We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest commercial practices”
Review of Hotel Degli Aranci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Degli Aranci
Ranked #311 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had booked a room for 2 nights on the hotel's website. It was a pre-paid promotional offer. When we arrived the room was not available (we had given our time of arrival). We were relocated in a hotel of inferior level and rates (although also 4 star) where we had to go by our own means. We had chosen this hotel specifically to be close to our family and found this to be a great inconvenience. Moreover we did not get what we paid for as the price of the rooms of the Grand Hotel Fleming (where they sent us) is about half that of the Hotel degli Aranci. If you book this hotel you will be taking the risk of being sent even further away from the centre, at your own expense, and in hotels of lesser quality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marieLePecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Degli Aranci
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 687 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is Rome's best kept secret, a place far from the crowd, elite, secure and comfortable. Lorenzo, the maitre chef, was at the helm of the restaurant the whole time and made sure the meals form breakfast to dinner were exceptional. The rooms are imaculate.The staff was courteous and became friends very quickly...it helps if you know Italian or are making a sincere effort to learn it.
Bella Degli Aranci, te amo.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a triple room and it was gorgeous! Big hallway with double wardrobe, big double bedroom, a separarte lounge area with 2 sofas (can each be made into spare beds), big bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a huge tarrace with garden furniture. The decor and cleanliness was exceptional.

The hotel staff is very friendly, they helped with parking and every little question we had they answered stright away. The hotel run a shuttle bus to and from the city centre, so don't worry if you are not used to the trains and metro system.

To us breakfast is important and they even delivered on that. Scrambled eggs and cooked ham, a variety of cold meats and cheese, cereal, cakes, bread, jam etc. There is a coffee machine, but the waiter will make you a proper espresso or cappuccino if you ask.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor as they are spacious. There is a lift.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaBlackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel is for those who do not mind not living in the very center of the city, where the night life explodes and all the attractions are within 5 minutes' walk. The 'Degli Aranci' sits in a posh, quiet, residential area (worth noting that in the same street there are at least 4 embassies, including Switzerland). So you'll feel at home, if you are willing to live a little bit aside from the crowds, you don't mind walking or using public transportation (by the way in this regard the 'Degli Aranci' is very well located: several different bus lines and one of the main tramway lines are within couple of minutes' walk, and they take you to all major attractions of Rome or to Termini station if you prefer).

Now about the main point: this is a VERY BASIC place to stay. Really, it boggles my mind, how on Earth it scored 4 stars. The rooms (we rented 2...) are small, and most of furniture and bathroom fittings saw better times and probably haven't been changed in the past 5 or 10 years. It all feels worn (however, the beds are still sufficiently comfortable). My most dramatic complaint is with the breakfast. I haven't experienced such bad selection ever. The choice is limited to some sweet pastry (not tasty, very fat and veeeeeeery sweet), some mediocre yoghurts, appalling fruit salad (basically it's nothing but chopped pineapple and chopped peach - both straight out of a can), some wheat buns, bad cheese, bad salami and very bad ham. Even to get a proper espresso you need to ask the waiters, because the available machine produces a liquid not worthy of being called coffee.

Enough of the bad. For the good I can say two things: rooms and the whole place are very clean (despite the "worn feeling"), and staff are super friendly and helpful. Especially at the front desk.

If you consciously choose this place as your selected staying option, weigh the cons and pros. It's equally easy to like this place and to hate it.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms located in the external small building
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

very clean and staff very nice. our room had a balcony and it was spacious. The breakfast was very basic so don't expect too much of it.
the location it's not the best. It's in a quiet area but public transports are complicated. it's not near the metro line, for that you have to catch a train for one stop and then you are on metro line A. The bus system is complicated but it's the best way to get to the hotel. right outside the hotel you have bus 217 that takes you to the main station Termini and 10 minutes walking you have tram19 that takes you to the vatican city. but all lines finish at midnight, after that you have night buses or taxis. We opt for the taxis.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelbarbedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

OK, it wasn't a garage, but it was a building between the street and the actual hotel that maybe was a guardhouse or a doghouse a hundred years ago. And now, it is separated from the hotel by cars that are valet parked. So, for example, to get to the breakfast room (in the actual hotel) you have to walk through a tiny but full parking area, and of course, the valets are moving cars in and out all night and there is only the room wall between their car doors slamming and your bed all night long. Lovely. And only 101 euros/night!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rc00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed 3 days there with my partner and 3 other couples.
Location of hotel is a bit away from the main city-sights, but you can take 15 min bus right next to the hotel to Termini station from where you can walk to almost all of famous places.
Hotel is located in quite and nice place.

Rooms are clean and nice but some of them may be quite small. One of our couples had to change their room due to its size. There are four separate room in the yard of the hotel on the ground level those rooms may be a bit lower standard compared to the main building rooms.

Internet price is reasonable but may be slow in some rooms.

Breakfast is good but not great.

Staff is great and helpful. Kept our luggage after check out in very friendly manner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmanelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#236 of 1,267 in Rome
761 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#241 of 1,267 in Rome
909 reviews
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#533 of 1,267 in Rome
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#149 of 1,267 in Rome
1,529 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#175 of 1,267 in Rome
471 reviews
Parioli
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#1,091 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Aranci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Aranci

Address: Via Barnaba Oriani 11, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Rome
#48 Business Hotel in Rome
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#217 Family Hotel in Rome
#303 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $102 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Aranci 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Degli Aranci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing