We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros: Helpful staff, good cocktails, quiet room (street facing on 7th floor), wifi in rooms
Cons: Most uncomfortable bed ever, bad tea and coffee, location

On arrival we were offered an upgrade. On checking out both the classic and deluxe rooms we originally opted to stay in the classic which was tiny and only had a shower. After 5 minutes of lying on the hard and lumpy bed I phoned reception and was told that all the beds are the same standard. All we could do was upgrade and get a bigger bed so we paid the upgrade. The bed was still hard and lumpy but was a 5 foot wide bed rather than 4.6. The decor in the hotel is getting quite old and tired.

The hotel is in the north of the city and if you are a tourist it was quite a walk to anywhere but it was close to the metro.

The hotel is a weird layout, you have to take 2 lifts to go anywhere above the first floor. There are stairs which we did use a few times as the second lift only takes a max of 4 people but we were told it was for fires only.

The breakfast was good of its type, cheese, salmon, ham, sausages, bacon, cereal, fresh fruit, prosecco! The downside was the coffee which was pretty vile, and the water didn't get hot enough to brew tea.

Overall, it was a nice hotel but the beds were so awful I wouldn't stay there again.

Tourist tip: Make sure you have a wee before leaving the hotel as public toilets are rare in Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor facing the street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leafyshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    583
    132
    29
    22
See reviews for
333
1,395
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very easy to find, right by the metro and very well situated in the city. A friendly guy checked us in, showed us the main attractions on a map and a porter took our luggage up to our room. The breakfast is good, there's no restaurant though! Although, the bar does have a happy hour between 6pm-10pm where ALL drinks (except coffees) are half price! And they also provide plenty of bar snacks - great sandwiches!

I smoke, so was in and out, but the reception staff were always there to say bongiorno! And were always very helpful when we asked for directions/recommendations. And the cleaning staff were excellent! The room was immaculate every time, and they leave out little chocolates for bed time :-)

My only gripe would be our Superior room was a bit small! The bathroom was very pokey. But it was all very clean and well presented.

I would recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stay away from this one. I wrote a review and Trip Advisor would not publish it according to their guidelines if a certain allegation is alleged concerning other reviews. I booked this place because of ALL the good reviews and figured the bad ones were just whiners. I couldn't understand WHY there were not a lot other bad reviews being posted. NOW I KNOW!! I should of known when I arrived at the hotel and found 3 different parties at the front desk complaining about something ...I paid no mind (my fault!). They brought me to my room and I thought they made a mistake! Nope! I asked for a bigger room (larger than the 8'6'' x 8'6''). They showed me another room 1 foot larger for an extra 20 euros a night. The double bed took up more room than the 32" x 75" bed that I ended up getting, but left barely no room to get around in. The bed was hard as a rock and every morning I awoke with a severe back ache. Not to mention the 2' thick walls with no insulation in which you can hear every word my neighbor was saying. They were not speaking loud either. As I stayed here (they would not refund the money- why would they!) I noticed that every guest I met had a disgusted look on their face because of this hotel. The hotel computer was crowded with people looking for other hotels and willing to lose their money just to get away! The breakfast was terrible, stale pastries. Stay away from here! If you think I'm just a whiner ....then when you get there ask to see the room before you sign anything! Otherwise once you sign in you lose ALL of your money if you choose not to stay as I KNOW you will not want to stay.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else but here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hvactech_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broendby, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having booked the new year deal - we arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a serviceminded staff. After checking in, the receptionist took out a map and gave us directions to all major attractions and a good hint of the walking distance to each. Right away you feel the perfect location of the hotel close to inner city and the metro. We also received a great guidebook in english.
We got a room on the 1st floor which was okay, size was fine and bathroom with shower also fine. Spending a few nights there reveals a lot of different sounds, most annoying was the almost constant sound of running water from the ceiling and the tram outside the window
Breakfast is the standard buffet kind, but gives you a good basis for a day of sightseeing, very weird that the plates wasn't changed during breakfast, we had to ask for a change of the plates after eggs and sausages.
There is no restaurant in the hotel but a nice bar with a long happy hour where there are plenty of snacks and antipasti to keep you going.
Friendly staff all the way through our 4 nights stay over the new year, and good value for money but more 3 big stars than 4 !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fru_jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Situated just about 100 meters from plazza del popolo (which has a metro station), 20 minutes walking from Trevi funtain, this hotel was a really good quality for price and the personnal was very nice. The only weakness is that the room was a bit small, which was no major problem as you do not go to Rome to stay in your hotel room.
The breakfast buffet was really appreciable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romsoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed here during christmas (booked through expedia) and we were extremely impressed during our visit.

The hotel is ideally located by the piazza de popallo with an entrance to the villa borgese (excuse my spellings) and streets that lead directly to the vatican (35min walk), spanish steps (15-20 mins walk max), Trevi fountain (15mins walk) and colesseum (40mins walk max) or with the metro 5mins walk from the hotel.

The staff spoke fluent english at the hotel and were extremely friendly, pointing out ideal eating/drinking spots and showing us the easiest way around the city. Each day a maid visited our room with a card informing us of the weather for the next day and a sweet each (lovely touch!)

We paid for a deluxe room (treating ourselves at christmas) and although it was on the small size, the decor and painted ceiling certainly impressed us. The bed mattress was slightly on the hard side and our room had the usual accessories; slippers, dressing gowns, mini bar, toiletries (for bidet too), sky TV (extra charge for sports and films) etc. However there was no tea and coffee facilities. If travelling with children, beware of the windows as there seem to be no safety devices ( don't know what the safety regulations are in italy) and the windows open fully wide onto the street (not very safe on the high floors).

The help yourself breakfast in the morning was amazing! (Served from half 6 to half 10). There was an extensive choice of meats and cheeses, cereal, fruit, fresh pastries, etc. There was also fruit juices and tea and coffee urns with the staff making specialty coffee drinks if requested.

Each evening between 6-10pm is happy hour in the bar with all drinks (exc champagne) being half price with nibbles free of charge. This was a lovely comfy area to have a drink, but it got rather busy during our stay so was hard to get a seat.

We would advise any tourists like ourselves who are visiting Rome during christmas that there is no need to book any resturants (this includes christmas day) as there are plenty of places to eat, especially around the trevi fountain. Also make sure that if you are sight seeing christmas day/ Eve make sure you visit the vatican early on (closed christmas day) as the sistine chapel closed 1:30pm christmas Eve. Also the hard rock cafe closed early on christmas Eve at 4:30pm.

If we do visit Rome in the future, we are sure to stay in the River Palace hotel again as it is a lovely hotel with great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 0801126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 5 mins away from the piazza popollo it is beautiful and very ornate. The staff all speak very good English as well as other languages. The rooms are small but how much room do you need to sleep. Breakfast provides something for everyones taste. There is a happy hour which lasts from 6 till 10 and there are nibbles on the bar. The location is ideal to walk to most if not all of the main attractions and they provide free WiFi in your room. Loved staying here will come again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing