We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fanstastic staff”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Like most people visiting this site I trawled through many hotels before settling on the River Palace. I stayed for 4 nights and loved every minute of my trip. The hotel is ideally located for the Metro and only moments away from the Piazza del Poppolo. Within a 10 minute stroll you can visit the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The Colusseum is about 25 mins walk or can be reached via the Metro. The River Palace hotel is a fantastic place to stay and the staff are extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast is a food extravaganza with a great selection from fresh muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses and many hot items - there was even bucks fizz if you wanted it! The cleanliness and attention to detail made the stay very enjoyable and I would definately stay here again if I were to go back to Rome. I was in a deluxe twin room which featured slippers and big comfy bathrobes. A card detailing the weather for the next day was waiting for us on our beds at night along with little sweets ... what a nice touch. It was very hot during our stay and thankfully the room had air conditioning - it was positioned at the back of the hotel overlooking residential apartments so it was nice and quiet. The room was nicely decorated and featued a flat screen TV which had the option to choose programmes in English if you wanted it. Happy hour was popular with guests (between 18.30 and 22.30) and the sandwiches available in the bar were very reasonable and tasty. Don't look any further than the River Palace hotel if you are planning to visit Rome - you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: If you like a little bit of extra comfort - slippers, bathrobes etc - upgrade to a superior room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
There are newer reviews for River Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,572 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 4 nights, in celebration of our silver wedding anniversary. On arrival, we were told that our superior room would not be available until the following day, so we stayed in a classic room that night. It was small, but absolutely beautiful, and the sun flowed in across the roof tops straight onto our bed ( and toilet- fab view!!) We were compensated with 20euros in the bar, and an equally beautiful, but large room the next day! The staff were all so friendly and professional, and the breakfast was the best ever! It was perfectly situated to visit all the historic sites, on foot, as long as you are pretty fit! The Pincio Gardens above the impressive Piazza de Popolo was very restful, and the Icecreams are out of this world! We would highly recommend The River Palace Hotel, and look forward to hopefully returning one day.Also, the driver Allesandro was brilliant- what a passionate, typical italian man!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessak19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The hotel is ideally placed (in a nice area of the City) for all of Rome's key sites, being only two minutes walk from the Piazza del Poppolo and the Via del Corso - the nearest Metro is two minutes walk, the Vatican and Collesium 20 to 25 minutes walk in opposite directions. The staff were brilliant. The bedroom was well decorated, compact as you would expect of most city hotels, but with a sizable bathroom, flat screen TV and good air conditioning. The buffet breakfast included in our rate was served 0630 to 1030 and was very extensive, including homemade cakes and Proseco! A real bonus was the evening happy hour - 1800 to 2200 drinks were half price in the hotel bar, a good way to start or finish the evening. I booked a few months in advance via Expedia and the rate was very reasonable. Look no further than this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I loved everything about this hotel – the location close to Borghese and other attractions, steps away from Flaminio subway station, the spacious room, complimentary water and fruit, excellent breakfast (I loved their) homemade biscuits), and the friendly and helpful reception staff. They made our stay in Rome unforgettable. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed at the River Palace Hotel with my wife for my 50th birthday. The hotel was excellent, the staff were helpful and superb and Rome was stunning. Much has already been said so I will try and not repeat everything.

One of the best things we did was to arrange a taxi via the Hotel, you simply supply your flight times and they arrange everything for you. Its €55 pick up to hotel (to cover parking) and €50 return. No advanced payments and the driver is waiting for you in arrivals with a card clearly displaying your name. Alessandro Marconi (hope the spelling is correct) was our driver both ways; he was excellent and gave us a mini guided tour of Rome on the way to the hotel which later proved to be invaluable and saved us a lot of time and effort. He is not over the top and you are not expected to pay any extra for his mini tour; he does it because he is wants to help and is proud of his job and of Rome.

Using some of the detail from Alessandro and some from the very kind reception staff at the hotel, you can use my following information to get you started.. We walked everywhere, there are good transport links but we did not need them.

I’ll try and remember the cost of things and indicate below. We had no need for ‘guided tours’; they can be expensive and do not always beat the queues. Directions and articles in the sights are well signed and explained in English.

Here we go....

Step out of the hotel and turn right, you will see a big arch ahead of you - Picture 1 (2 min walk), cross the main road and walk under the arch and you are now in the Piazza Del Popolo.

As you pass under the arch and enter the Popolo, visit the church on the left – Santa Maria Del Popello which featured in a Dan Brown book!? – Picture 2.

Look across the Piazza (past the Egyptian obelisk and fountain) and you will see three (3) roads separated by two (2) apparently identical churches with large domes, Picture 3

The road to the left (1st) takes you to the Spanish Steps (free), Trevi Fountain (free). We then visited the Pantheon (free), Piazza Novona (free) etc.

The middle road (2nd) takes you to the Colosseum*, Faro Romano* (ruins) and Monte Palatino*.
(* joint ticket €12 – get your tickets at Faro Romano – less queues!)

The road to the right (3rd) takes you to Saint Angelo’s Castle (€5), St Peters Church (free), Cupola (this is up into the dome at St Peters, 600 + steps! - €5 all steps, €7 a few less steps as you can use an elevator to avoid some) Vatican Museum which includes Sistine Chapel (€15).

There is lots more to see and do and it is all covered in other reviews.

Just to round off, we had the classic (small) room and it was fine, we were offered a reduced upgrade but did not need it. We had nothing to complain about, and the breakfast is yummy! The half price ‘happy 4 hour’ drinks and free food at the bar (mentioned in other reviews) is great value for money.

We will return to Rome and to this hotel!

Room Tip: The small (classic) room was fine.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I'd highly recommend this hotel for its safe, easy location and wonderful service. 4.5 stars

Location: While the hotel was a bit north of various historical sites, it is extremely close to Piazza Popolo, Villa Borghese, and right at the top of the three main roads (Via Corso) that leads to all the places. Also, the hotel is right next to the Metro and tram. From the hotel, we had walked to the Vatican & St Castel (20 to 30 min walk). We felt safe and the hotel was in the vicinity of many wonderful restaurants (5 to 10 min walk). Also, there's a great little grocery store around the corner where you can pick up cheap sandwiches for 2-3 euros each.

Service: All the hotel concierge personnel were professional, spoke excellent English, and provided great service. They were able to provide assistance to questions we had about the area, different tourist sites, transportation, restaurant recommendations, etc. Our rooms were kept cleaned by the housekeepers .

Rooms: Our room was a queen room (ie two doublebeds pushed together) with a desk and a small closet. A bit on the small side but enough space for two people. The bathroom was clean and showers ran great. The room also had a working tv (some English channels).

Other: Hotel had free wifi in the rooms or you can use their computers in the lobby. Additional, the hotel provide a happy hour from 6-10pm (half price off all drinks.) This was a great place to grab a drink before heading out to dinner and there usually was a crowd of the hotel guests creating a fun ambience. The servers were nice and served diligently.

Overall, we'd stay here again for the service, location, and amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvToTravelGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to a 7 day stay in Tuscany and found the location to be excellent, the rooms very small ( literally 10ft by 10 ft with bathroom about 4 by 7 ft) very clean and beautifully decorated with a wonderful breakfast. Our plan was to stay for another night on our way back, but when we arrived, Christian told us that a mistake had been made with our reservation and did not have a room for us. He arranged for is to have a room at the Hotel Lucarno, which was dirty and shabby, with a bathroom with cracked tile with obvious black mold, chipped paint and a shower that was so dirty that I wouldn't consider stepping into without slippers. Our reservation was made 7 months in advance and was reconfirmed one week prior. We felt like we were really taken advantage of and will tell our AAA travel agent to avoid this hotel in the future.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,965 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,260 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $121 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing