but in reality if your in Rome then you should only use your room as a base before going out at exploring.
The room had a tv (with sky) mini bar and snacks (payable), airconditioning and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was beautifully decorated, had a hairdryer and the shower always was powerful with a constant supply of hot water.

The maid was brilliant, she managed to time her visits for when we were at breakfast so we weren't disturbed and came back to a lovely clean room. On an evening the maid came back to turn down the sheets, she also left a little note advising us of the weather the next day and a chocolate :)

Breakfast was great. There was an excellent range of choices to suit everyones needs - it was the first time I've had a doughnut for breakfast!! I can't remember the timings of breakfast, but I remember thinking how good the timings were and you had plenety of time to get down there and have a very relaxing breakfast.

The staff there are fantastic. They were happy to print tickets out for us when we ordered them online to avoid the queues and were happy to translate webpages if we weren't sure. They always greated you with a smile and were happy to chat. You got the feeling that they actually enjoyed working there.

There is a nice bar area, drinks we found were very reasonably priced - especially during happy hour.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepychaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,308 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,414 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,272 in Rome
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,272 in Rome
2,565 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing