We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”
Review of Mattire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mattire
Ranked #2,118 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The owner Irene is an extremely rude person. My wife and I had a great holiday of a month in Italy till we came to Rome. Irene seems to be a racist. Because we were from Asia she looked down upon us. Worse she has overcharged us by 180 Euros and we still have not got our money back. Be warned about this place and owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 299Ernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location is just perfect. The underground stop (Ottaviano) is right behind the corner so it takes one moment to see any Rome attraction. If you prefer walking it’s about ten minutes to St. Peter’s and beautiful Sant Angelo Castle (great place to spend a romantic night). The owners, Matteo and Irene, do everything to make you feel at home, rooms are clean and comfortable and there are always fresh juices, coffee and some food in the morning. The room had air-conditioning, comfortable bed, the bathroom was also OK.
We have spent five very nice days in MattIre in July 2013 and we strongly recommend this place for everyone.

Room Tip: The blue room with the inside bathroom is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacock79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed there fromSept12-15. it is not a hotel B&B it is an apartment with 3 rooms, 2 rooms with air cond.and with the bathroom in the rooms,however we got unlucky and our room had no air conditioner and the bathroom in the common area- kitchen! We asked Irene if we can have a fan and she said "no". The B&B is located on a very noisy corner of Ottaviano and with 2 restorants bellow the rooms the noise and the smell of overcooked bacon was overwhelming ,the room was hot with only 28C in Rome.The bathroom- well if you are a normal size north american you will fit in the shower ,but god forbid you just a little bigger- you out of luck.Both my husband and I are average size aim 5'4, 163 pounds, my husband is 5'9, 170 pounds- when each of us entered the shower( separately:)) we needed to do it sideways ,otherwise the shower door might collapse .The breakfast is self served from whatever is in the fridge.During our stay there was only 6 yogurts, 6-100ml bottles of juice,single packaged maffins ,sugar,tea,but no kettle-we used microwave to boil the water ,no bread,no cheese.We discovered our way to the local Suppermarket and bought normal north american food- since the breakfast is the most important meal of the day- we needed to eat! I told Irene that we were not happy there,but I don't believe she carried .The communication is only via e- mails, the only person you will see is Robert the maid,who was actually pleasant and apologetic for the situation.Don't expect to find the apartment very easy -we made 3 trips up and down in 3 different elevators, before we found our way in .If you still interested in it - I wish you good luck.Just to let you know this is the only place I ever complained and we traveled with my husband extensively throughout the Europe and always were happy with our accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask more and more questions, I did and was not aware that it is 3 room apartment with no air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I had the luck to find this b&b for my staying in Rome. The owners Irene and Matteo are very affable, they welcomed us with a set of towels and slippers. Our room was the purple one, very romantic and Super clean. The location is just perfect: the Vaticans is 1 minute walking, the metro station leads you everywhere, the city center is just a 10 minutes walking. Faboulous store and restaurants close by. The only defect, if I have to find one, is that they offered only american coffee, while in Rome I'd like to have espresso. But They told me it was because the b&b had just opened and they would have served it soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giulia_Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianluca6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
1  Thank Elisabetta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,108 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,482 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mattire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mattire

Address: Via Ottaviano 43, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,118 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The matire b&b is located in the heart of the city, close to the historical center, in one of the most exclusive neighbours of Rome. Only five minuts walking from San Peter and the Vatican Museums, the strategic position of the Matire allows you to reach all the most famous attractions: only 200 meters away there is the metro station Ottaviano linea A which connects the termini station with only 5 stops, fontana di trevi with just 3, and Piazza di Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mattire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing