We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time well spent”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent quite a long time looking for a good place to stay in Rome. That spent time certainly paid off when we decided to use the River Palace Hotel.
We cruise a lot and this stay was only for one night but we were greeted and dealt with as though we were staying for a month. The attention was excellent and we were in our room in a very short while.
The position of this hotel is also excellent, away from the madding crowds but close enough to most sites to highly suitable. We had a little trouble deciding which restaurant to use because the choice was large and varied. We used a side street venue called Al Vantaggio and enjoyed wine, food and atmosphere.
The hotel offers a Happy Hour which in fact lasts for most of the evening. Many guests used it and conversation and beverage flowed.
The rooms, quite large for Rome, were good, clean, tidy and well equipped with all you really need and the bathroom toiletries were of a high standard. Plenty of towels and hot water.
Breakfast was exceptionally good for Rome and there was a wide selection, no one should go away hungry or unsatisfied.
The porterage was excellent and we were called when our car arrived and waved goodbye.
We will be back for a longer stay having found a gem where so much false jewellery exists.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pruneface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
There are newer reviews for River Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was excellent all around. The internet worked in the room, the staff were helpful and their tips on where to shop were bang on. The breakfast was beyond excellent, the most selection we had seen and always being replenished. The rooms were clean and airconditioned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IainWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We loved this beautiful hotel close to the Plaza del Popolo. Subway/tram stops were just 2 blocks away, and the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps were about a 15 minute walk. The rooms are small, but very elegant. The "Hours of Happiness" in the downstairs bar had finger foods and half price drinks. Breakfast was exceptional. Front desk was very helpful. Can we say more??? A great place at a good price for downtown Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I concur with the other recent reviews. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. The rooms were extremely clean and well air conditioned. The breakfast was fantastic and the location was great. We were only in Rome for 2 days, but didn't find any great restaurants near the hotel. The last day we found a great outside cafe Mauri Pizzeria on Via Germanico & Via Ottaviano. I'd stay here again if ever had the chance.

Room Tip: The shower was TINY with only a half glass door, so the floor was constantly wet while showering.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the River Palace during the middle of July - we were worried about the heat and the crowds, and both were evident in Rome, but we had our little oasis to come back to each night. This hotel is, as others have said, a small one with very small rooms - but they are beautifully appointed and have great A/C. The breakfasts are amazing (artichokes to potato rosti to the standard cereals, "stickies" and so on - something for every taste. The happy hour bar is also a good deal and has many munchies and is a wonderful place to meet people. The real treasure of the hotel, though is the location and the staff. The location is just a couple of hundred yards from the Piazza del Popolo - a super place to be dropped off when touring Rome. There is also an excellent casual restaurant (the Cafe de Popolo) half a block away, and the Metro runs right in front of the Hotel - superb. The staff at this hotel though are among the best guest service personnel I've ever experienced and I have worked in the business. Rebecca and Tatiana on the front desk could not have been more helpful, and all the staff did everything they could to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All staff spoke to us any time we encountered them and the ladies on the front desk helped with tours, transportation and other recommendations. This has to be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at in terms of helpfulness and knowledge-sharing of the staff. Well done, and I would heartily recommend the River Palace to anyone (and already have!)

Room Tip: The rooms are very small, so large suitcases and other items have to be stowed carefully, but the cl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have to start by saying that the River Palace is in a great location right near Piazza del Popolo and to great shopping and restaurants. The rooms even if they are extremely small are very clean and had everything you would need to make your stay enjoyable. The happy hour was fantastic and we had the best drinks during our week in Rome at the hotel. Breakfast was good as mentioned I think in all the reviews, sometimes we ate enough that we weren't hungry until later on in the afternoon.

The reason why I mention that we had a dark cloud during our stay is because they informed us as soon as we arrived that they had no room for us at the hotel and that we had to move into a different hotel due to over booking. I informed them that this was unacceptable since we booked back in January and I had reconfirmed that previous week for a pickup service and they never mentioned that it would be a problem. This was our 10 year wedding anniversary and we left, for the first time, our two daughters to make our anniversary a special one. We had our heart set on the River Palace so they finally said they would do something to help us out. They finally came back saying that it was okay to stay but it ruined our stay to some extent.

I would love to stay at this hotel again or to recommend it to others but because of what happened I wouldn’t feel confident.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for in Rome - a small hotel, close to everything. Like mentioned in previous posts the happy hour was a great value and the mini bar also had very good prices. The business center was nice because the wifi did not work in our room, only in the common areas. However we did have a major drawback when staying there. When we checked, we were told that they had overbooked the hotel for 2 out of 4 nights of our stay. We were moved to a hotel in a completely different part of town! The hotel was not as nice as the river palace and was not an area we wanted to stay in. While the hotel did pay for our taxi back and forth, we were extremely disappointed that we could not stay at this hotel for our entire stay. I had even emailed the hotel the week before our stay to confirm our confirmation and they had verified my reservation! Also the street that this hotel is on was not well lit at night. Again, while were there we enjoyed the hotel but moving to another hotel was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,963 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,260 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $121 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing