We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Truly a great spot to stay when going to Rome. Staff are friendly, rooms and the rest of the hotel is neat and very pretty, the bar area is very comfy with tasty bar snacks during happy hour. The hotel is situated perfectly to walk to the major sites, or to use the metro station. We really enjoyed our stay in the Italian hotel which has, without a doubt, the best breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuanS475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    603
    134
    29
    22
See reviews for
348
1,434
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very near to all the main attractions and designer shops. Hotel staff could not of been more helpful, very good service. Rooms are small (we had a deluxe room) but you would be hard pushed to find a large room in Rome. The mini bar is cheaper for water than by the main sites! The buffet style Breakfast is great with a lot of choice hot or cold. The happy hour is 6-10 with a wide range of cocktails, wines and beers. This was our first time in Rome and was made better by having a great hotel to stay in every night. Would recommend this hotel and I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodsmokebbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had the most amazing stay at The River Palace and will definitely be going back. The staff went out of their way to accommodate your every whim and could not have been more pleasant. Giorgio in particular made us feel very welcome and is an amazing asset to the hotel- he is a fountain of knowledge so if you want any advise ask him. Upon arrival Giorgio at reception checked us in giving us a map of the area and highlighted key touristy spots and walking distances to each. Freddy the porter then took our luggage to our room. (The lift is small and quirky so don't think it would all fit at once!). The rooms are compact but have everything that you need including a safe which is free of charge. A nice touch at 7pm every evening is a card delivered to your room with the next days weather report so that you can plan your day in advance. If you are out of your room it is left on the bed with chocolates and the curtains are pulled. Everyone at the hotel goes to the bar for happy hour (6:30-10pm) which is nice and sociable, the sofas make it a nice relaxed area and there are always nibbles on the bar for everyone to help themselves to free of charge. The cocktails are made with such flair by the bar staff, there is no measuring here so be prepared to feel a bit squiffy when you finally get up to go back to your room! Breakfast staff were always bright and bubbly and happy to make coffees whilst guests helped themselves to the vast array of food on offer. You will not leave hungry. An amazing trip, couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridieB250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked our trip through easyjet city breaks,we were checked in by Rebecca who was very pleasant and helpful,we had room 601 it was compact but spotlessly clean,had a good range of toiletries and also 2 apples which was a nice touch.Each evening they delivered a weather forecast for the following day and some free chocolates.
At breakfast there was so much choice with a great selection of pastries (pity I'd given up for lent).
The half price bar in the evening was fantastic,had to try a couple of cocktails each evening,and the port and brandy for 2 or 3 euros each was a great buy.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is great we walked everywhere.
the only negative I found was twice we ordered tea and coffee in the bar and they were only Luke warm,but after I mentioned it we were given a hot drink.
would like to return to Rome and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oggyoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our first trip to Rome and after a lot of research we landed on River Palace hotel as the standard and reviews were miles better than most other hotels.
A week before arriving, we were asked to move to the sister hotel River Chateau.
Looking back, this was no bother at all. In fact, the stay was perfect right from the beginning.

The River Hotel company sent a private driver who picked us up in a new Mercedes. They upgraded our first night to a Deluxe room and the remaining nights to Superior. They also transferred our luggage from River Chateau to River Palace, so we could roam around on our own.

The service at this hotel was simply excellent - by far the best service I have ever experienced at any hotel. Everyone were really friendly and helpful with any request - small or big.

Location is everything you can ask for. It is perfectly situated within walking distance from Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Via del Corso, restaurants, shops, etc. You can also walk to Colosseum (although we took a bus). We did walk from the Vatican to the hotel though.

All in all: Highly recommended. Make sure you book at one of the River hotels during your next visit!

Room Tip: Got upgraded to superior room and deluxe room. The superior room had a fairly small bathroom, but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieabroad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the River Palace Hotel. From the moment we arrived, the staff of the hotel was excellent. Our luggage was lost by the airline and the hotel called two to three times daily checking on the status with the airline and airport. The staff also was very helpful in setting reservations for some things as well as just giving us advice on where to go in the city. They really want to ensure that you have a great stay and are very friendly. This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Rome so you are within walking distance of many of the sites. While our room was small, it was nicely done and very clean. The hotel offers a nightly happy hour with free appetizers and half price drinks, as well as a large breakfast buffet. We will stay at this hotel again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the River Palace hotel very much. The staff was nice and welcoming. Our room was nice and clean. The morning buffet was very good and the bar was a cozy place to start out before going out for dinner. All of Romes main attractions where within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,093 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing