We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not central at all!”
Review of Hotel Romulus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Romulus
Ranked #1,058 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Whilst the hotel was clean enough and the service was ok, it is in a fairly undesirable location quite a way from the city center. Prostitutes frequent the overpass near the hotel and I had to step over a used condom upon my return from my 45 minute trip into the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 327 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

No one in their right mind with any modicum of decency would rate this 'motel' above terrible. It's really a cheap stop off joint on the highway heading out of Rome or a bed for a few hours to shag one of the prostitutes who sell their wares less than 50m away at the overhead pass. You can't miss them if you're waiting for the bus.
Reasonable price doesn't have to mean:
Breakfast that's stale bread, bad cereal and juice and coffee from a machine;
Bathrooms with a constant odor and/or disinfectant that's so strong that you have to leave the room;
A frigobar that doesn't work;
A restaurant (very salty food) with a set menu for 18Euros and by the way, it's closed on Sundays;
A motel (oops, they call it a hotel) that's totally isolated - no restaurants, bars, supermarkets, fastfoods or convenience stores in proximity (what you saved in room cost you'll spend in taxi fares trying to find something decent to eat at night).
Anything contrary to a terrible review was probably manipulated.
Spend the extra money and stay within the circle (Central Rome).

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel are constantly bombarded by the noise from the traffic from the busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tommyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Romulus_Rome, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romulus, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear costumer,
First of all: if you don't like our location you are free to choose another hotel in the city center; our address is correctly indicated on every website and you can check it on every web maps if you want. So you choose this hotel even if it's not in the center: in fact, we didn't move after your reservation. If you are not able to choose and to check...ask to an agency to make it for you and don't make it by yourself.
Second: trip advisor is a website that checks regularly the reviews of the guest, so don't dare to defame this site or our former customers that wrote reviews in the past. If something doesn't like you, it doesn't mean that other people are liars. Maybe you are a little bit..."exaggerated"…
Third: our hotel is not a motel for prostitutes. Prostitutes are on the streets like every city of the world, but not in our rooms. Your declaration is defamatory.
Forth: I would like to inform you about other points like:
- Our fresh food served in our restaurant for dinner or for breakfast, but other reviews (that you consider manipulated) describe it for me;
- The restaurant is closed a day per week like every restaurant in the city, so it's not an absurd thing;
- If you want to move with taxicab is your choice: there are public services near the hotel, so if you want to spend all your money for taxi, is your choice;
- If the bathroom "smells" of disinfectant, it means that it's CLEAN...
If you want a five star service you have to check five stars hotel and pay for five stars. You can’t have five star services paying like a two stars, in a three stars hotel!
We did all the best to satisfy your requests during your holiday, even when you SCREAMED with our receptionists in the hall because you didn’t like anything, or with our waitress in breakfast room because you wanted to have your breakfast even if it was already closed for over an hour…
Well, just to close this reply, I want to inform you that we asked trip advisor to remove your reviews because it's defamatory of this website honest name.

Best regards,

Dott.ssa Francesca Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

"mafia-guy" on reception
very old furniture and rooms

Room Tip: nether stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I with two friends booked the Hotel Romulus ,I knew it was a short distance from central Rome , it was stated on the web site, after booking I looked on trip advisor, I was horrified at a lot of the reviews, I would still have to pay if I cancelled. On arrival we thought we were at the wrong hotel,true it is on a busy road but most hotels are, it was very clean , smart , very attentive staff and a very clean bedroom en-suite. We had a meal in the restaurant , a bit falty towerish but the food was good , it was exceptionally busy as the buses were on strike for the day. Breakfast was exactly what we were hoping for , fresh couissants, coffee , fresh juices , many other things should you want them. Prositutes were a long way from the hotel and certainly a very sad sight , , we were not affected in any way only to feel sympathy.I never saw any condoms , maybe some people spend their holiday looking for them!!! Hotel Romulus is an inexspensive Hotel and you get what they state.I am so sorry that people find it nessesary to write such bad reviews

Room Tip: our room was on the south side, ground floor , we had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolynseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Romulus_Rome, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romulus, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are really happy that your staying at Hotel Romulus was been pleasant and nice, and that you found our rooms clean and smart: this is one of the most important point in our policy.
We are glad that you felt quite safe nearby the hotel: we are sorry like you for the prostitutes around there, but this problem is the same all over the city nearby every hotel. Our politic is to do the possible to safe the hotel from that practice, according to the police department.
Thanking You once again for having notified us your impressions.
Best Regards

Dott. Francesca Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed with my family for 2 nights - yes, it's little out of central Rome but you can see that from the map. The bus took about 20 minutes to get into Rome - the hour by someone is exaggerated. Prostitutes? Show me a city in where ther are none - they added colour to the industrial place where hotel is situated.

As for the hotel - clean and efficient. Lionel was always very helpful. He even ordered food for us from locally late in the evening!!

Ok, you may not like the furnishings and fittings but for the price it was very good. The bedding was clean and smelt fresh - the staff were helpful for extra towels/shampoo etc.

The breakfast was great - the kids loved it.

Great hotel for the price - will stay again - no complaints. Well done.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the garden side - less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Romulus_Rome, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romulus, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice review, it is very important to us.
We are glade that you found the hotel directions corresponding to the description on our website, it shows that sometimes people don't inform themselves correctly.
We suppose that the man-receptionist you appreciate for his help, is Daniele (the sound of the name is the most similar to "Lionel" but we have no workers in our hotel with this name!). He thanks you and we thank you in the same way.
Wish having you our guest again!

Dott.ssa Francesca Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

(find my own french translation below english text)

Prostitution at the surroundings and rough places just nearby.
Very cheap looking hotel with fake quality elements applied to a horrible kind of office block and antique exterior looking / rococo interior style of poor quality fabric.
Haughty welcome.
Awful comfort of the bed, we couldn't even sink into the bed as it was as hard as a table : lying on my back, my back hurt. Lying on my stomach, my knees hurt.
Terrible isolation, awoken at 7am by people chatting in the other rooms, heard like if they were in ours.
Atrocious breakfast with very poor quality food for this hotel star rating.
What a shame!

Prostitution dans les environs et coupe-gorges dans les villes à proximité immédiate.
Hôtel faisant très "cheap" avec des décos cache misère sur un simili ancien immeuble de bureau très moche. Interieur rococo de piètre qualité sentant la contrefaçon ou la fabrication à bas coût.
Accueil hautain.
Lit au confort abominable, tellement dur qu'on ne s'enfonçait pas du tout dedans. Allongés sur le dos nous avions mal au dos, allongés sur le ventre nous avions mal aux genoux!!Isolation affreuse, réveillés à 7h du matin par d'autres personnes discutant dans les chambres voisines, qu'on entendait comme si elles étaient avec nous dans la même pièce.
Petit déjeuner ignoble avec de la viennoiserie et autres choses tout industriel de qualité premier prix, indigne d'un hôtel 3 ou 4 étoiles.
Quelle honte!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pacha_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Romulus_Rome, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romulus, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, it give us the possibility to answer you about some things.
The Hotel Romulus is located in an area not central (but it is clearly written on our website...) but it is easy to reach the city center by bus and metro in 30 minutes more or less.
We are sorry that our hotel style doesn't like you, but it is the typical Venice Style of 1700, recently restored.
Next time you will want to be our guest we will glad to show you better our breakfast buffet: there are in fact two type of breakfast available in our hotel: the Continental one, that includes a sweet buffet with cakes, cereal and drinks like cappuccino, coffee and tea, and the American one which includes also a salted buffet with ham, cheese, eggs, bread and more...
We are sorry like you for the prostitutes around there, but this problem is the same all over the city nearby every hotel. Our politic is to do the possible to safe the hotel from that practice, according to the police department.
Thanking You once again for having notified us your impressions.
Best Regards
Mrs. Francesca Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We arrived, warned by other reviews about how far it is from the city centre, how noisy it gets at night with the highway (?) next to the hotel and how unsafe the neighbourhood is.

We didn't have any problems with that.
OK, you could see the pile of used condoms on the bridge over the highway getting bigger every morning and/or evening but you get used to it. There's a really good bus connection to the hotel from the metro/train station Tiburtina, so you can arrive in +- 25 minutes in the hotel.
OK, the people on the bus are most of the time gypsy's, begging or smelling (also in the morning, soap allergy maybe?) but you don't feel that unsafe.
OK, we were exhausted every evening because of the walking and city tripping and maybe we didn't get awoken by the traffic thanks to that. Although we slept right next to the highway.

But we think it's a good hotel for budget travellers. We liked it because it had value for money.

The staff was weird, sometimes nice, sometimes not so nice, but OK. Internet in the lobby was free. The rooms were really big, bathroom was really clean and had a good shower.

OK, breakfast gets boring after 3 times the same things, no yoghurt's, no fruits, but it was basic. Only they put lemon on top of or in almost everything. Bah!

But the only thing we wanted, was a nice swim in the swimming pool every evening after a long hot day, but it was broken. We asked every evening if it was fixed, but always the same negative answer. OK, we knew every evening when we arrived that they hadn't worked on it, but it was fun asking and always getting the same answer.

For one thing we have to warn every future visitor: on the website it says that there's a free shuttle from the hotel to Tiburtina station. This is not correct. This is only for the weekends. In the week they drop you off at Fidene station. We did this one time and it took us 1h (!!!!) to get to Tiburtina. You better take the bus!

But we stayed here one week and it was cheap, so the hotel is OK.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Romulus_Rome, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romulus, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are really glad that your staying at Hotel Romulus was been pleasant and nice.
Thanking you for your review, we want to apologize about our swimming pool, but due to a failure caused from heavy rain occurred a few days before your arrival, we had several problems to restore the situation in short time.
Next time You will be our guest, we will be glad to show You how the quality of our services has been improved and we hope you will appreciate our swimming pool.
Best regards,

Mrs Francesca Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Eurogarden
#529 of 1,272 in Rome
241 reviews
Hotel Castle
#184 of 1,272 in Rome
398 reviews
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#676 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#854 of 1,272 in Rome
118 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#245 of 1,272 in Rome
614 reviews
Marini Park Hotel
#388 of 1,272 in Rome
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romulus

Address: Via Salaria 1069, 00138 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,058 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $55 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romulus 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Romulus Hotel, your home designed by us! Would you like something different from the large, impersonal hotel with strutting waiters and friendly staff but no warmth? Want that homely feeling? The Romulus hotel is the answer you're looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romulus Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing