We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value, great staff, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good value, great staff, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012 for five nights (fifth night is free) Staff were excellent - fluent in many languages. We could walk pretty much anywhere from the hotel (boy and we did!)

Breakfast included and was excellent.

Recommend you book a junior suite or even room 801 (has a lovely balcony) if your budget permits.

Room Tip: Take 801 if you can - it's terrific - only one like it in the whole hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    583
    132
    29
    22
See reviews for
333
1,395
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our first trip to Italy and the River Palace was the first hotel we stayed at. They set a high standard and we could not have been more pleased. The room was clean and comfortable. Everyone at the front desk was courteous and extremely helpful when we needed assistance or questions answered. The breakfast was bountiful, the wait and kitchen staff were excellent. The location very near the gate to the Piazza del Popolo and public transportation made for a very enjoyable and memorable visit to Rome. The entire organization is to be commended.

Room Tip: Even though the rooms seem small, don't go to Rome and stay in your room. It's to SLEEP in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The River Palace Hotel is conveniently located in an older building close to the Piazza del Popolo and we stayed here six nights in September 2012.
Access to trains, trams, buses and subway is easy from this location. Many of Rome's important buildings parks and piazzas are well within walking distance.
One major quirk of the hotel is that two elevators are required to transport guests beyond the first floor (second for North Americans). We ended up taking the stairs up to the second elevator and walking down from the fifth floor.
The rooms themselves are nicely furnished with tasteful ceiling murals and top quality drapes and bedding. Ours, a 'Superior room' on the fifth floor overlooked the street and was smaller than we would have liked. It had a wardrobe with folding mirrored doors that opens awkwardly into the bed. There is a writing desk and chair but you really have to be well organized and keep everything in its place in order to be comfortable in the room.
We had a shower / bath combination with a swinging glass door that seemed unable to prevent water from soaking the floor.
The air-conditioning system worked well and was quiet. Power outlets, lighting etc, require that the room key is placed in a receptacle by the door. We found this out when our charging devices seemed to take forever to charge phones, iPads etc. We discovered that any card will work and used an old library card for the duration.
A welcome feature is the complimentary wi-fi which worked quite well in most parts of the room.
Happy hour stretches four hours from 6pm and guests gather in the bar to chat, nibble on the free snacks and enjoy the half-priced drinks. The barman is attentive and friendly.
In the evening, if you are out, a maid will turn down the bed, close the drapes and leave delicious fruit pastilles. If you are in, you just get handed the pastilles. By coincidence (or not) we seemed to be caught in the room most days.
Breakfast is in a small room on the first floor and is buffet style with a large selection of cereals, breads, cheeses, scrambled eggs etc. You can ask the staff for a cappuccino or other specialty coffee. As in the rooms, space is at a premium with tables quite close together.
Front desk and bell staff are efficient, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: A first floor room would eliminate need to take the second elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a slight hiccup on checking in where the hotel had been overbooked and they did not have a room for us. They then paid for us to take a taxi to their sister hotel across the river, River Chateau (just for one night, the next two we were back in the River Palace). While not really great when the room had been booked months in advance, these things happen so we chose to see it as a chance to see another part of the city, over by Stadio Olympico so was fine. I wouldn't have wanted to stay there the whole time as it is significantly further out of the city, although I have to say it was handled very well by the staff.
Back to the River Palace and it was a very good stay. Rooms very clean, nice bed, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Wifi worked fine for us apart from peak time (4-6pm) but that is typical of most hotels in my experience. Breakfast was one of the best in our 6 week Europe trip.
Location was great - we didn't use public transport at all, just walked everywhere.
Only minor gripe apart from the unplanned detour was that you have to pay "per event" for sky - haven't seen this before or since in any other hotel, so if you want to watch a football game it will cost you seven euro, or you can go out.
Would definitely stay here again.
One last thing - happy hour is great for a few drinks before heading out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megs_TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recently stayed at River Palace prior to embarking on a Mediterranean cruise. The hotel is very well located & very pleasant & comfortable. Their breakfast, which was part of our room package, was outstanding. That from me is meaningful since breakfast is my favorite meal. The bar & adjacent public area was delightful & inviting.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGMoyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in mid September for 3 nights, room 505, twin. The hotel is just "behind" the Piazza del Popolo. We walked everywhere in town, all major tourist sights including the Vatican. We are not jogggers, etc. and our ages are mid 50's to early 60's -- and walking wasn't a problem for us!
BEST THING WE DID WAS HAVE THE HOTEL ARRANGE FOR ALESSANDRO MARCONI TO PICK US UP AT THE AIRPORT AND DELIVER US TO THE HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He was a wonderful introduction to Rome - gave us a mini tour and pointers on how to walk around and find landmarks to avoid being lost.

As others have said, the rooms are small. But more than adequate for a "home base". The air conditioner was powerful. The free computer/internet/wifi downstairs was very helpful. The staff was more than accommodating -- never failed to smile, offer advise, etc.

The breakfast was the best of the 3 hotels we stayed in Italy. Some "american" food; tons of pastries, cheeses and meats. Hot eggs and coffee.

Room Tip: Have Alessandro Marconi meet you at the airport and drive you to the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsSophiemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Overall, we thought the hotel was in a great location with an amazing breakfast, and pleasant staff. The one problem I did encounter was when we arrived at the hotel, our room wasnt ready, so they offered to store our luggage in a holding room and deliver it to our room later. We did not return to our room til much later that eve after touring the city. I didnt notice until the next day, my cashmere sweater that I placed over my carry on was missing. I immediately reported it to the desk and they said they would speak to the bell hop in the morning. It was never found. That was very disappointing. I did feel assured that I always keep my luggage locked when I leave the room, regardless of where I stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angionurse166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,985 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing