We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service in Rome”
Review of Sakana Sushi

Sakana Sushi
Ranked #385 of 12,525 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $59
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Testaccio
New Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“The best service in Rome”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We decided to try Sakana as they were highly recommended here. Unlike couple of other restaurants we tried during our stay in Rome, Sakana was pleasant surprise what becomes to the service. The staff was very polite and helpful. The quality and taste of Sushi was perfect and I would rate them high to my top sushi restaurants around the world.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MasterMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    339
    80
    44
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We went to Sakana last night with another couple and had the most original sushi we've had in Rome. After having been to numerous Japanese restaurants throughout Rome, we were pleased to learn that Sakana offered a avriety of dishes that I had never seen in other Roman sushi places. As a New Yorker, I'm accustomed to great sushi, but Rome's usual restaurants tend to offer the same things over and over again...that is...until we got to Sakana. We started with a bite-sized salmon roll topped with a quail egg>delicious! Then we had the Takoyaki>superb! We also had fish dumplings and double crab rolls which were good but nothing amazing. The Hamachi with sweet miso glaze was excellent! The Red Hot Double Salmon Roll was quite good and so were the desserts. If you're tired of the same old sushi, try Sakana for a refreshing experience.

The decor is nothing great and I hope they redecorate soon but the staff was amazing. Our friends were late and so they offered us a prosecco as we waited. They were also very helpful throughout the evening. They even offered us some Sake at the end of the meal. The 'Let Down' review sounds a bit suspicious to me. If the food and the service remain at this level, then Sakuna is definitely worth the try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenys V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
“A Great Find in Rome!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My partner and I went to this restaurant last night for dinner. We missed our sushi after a week in Rome with pasta and pizza everyday. We read the reviews here, went quite a ways off the beaten path to find it, but t was worth it! The fish was fresh, the rolls were very well done and displayed. The staff was amazingly friendly considering they spoke almost no English and we speak almost no Italian! An adventure but so worth it!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Umberto!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We love sushi, and we know good service( both worked in 5* establishments)
and we have tried it several places around the world,,,and all i can
say is THIS WAS GOOD.
Very attentive service, very friendly and fresh, tasty food which leaves you craving for more.
The location is a bit outside of the mainstream Rome, but it is packed with locals which just makes it more exciting. Thank you Umberto for the amazing service and for being a true gentleman the whole evening. Hope to find you when we come back to Rome. Grazie

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tretviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakana Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sakana Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing