We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”
Review of Hotel Degli Aranci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Aranci
Ranked #299 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

OK, how much room do I have? My stay here was simply amazing. Due to a "travel document issue" which extended my stay in Rome by a few days, I was brought here by a car service, telling the driver I needed a hotel near the Swiss Embassy.

Again, I didn't know what to expect as I was delivered to the classically styled, upscale property. It was a situation of "any port in a storm". I was warmly welcomed by the front desk staff. My room was stylish, very comfortable, great amenities, comfortable huge bed with quality linens. Beautiful lobby, marble and rich upholstery throughout, The property is very well maintained, the outside areas have great landscaping, and someone is always cleaning something. The hotel has a restaurant. There is a limited menu, but the dishes were wonderfully prepared. One of the desk clerks had mentioned the restaurant, then called me in the room to apologize that there was a private party that night, so the restaurant was not available. That was just one example of attention to detail. After the 2nd day, they stop asking your room number, they just seem to know you.

Breakfast was included, a good assortment. The area is quite upscale, with beautiful residences surrounding the property. They clearly welcome international travelers with wonderful, warm hospitality. Within walking distance is a central square, little restaurants. 10 minutes by cab is the central area, near the Villa Borghese, the Rome Zoo, and many other locations I don't recall.

When you travel, service is key, especially in a foreign country where it can be easy to feel a bit overwhelmed. There were some continual travel issues, and the staff was so gracious about extending my stay, even though it was clear they were filling up. I must not be a good poker player, because Massimilliano at the front desk kept telling me to "remember to laugh!" Anderson was another star, as was Liana (sp?) The wi-fi was reliable and kept me in touch with home.

There were absolutely no downsides to this property. It is a hidden jewel, and one I hope to experience again. Again, my heartfelt thanks to the staff for helping a stranded traveler!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    287
    84
    43
    29
See reviews for
118
242
37
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed 10 nights in this excellent, quiet hotel. The room was comfortable and the staff were most helpful and friendly.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hotel degli Aranci has at least three positive features. First, it is located in the Parioli borough, one of Rome’s most exclusive neighborhood. Secondly it has very comfortable rooms, fully equipped and with stylish replica period decorations and wooden parquet. Beds are great and rooms are “noise-free” and hence you can sleep in full comfort. In particular I would recommend rooms at the corners of the hotel, as they have two windows on the two sides and are brighter. Bathrooms are also high standard with marble floors and decorations. Maybe only the shower, too small, is below the prevailing standard. Third, it is good value for money, as rates might be very competitive. It has also a small garden, where in the good season you might have breakfast. It has free Wi-Fi. However the hotel lacks two major things. The first is space in the common areas. Sometimes it looks more as the tiny replica of a large hotel rather than a small cozy hotel in its own right. That is a pity, because it gives you a kind of irst hand claustrophobic impression. It does not have a proper hall; the reception is really very small. It has only one lift serving three floors. Another example is the front parking space: very tiny, it should accommodate two or three cars but in the evenings it appears jammed with cars and gives an undeserved impression of untidiness. Another detail is that personnel, although very professional and helpful, seem to be detached, and lack “verve” and that touch of vitality that sometimes makes a difference between a “good” stay and a “great” stay in a hotel. As a conclusion, Hotel degli Aranci is a perfect solution for the business traveler which is focused primarily on the comfort of the bedroom. Less so for people that are looking for destination hotel and who would like to enjoy also social areas. Overall, although rooms and location are a clear plus, I am rating it just “average”.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the corners of the hotel, as they have two windows on the two sides and are bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulus_diaconus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinboy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a clean, courteous and very pleasant hotel in Rome. It is not walking distance from the historical center, but just a few blocks from Piazza Euclide and an easy subway ride or taxi ride to central Rome. The quality of the hotel, the size of the rooms, the politeness of the staff easily makes up for it. The Suites costs about what you would pay for a room in central Rome and are well worth it. The restaurant provides a fair breakfast. I would not recommend it for lunch or dinner as there are far better eating establishments an easy walking distance. By the way, for families, the suites have a living room area with couches that open into beds. Great for a family of four.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Pecq
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had booked a room for 2 nights on the hotel's website. It was a pre-paid promotional offer. When we arrived the room was not available (we had given our time of arrival). We were relocated in a hotel of inferior level and rates (although also 4 star) where we had to go by our own means. We had chosen this hotel specifically to be close to our family and found this to be a great inconvenience. Moreover we did not get what we paid for as the price of the rooms of the Grand Hotel Fleming (where they sent us) is about half that of the Hotel degli Aranci. If you book this hotel you will be taking the risk of being sent even further away from the centre, at your own expense, and in hotels of lesser quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marieLePecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is Rome's best kept secret, a place far from the crowd, elite, secure and comfortable. Lorenzo, the maitre chef, was at the helm of the restaurant the whole time and made sure the meals form breakfast to dinner were exceptional. The rooms are imaculate.The staff was courteous and became friends very quickly...it helps if you know Italian or are making a sincere effort to learn it.
Bella Degli Aranci, te amo.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a triple room and it was gorgeous! Big hallway with double wardrobe, big double bedroom, a separarte lounge area with 2 sofas (can each be made into spare beds), big bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a huge tarrace with garden furniture. The decor and cleanliness was exceptional.

The hotel staff is very friendly, they helped with parking and every little question we had they answered stright away. The hotel run a shuttle bus to and from the city centre, so don't worry if you are not used to the trains and metro system.

To us breakfast is important and they even delivered on that. Scrambled eggs and cooked ham, a variety of cold meats and cheese, cereal, cakes, bread, jam etc. There is a coffee machine, but the waiter will make you a proper espresso or cappuccino if you ask.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor as they are spacious. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBlackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#225 of 1,256 in Rome
738 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#270 of 1,256 in Rome
874 reviews
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#515 of 1,256 in Rome
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#141 of 1,256 in Rome
1,491 reviews
Parioli
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#1,073 of 1,256 in Rome
162 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#176 of 1,256 in Rome
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Aranci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Aranci

Property: Hotel Degli Aranci
Address: Via Barnaba Oriani 11, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Rome
#48 Business Hotel in Rome
#163 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#217 Family Hotel in Rome
#303 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Aranci 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Degli Aranci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing