We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon trip. The location of this hotel is perfect for siteseeing. Part of the charm of Rome is being able to walk to most attractions.

We received an upgraded 'celebration package' since we were on our honeymoon and it included a pickup upon arrival by their driver from the train station which we found extremely helpful. As part of the package, we also received a complimentary cocktail and dinner for two at their restaurant Ziro. While the service was impeccable, the food was just average. The package included a free upgrade to a double room with king bed which was very clean and adequate. The bathroom was gorgeous. The breakfast each morning was outstanding. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basia-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,070 - 2,076 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2007

Great location....one minute walk from Piazza del Popolo; 10 minute walk from Spanish Steps; great shopping streets (Corso)....clean....extremely friendly and helpful staff....free internet....very small room (607).....the size of my bathroom (literally)......we paid 260 euro for one night ($327 Canadian)....arranged for a private car with the hotel to bring us to airport for 60 Euro (very reliable service). Try for a larger room and it's a great hotel to consider.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gigi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Great Location, right off of the subway. Very Close to Spanish steps. Delicious breakfast included with fresh pastries and a wide variety of juices, breads, cereals, fruits. Reception was very helpful and honest, made great recommendations. Treated us like celebrity clients - very warm and accomodating. Free internet. Room was nice and bathroom was modern, but very small - too be expected for a large city on a small budget. Lobby area was beautiful.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank adriananyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Luckily we booked this hotel despite a terrible photo in the Holiday House brochure. When you pull up, you may be a bit dismayed by the look of the building and the neighborhood, but hang in there because this place and the location is great. The hotel is very clean and well cared for. Rooms are a good size, quiet and and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Special kudos to Diana at the front desk, but everyone was wonderful. Continental breakfasts were good, with lots of pastries for those with a sweet tooth.

The location is unbelievable as you are one block from the Piazza Poppola, and the Center of Rome. The Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, the Coliseum, amazing churches and good restaurants are all within walking distance.

There are lots of very good restaurants as you wander the center of Rome. But, make sure you stop in for a slice of pizza at Pizza Rustica across from the hotel, and you must have a meal at Osteria Gastone across the street. It is a small, friendly restaurant with delicious food. (Try the Spaghetti Carbonara. Delicious!)

This hotel is so worth it, and if we travel to Rome again, we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank elsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

What a charming European hotel in the perfect location!! It is a block from the Piazza de Popolla, so it is totally quiet at night (we had two rooms on the terrace side), but just a quick walk to the Piazza. From the Piazza, where you can people-watch all day, it's a quick walk to the Spanish Steps and even the Trevi Fountain. We walked to the Vatican, too. And taxis are so cheap in Europe that when we went to the Collosseum, we just took a taxi.

The hotel's lounge/bar area was a perfect place to meet at night to discuss our day. The staff was wonderful. The internet is free - they have two computers set up for guests. The rooms are small, but certainly not any smaller than at any other hotel in Europe, and they are lovely. The shower was teeny, though. The "wallpaper" in the room was beautiful fabric!

I would absolutely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GigiB0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Rome looks incredible. Even too many things to visit. The Vatican and its museums, The Ara Pacis with the Valentino's expo, the Colosseum and the forums, Piazza di Spania, thousands of boutiques... We should have stayed much longer.
What an incredible city and what a nice hotel. The perfect location, the most helpful and friendly staff (especially Sara and Daniele), spotless rooms and marble bathroom (not huge, but neither so small), cozy lounge area with bizarre sculptures and paintings by an african artists, free of charge internet lounge and least but not last a marvelous restaurant called Ziro. Good for breakfast, excellent for dinner. We had the best meal of our trip through Italy. Sara insisted in showing it to us and sincerly suggested to give it a try. At the beginning we didn't even think about it because we wanted to go out every night and discover the most out of this amazing city, but at the end we did try it and we must admit that she was right, I'm still dreaming about the king prawns.
We will definetly recommend the River Palace to our friends!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rchanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed at the River Palace from August 24th to August 27th, 2007. First, let me warn you that August is a VERY hot month in Rome. Two of the four days we were there, it was over 100 degrees (without the heat index). This is typical in August, so be prepared. Make sure that you bring lots of sunscreen and clothing that will keep you cool and comfortable. Things we liked about the hotel: great location that was close to the subway (the subway is essential to get to things like the Vatican andthe Colosseum), clean rooms with lots of towels, turn down service everyday with Godiva chocolates, great spa/bath products in the bathrooms and a quick and tasty breakfast in the morning. We only disliked one thing. The hotel was not very close to any major sights, so you had to take the subway to get to everything. This was not a problem during the day, but it was a problem in the evening. The subway closed down each night around 9 PM (the official Rome subway signs say that it is open until 10, but we NEVER found a subway stop open later than 9 PM). So, each evening, we had quite a long walk to get back to the hotel. This wasn't a huge problem for us, but other people might have a problem with this. However, many hotels are far from the main attractions, so this is a common problem for tourists in Rome. Overall, I would recommend it others and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Guinn's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,273 in Rome
2,312 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,273 in Rome
1,417 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,273 in Rome
2,572 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,273 in Rome
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $98 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing