We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Capo d’Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2007

First the bad news. High season (May-October) 2007 room rates were E400 or $570 a night for
deluxe rooms. Even with advanced booking Expedia discount, our rate was $435. Standard
rooms are less, but standard rooms are smaller. Our Deluxe room was quite large, even by
American standards.

Forgetting the price, we have never stayed in a better hotel. The decor is a bit odd, sort of an
austere designer modern, but Capo d’Africa was one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed in.

Four sets of curtains over the windows darkened the room very well for sleeping. The room was
so dark at night that the designer thoughtfully provided two night lights, one in the vestibule and
one by the bathroom light switch, so we could see our way around if we got up in the night. For
the final touch, the night lights had two brightness settings.

There was some fluxuation in water temperature in the shower, but not as bad as is often found.
The kleenex box provided very skimpy tissues, hardly enough for a good blow, and the box was
not replaced after we emptied it at the end of day one of three days.

Turning on the TV was an adventure.

The A/C did an excellent job of maintaining a constant temperature, something not often found in
hotels.

The beds used the preferred triple sheet system, with an obvious tear in one top sheet one day,
but it was changed the next day.

1  Thank kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2007

My wife and I spent two nights and three days at Capo d'Africa Hotel. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We originally only had one night booked, but decided to stay an extra night. The staff speak perfect English. Even the cleaning woman spoke English. The hotel is a good three block walk from the Colosseum and other sights. The location of the hotel is on a very narrow one-way side street, which was difficult for our cab driver to find. However, once you get there, you'll enjoy the location for it's easy access to restaurants, shops, and sights. For good food, visit Le Naumachie on the corner. GREAT PASTA and wine!
The rooms are spacious with a large bathroom. Both rooms were very clean. It's a bit pricey, but well worth the money. The only let down was the roof top restaurant was not yet open. The should have it open in 4 to 6 months.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

This is a very nice, clean hotel a couple of blocks from the Colesseo. The front desk staff were generally polite and helpful, and the breakfast was the best we had in Italy. While the room was somewhat small it was very clean. If you want to stay by old Rome this is ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Chose the Capo after exhaustive research on TA and in Rome guide books where the hotel is well recommended. Wasn't disappointed at all and it was a special trip for my 50th birthday.

As many other reviewers report, excellent reception and housekeeping, room very comfortable - including the beds. The style of mattress - tempur- shapes itself to you so whilst it feels a little firm when you plonk yourself down on it, we slept wonderfully well. Some reviewers had complained of the rooms being warm or no air conditioning on, the air con was on in April so I didn't need to use the electric fan that I had packed.

Stayed for 4 nights 22-26 April, enjoyed breakfasts outside on the terrace, in the sun, with the Coliseum behind us. Perfect! Waiting staff charming and very helpful. Pick the blood orange fruit juice, it was delicious and proper juice, unlike the other offerings in the juice dept. We found the choices fine and to our taste. You can also sit up on the terrace in the evening, we very much enjoyed a bottle of Prosecco up there our first night, taking in the scene.

We enjoyed meals at Papagio and - annoyingly - one I can't remember the name of which was just a block immediately down from the hotel, on the right - smart looking with tables outside and crisp white cloths - we ate a lovely lunch there on the last day. We also tried La Naumaucherie , food fine, maybe not so much atmosphere there I thought, but could have been because I was sat facing a wall, at the back of the restaurant (it was a busy night!)

We did the hop on hop off 110 buswhich you can catch from the Coliseum. You can buy 2 day tickets as you board. For the last 2 days we took taxis or walked. Taxis are easy to find, they are located before you cross the road to the Coliseum and are then found at ranks by most of the major sights. All trips were 7 to 10eu and well worth it.

If you have booked the Capo, relax, you wil not be disappointed. When you see the crowds at the Spanish Steps you will be pleased you are staying in an oasis of calm.

Finally, we had a car from Rome cabs (romecabs.com) for our journey from the airport, very reliable cost 45e for single trip to Fiumicino. Friends who travelled separately to Ciampino airport got a cab at the airport (price regulated nowadays), and got the hotel to call a cab for the return journey, all very easy.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emmapeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Capo d'Africa was the icing on our Roman holiday cake . The hotel is located within a very short walk from the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum. We were spoilt for choice with the number of nearby restaurants / trattorias. Because it is nestled down a side street you avoid the noise of the main street traffic .

TThe hotel is attractive and welcoming. The reception area is ample sized and comfortable with sofas, lounge chairs and tables.

Our deluxe room was very generously sized, with TV, desk, lounge chair and super king size bed. The bathroom was well equipped but on the small side. Housekeeping, which was excellent , included a night service. Air conditioning is available, but you can also open the windows and have the best of both worlds.

A well stocked cold breakfast was included in the price of the room. Delicous fruits, wonderful pastries, cold cuts and cheeses were served as well as the usual cereals and yogurts.

There is also a lovely roof top terrace area for breakfast, dinner or just relaxing.

Last but hardly least was the excellent hotel staff. As much as we've travelled, I can't think of another hotel whose staff compares to Capo d'Africa's in terms of genuine warmth, service and good humour.

We happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nora2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Capo D' Africa is a small, boutique type hotel, just blocks away from the Coloseum. There are 60 plus rooms and it was constructed 5 years ago, using the site of a former high school. It used to be a 19th Century Monastery, and during the construction of the hotel, they had to preserve the marble stair cases both in and out. In fact, all of the hotel has mable floors.

I am giving the hotel an excellent rating, even though we had a problem, that had it not been resolved, might have made this rating lower.

My husband and I always book two rooms with a connecting door inbetween. This request was granted IN WRITING so I didn't bother calling prior to check-in. Imagine our surprise when we were told there were none available and that even our rooms would not be adjoining (that was changed later the first day). We thought about trying to find another hotel, but it was Labor Day weekend and were told it would likely be impossible.

The next day, thanks to the Assistant Housekeeper, I was moved to a room next to my husband's, which could be closed off to the main hallway with a locking door. We left our room doors open and it was even better than having a connecting door. The beds are firm but I had no problem sleeping. The bathroom had both toilet and bidet. The shower was in a tub and had the annoying habit of scalding or freezing you just as you felt you were safe! Also, I think for a 4 star hotel they should offer more than shampoo and liquid shower soap.

Every morning we went up to the Terrace to have Continental Breakfast. I love Cappuccino's and would have two. The rest of the breakfast was pretty ordinary, but satisfying. If you wanted a hot breakfast i;e bacon, eggs etc. you could order room service, but there was a charge.

Before dinner, we would sit at the bar near the reception desk before we went out to eat. Or you could go up to the Terrace and have drinks. The Terrace had a small menu for both lunch and dinner, but there were many great restaurants to eat at within a short walking distance. Ask the front desk and they will make reservations for you at any of them.

We were in Rome this time for 4 days following a cruise. In 2003, before a cruise, we found the most wonderful private tour guides, Max and Fabio Leotta, who own Leotta Limousine Service. Max picked us up at the cruise ship dock in a Mercedes van as we had lots of luggage. The following day he drove us on a tour into the countryside in a Mercedes sedan. They both have studied Roman history and are well versed in all Rome has to offer. Contact them at: maxleotta@tiscali.it

The employees at the hotel were so friendly and nice that it was hard to say good-bye. If we are ever in Rome again, we will be sure to stay at Capo D' Africa.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAGRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

It’s taken to long for me to write this review. We stayed at the Capo D'Africa Hotel in February 2005. The staff, rooms and breakfast was superb to say the least. I will say that this hotel is not close to central Rome; however it's very close to the Coliseum and some very nice local restaurants. The rooms were very large (American size) and the bathroom was very modern. The best part about our room was that all the windows opened (including the bathroom window). If you looking to be impressed with a hotel and can overlook the walk to central Rome book this one!

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avedanukevene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#67 of 1,272 in Rome
227 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#33 of 1,272 in Rome
1,880 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#32 of 1,272 in Rome
776 reviews
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#78 of 1,272 in Rome
1,910 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $126 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Blastness , Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing