We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean and Confortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #67 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

With a good location, near Coliseum, this hotel have confortable and well equiped rooms, very good amenities. Very clean.

Helpfull staff, customer oriented. Great Breakfast with lots of variety, including local products. You can have breakfast until 11 AM, wich is an advantage.

Just an advice: ask for a room that is not located in the first floor, near Reception, because its very noisy. It was my case.

But its a Great hotel to stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Try to choose a Room not located in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good location, close to Coloseo, 5 min walk. Nice small street with good restaurants nearby. The room is bigger than I expected in Rome. Cozy environment for breakfast. ... What else can I say? ... Yeah, I received a bottle of champaign as birthday gift. It sits on the table quietly while I comes back to my room after 1 day walking outside. Really touching surprise. I will come back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vvinner2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Rooms are clean and if not huge they were fine for what I needed. enough storage etc. Internet worked fine. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast buffets were good.

The location is great for the Colosseum, forum and palatine. Other attractions are easily walkable. Some will find the location disappointing as it is in a quiet residential part of town not a problem for me but it means a more limited selection of restaurants and you have to walk to get to more "happening areas" if that's your thing.

My main gripe is one of most Italian hotels - no coffee/tea making facilities! I do find it irritating not to be able to make a drink and at the prices they charge it should be included.

A taxi from the hotel to Ciampino airport was 30 euros and the hotel happily ordered it for us

oh and for the benefit of a previous reviewer complaining about the card key and power.... they will give a second if you ask!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

In a very. quite area but close to the Coliseum this ideally located hotel offers very friendly and excellent service. Our room as well as the bathroom were clean, well equipped and frequently serviced.
A few of the nearby restaurants all had excellent food and a selection of good wines at reasonable prices.Again with friendly service.
Can definitely be recommended and we'll surely use it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a great hotel, very clean with extra friendly staff. The breakfasts are great. Good choice with lots to eat. A stones throw from the colosseum and not to far to the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain. You can book organised tours from the reception, or they will provide you with a map and directions. The bar prices are a bit steep 6 euro for a small glass of coke served on the roof terrace. All in all a great hotel and I would stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here with 4 friends, on a long weekend to watch the 6 nations. Great hotel, although approx 15 step steps into reception from the road. Taxi from Ciampino airport approx 38 euro. Staff very helpful and friendly. Reception staff will provide a map with all of the attractions on, and will direct you as necessary. The rooms are spacious, with plenty of space to hang and store all of your clothes. Bathrobe, slippers and all of the toiletries you would expect. Mini bar (expensive) in all of the rooms.
Beds very big and very cosy.
Be aware, the road noise can be loud at 5 am if your window is open.
Breakfast is on the top floor, very friendly staff, you can eat inside or outside on the terrace. A staggeringly beautiful view of the Colosseum . Breakfast has everything you can imagine, juices, smoothies, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, fruit salad and plenty of cooked breakfast, sausages, bacon eggs etc. Plenty for even the most hungry of traveller. Coffe is particularly good, tea not so good.
The bar is expensive, there are quite a few pubs and resturant within a few minutes walk. We found the most amazing resturant, jammed full of locals, with eating both inside and out. Excellent food, pizzas, pastas and salads, all home made and delicious. 7 -9 euros, wine carafe 4 euros and definitely a good drop of vino. It is called Luzzi, on via S. Giovanni in Laterano. A 3 minute walk from the hotel, open for lunch and dinner, very cheap and fabulous.

Just round the corner from the hotel is a must see, the Badilica di San Clemente, absolutely stunning, well worth a visit, free to enter.

The Colosseum, is just a short 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Don't be put off by the queues outside, if you go into through the barriers to the left of the entrance, you can walk up to the 'tours' window, and book a tour in your preferred language, definitely well worth the cost of 12 euros each. Our tour guide was Luca, very knowledgeable and happy to answer any question, a lot of walking so wear comfortable shoes.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel, due to road noise in the early hours of the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I recently returned from a weekend break with my husband and friends. This hotel is in a superb location ideal for sight seeing, within easy reach of a good selection of restaurants yet in a quite location. The hotel staff were all very friendly and took the time to offer advice and suggestions. I would happily recommend this hotel and if I were to return to Rome I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BakerTheMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#37 of 1,272 in Rome
1,886 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#70 of 1,272 in Rome
240 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#77 of 1,272 in Rome
2,747 reviews
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#80 of 1,272 in Rome
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $161 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Blastness , Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing