We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Adriano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adriano
Ranked #181 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Hotel Adriano in Rome, Italy is very conveniently located and all major Rome attractions can be reached by foot.
Pantheon apr. 5 Minutes, Piazza Navona apr. 10 Minutes, Vatican City 15 Minutes just to name a few.
Yet the Hotel is tugged away in a quiet side street away from the busy streets of Rome.
The majority of the rooms are very modern and updated, however make sure, that you are asking to have a room booked in the new section of the Hotel, since some rooms are quite old and outdated.
The breakfast buffet and breakfast room are to die for. The staff is very courteous, friendly and knowledgable.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    644
    141
    52
    17
See reviews for
307
623
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I did a lot of research before deciding on staying at the Hotel Adriano at one of their Exclusive Rooms at the Domus Adriani. Since being in Italy I wanted a place that was highly recommended from other travellers, safe, comfortable, and pleasing. Even though while being in Rome you mainly just use your room for sleep and storing your luggage I wanted our stay to be great nonetheless.

Our room was the Love & Passion Room #505 (the one with the red bathroom walls and floral headboard) that had a private, small balcony. The Exclusive Rooms of the Domus Adriani are separate from the Hotel Adriano. Not a big deal but the 90 steps (I counted) and the death trap-like elevator (seriously no window, rickety, old, barely fits two people w/o luggage) - which we never took because we were scared it would break down, we're a little disappointing. We only used it to bring our luggage down when we left. So, be prepared to either climb those steps or take a cramped elevator. But it wasn't the steps or the elevator that were a huge turn-off for us. It was the fact the the other inhabitants of that building would put their trash in a wooden box by the front door waiting to be picked up. As you walked in, the smell of trash would hit you. It was horrible - who wants to be greeted with the smell of trash before going to your room, then proceed to go through another locked door, and then climb the 90 steps?!?!

Now our room did somewhat look like the photos but without the glitz and glam to it. Since it had the private balcony the previous inhabitants were more than likely smokers. So the room smelled like smoke. It took burying the A/C and opening the balcony doors for a few hours to air it out. Also, the red tiling of the bathroom was covered in white streaks from missing a proper cleaning and overall the bath and shower just looked really used. The toilet creaked every time we sat on it and seemed as if it would break in an instant. Plus it would randomly continue to flush at times. Also, the window above the sink was broken, we spoke to the front desk to fix it but they never sent someone up. So we were constantly greeted with the squaking of Rome's birds night and day. But we were so tired from sight seeing that it didn't really bother us.

But we dealt with those items because they seemed minor and plus we were in Rome. We figured we would barely be using the room so it was fine. However, on the second day I put the sign for the maid to tidy up our room. Before leaving to explore Rome that morning, I placed my long lens for our Nikon D5200 on the desk as we were not going to use it. We got back to our freshly cleaned room around 1 am and proceed to go to bed. Didn't look around the room too much but crashed as we were exhausted. Come Wednesday morning (one day before we checked out) my lens is no longer on the desk where I placed it. Thinking my husband had moved it I looked around the room - I tore through our luggage, looked in the safe, opened all the drawers, looked under the bed, through our bags which had gifts in them - NOTHING! My husband did a second look through everything and couldn't find it either. So, what are we to think? I called the front desk immediately and they somewhat brushed it off and said they couldn't do anything until the maid got in at 8:30 am. They didn't really seem to care and expressed absolutely no concern at all. So, my husband went down to the front desk and said he wanted to file a police report. The front desk gentlemen said he couldn't do anything until he spoke to the maid and then talked to the manager once he got in at 9:30 am. If I am missing something do you really think the maid is going to say "Yes, I put it away for safe keepings?" or "No, I really did take it for myself." No, they will deny and say there was no such lens.

So, it is 8:15 am by the time my husband specifically instructs the front desk not to send anyone to our room without us. The front desk gentlemen asks us if we are going back to our room to which we said no. We leave to try to eat breakfast elsewhere because are we really going to eat there after that? 9:15 am rolls around, 15 minutes before we are to meet up with the manager, discuss what happened, and then file a police report. We return back to our room to use the facilities and double check for the millionth time. I go through my husband's luggage again, nothing. As I go through mine, which I had emptied the contents and gone through each pocket, my hand hits something hard. Wrapped up crudely in a shirt that was originally folded was our long lens for our Nikon. Miraculously, it has now appeared! I tore through that whole room and all of our luggage before contacting the front desk of our stolen lens to make sure we were not falsely accusing them. And now it shows up after we wanted to file a police report and conveniently left the hotel for an hour.

Some people can say "No Harm, No Foul" since we got it back but the point is that we had to go through all of that. No one would want that upon anyone while on their vacation. If it wasn't for this incident of a thief with a conscious I would have written a okay review. But to go through that I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Despite all the good things others have said please stay somewhere else! Don't give anyone at the Hotel Adriano a chance to do this to you to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank perez0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Adriano Hotel is an a brilliant location - everything within walking distance. Not only that, but much of the hotel (maybe all) has been renovated, and I stayed in a very new room. Price was good and everything was great. They arranged airport transport, staff were helpful, and best of all was their bar! A Gin Bar - must have had every type of Gin. The Bar man was fantastic. We are back to rome in a few weeks and will be going back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your enthusiastic comments on our Hotel Adriano.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and you found our Gin Bar to be a great experience with its variety of over 60 Gins. We had an opening the 10th of June, it's the first Gin Bar in Italy. Since then, we have been getting rave reviews.
We look forward to your return, cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just spent a week at the Hotel Adriano. My husband, daughter and I in one room which can be tricky in Europe, but worked out fine. We walked EVERYWHERE! Nothing was more than a 25 minute walk, and we saw all the tourist attractions Rome has to offer. Internet was a bit slow, but ultimately, always worked. Room was kept clean. Extra towels were no problem. Breakfast was typical of a European complimentary breakfast. Cappuccinos were actually very good. My only complaint were the pillows on the beds. BRING YOUR OWN! They were hard as a rock. This seems to be typical of many hotels in Europe. We would definitely stay at Hotel Adriano again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laracody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Thanks to your review and others, we will be changing the pillows in the rooms that don't yet have them. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services.

We are happy that you had a pleasant experience at our Hotel Adriano and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by our Italtian friend! It was a comfortable hotel to stay. Receptionists are friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean and beds are good to sleep. Location is excellent--close to every key attractions and shopping area, small shops and big labels. One point is less because of their breakfast. Breakfast is worst .

Helpful?
Thank Mandymak
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just got back from a 6 day trip to Rome and stayed at the Adriano based on a word of mouth recommendation. Myself and sister stayed in room 325 which was a twin room, much bigger than expected. The room was clean, beds very comfortable, air conditioned and had a mini bar though didn't use that. Also had a reasonably sized safe. Thankfully we are family though as the bathroom is much more of an area with frosted glass doors for a toilet and a shower - no problem at all but perhaps not the best if you don't want to run the risk of seeing your room mates bum!
Overall hotel was really nice, had a gin bar which we didn't partake of but seems to be very popular in Rome having quite a bit of press recently.
Breakfast was fairly basic, continental buffet, self serve but you can ask the very friendly staff for whatever you want really. Never figured out if they did more than breakfast in the hotel however you don't go to Rome to eat in your hotel anyway do you.
The staff were so friendly, couldn't have done more with everyone greeting you as you walked past. You just need to ask about anything and they would help out.
Great location, round the corner from the famous Giolitti's (go here for coffee), the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. Everything else is within walking distance and the hotel provide you with a city map to help you find places too. It is also really close to a drinking water fountain which you can fill up your water bottles from to start your day. Def make use of these when you see them throughout the city.
Had a left luggage facility which was handy when we checked out before 12 but flight wasn't until much later in the evening, meant we could still be mobile and see things around the city. Free wifi, not the fastest and also you need to connect again if you haven't used it for a minute or two but still great to have and cant complaint with it being free.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would use it again for when I go back to Rome!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior twin room so would go superior again when choosing a room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Adriano based on the good reviews and the decent price. We wanted a hotel that was in a great location and this hotel definitely was in an ideal location. You can pretty much walk to any of the main tourist locations. This is about the only good thing in regards to this hotel.

When we checked in, they stated that the actual hotel was full so we had to stay in the building next door. They stated this isn't a bad thing since the room would be bigger. Well it turned out to be a very bad thing. To get into the other building and room, you need to use 3 separate keys. You walk by nasty trash in the entrance area of this building. You stay on the 5th or 6th floor which wouldn't be an issue if they had working elevators. The elevator would only go up a couple of floors and is too small to fit more than one or two people. Couldn't even fit our luggage in the elevator. I am relatively young and in good shape and walking up the stairs to the room was a real pain. If you are older or in bad shape this wouldn't be possible. The so called big room is nothing special and every morning you will be woken up from the seagulls or some bird that is on the roof. The breakfast is nothing special they serve, though wasn't expecting it to be much. If you stay at this hotel I would highly recommend not allowing them to put you in the building next door. Totally not acceptable. The staff is very average. Only good thing about this hotel is the location and there are plenty of other hotels in same area that I would try before this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corbone25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review but we take exception with what you have stated.

Firstly, you chose and booked a room in the annex and not in the main Hotel using the Hotel web site where the description and photos are very well illustrated.
The information about the Domus Adriani, the annex building, is very well described on the web site and also in the comments that people have written on TripAdvisor.
The staff offered to change your room to the main Hotel the following day which you refused.

We welcome suggestions and criticism when they are valid as it helps us to improve our Hotel and services. But when the statements do not reflect the actual circumstances we take exception.

You were in room 502, Ying & Yang, a lovely room with terrace.
About the smell of the garbage in the entrance of the building, unfortunately it is the method in which all garbage is collected in the center of Rome, we are sorry but it is out of our controll as is the bird situation. The sea gulls are invading Rome !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The elevator is small because it is an ancient building in which the building codes do not allow us to alter certain antiquities.
The breakfast was not special for you but for most others they report it is special, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#46 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#145 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#51 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#135 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#157 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriano

Property: Hotel Adriano
Address: Via di Pallacorda 2, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Rome
#129 Family Hotel in Rome
#198 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adriano 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an elegant 17th century building in the historic centre of Rome, Hotel Adriano is very close to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and the Spanish Steps. It's just a few steps away from Parliament, the Trevi Fountain and from the most elegant shopping district. It's the ideal location for anyone staying in the capital on business or pleasure. But it is more than that. It is also a meeting place and a reference point, not only for guests but for locals to promote their events and activities.Managed by the Ricci Family who this year will be celebrating their 50th year aniversary. The hotel was recently renovated. With its relaxing and cozy atmosphere, the rooms are a perfect blend of design, tradition and attention to detail, providing both refined elegance and a home away from home.Our guests can enjoy each and every part of our hotel. It's starts at the reception area, with its large curved Welcome Desk which leads to our new bar The Gin Corner,with its 90 brands of Gin from all over the world, and the winter garden lounge. Not to mention the elegant and cozy bedrooms, the breakfast rooms, where rich buffets are served every morning, with our Technogym with treadmill, bicycle, weights and free weights and the well-equipped meeting rooms.Our discrete, professional and friendly staff are constantly working to make our guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriano Hotel Rome
Hotel Adriano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing