We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were so happy with this choice. The rooms are immaculate and I especially appreciated that they truly resembled the photo's online, and our room was super quiet (on the second floor) and the ceilings high which added to the roominess feel of the room. I have to mention the crisp bed linens - very nice. The staff is incredibly gracious and welcoming. The breakfast buffet room is bright, clean and spacious while the food selection was outstanding - great coffee too. Nice touch of a chilled bottle of Prosecco on arrival and a complimentary glass of wine at their bar.
The location, 4 blocks from the Colosseum, is in a quiet residential neighbourhood with cache, and the restaurants within blocks were superb. Can't say enough - great value. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
There are newer reviews for Capo d'Africa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed four nights at this hotel and would recommend a deluxe room. They are much larger than most European hotel rooms and you are welcomed with a bottle of Prosecco chilling in your room! The hotel is in a fantastic location, just a couple of minutes walk from the Colosseum but in a residential neighbourhood with fantastic family-run restaurants in the area. The rooms are immaculately clean, great continental breakfast and the breakfast staff were fantastically attentive. The reception staff are extremely helpful too. I would highly recommend Capo D'Africa for a break in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artdecolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I didn’t know what to expect from this place, but whatever it was, staff and accommodations exceeded them more than I could’ve imagined. Wonderful service, large, clean, elegant, well-appointed rooms topped off by a staff that really “gets it” when it comes to Customer Service. (I work in Customer Service BTW.)

When my wife is being tactful she describes me as one who never “wastes a compliment.” So consider the following: Of all of the meals that we ate in our three days in Rome, arguably the best were the breakfasts at the Capo D’Africa. They were the most well-rounded breakfast buffets we’ve ever enjoyed from a hospitality outlet. Sumptuous and widely varied selections of cheeses, breads, meats, cereals, fruits and pastries just to name a few.

Let me put it this way: If you can’t find something to enjoy and thoroughly satisfy your palate at this spread, there’s a 99% chance that you’re a spoiled, high-maintenance, self absorbed twit who makes life miserable for everyone around you, is ill regarded by those who know you and has few friends.

If you’re lucky, the weather will be nice enough for you to enjoy eating on the terraces. They’re gorgeous, spacious and scenic. Oh, I almost forgot… it’s also just a short walk from the Coliseum and most things people want to see when visiting Rome. Very comfortable mattresses, crisp welcoming sheets and free wi-fi - I can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff was warm and friendly. You could tell that they took pride in their hotel and service. The room was very clean, We were on the second floor over the trash dumpsters, but surprisingly, it was a very quiet room.

The location is perfect for roaming around ancient Rome; you are in the middle of all the action. There are a couple of good restaurant right in the same small neighborhood.

We were there for my birthday and they surprised us with a bottle of Champagne... That is the kind of attention you typically do not see in the large chain hotels. I would recommend this hotel to everyone...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njp0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

With a good location, near Coliseum, this hotel have confortable and well equiped rooms, very good amenities. Very clean.

Helpfull staff, customer oriented. Great Breakfast with lots of variety, including local products. You can have breakfast until 11 AM, wich is an advantage.

Just an advice: ask for a room that is not located in the first floor, near Reception, because its very noisy. It was my case.

But its a Great hotel to stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Try to choose a Room not located in the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good location, close to Coloseo, 5 min walk. Nice small street with good restaurants nearby. The room is bigger than I expected in Rome. Cozy environment for breakfast. ... What else can I say? ... Yeah, I received a bottle of champaign as birthday gift. It sits on the table quietly while I comes back to my room after 1 day walking outside. Really touching surprise. I will come back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vvinner2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Rooms are clean and if not huge they were fine for what I needed. enough storage etc. Internet worked fine. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast buffets were good.

The location is great for the Colosseum, forum and palatine. Other attractions are easily walkable. Some will find the location disappointing as it is in a quiet residential part of town not a problem for me but it means a more limited selection of restaurants and you have to walk to get to more "happening areas" if that's your thing.

My main gripe is one of most Italian hotels - no coffee/tea making facilities! I do find it irritating not to be able to make a drink and at the prices they charge it should be included.

A taxi from the hotel to Ciampino airport was 30 euros and the hotel happily ordered it for us

oh and for the benefit of a previous reviewer complaining about the card key and power.... they will give a second if you ask!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#27 of 1,267 in Rome
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#79 of 1,267 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,968 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $161 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing