We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rec23 Restaurant Emporio Club

Rec23 Restaurant Emporio Club
Reserve with
Rec23 Restaurant Emporio Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,185 of 12,043 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Mediterranean, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Testaccio
Description: Rec23 Restaurant Emporio Club Rec23 is a NYC Corner in Testaccio ! Restaurant - Cocktail & Wine Bar Aperitivo - Dinner - Brunch -After Dinner
Rome
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Ok Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

It’s new to us going out for brunch in Rome. This is Italian brunch so more just a regular lunch (starts at 12:30) set up as a buffet. They have fresh ingredients that is most important. Good starters, salad, mozzarella meat etc. No cold pasta or pasta at all. Did not like the lasagna or the scrambled egg that was served in huge container and did honestly not look very good either.

Even they offer 4-5 different sorts of sweet, I did not appreciate them. Like I said this is more just a regular Italian lunch buffet so they don’t put much effort into the desert part. The carrot cake was nothing special, the pancakes not fresh and on a plate served cold.

The American coffee (obviously not touched by any of the Italian guest) could have been more stronger. American coffee don’t mean 90% water 10% coffee.

Price was fair but not super cheap compared to Rome, I have been to appetizer buffet for 10 Euro with glass of wine offering more food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Half8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    331
    111
    44
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bruch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a brunch there with some friends,everything Was good,muffin,pancakes,eggs,brownie.ThE Price really low so visit it when you are in Rome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We accidentally ran into this restaurant on our first evening in Rome. Interior is modern yet warm, staff very friendly and helpful, food amazing. Fit for both dinner with friends and for couples looking for a romantic tête-à-tête.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“NYC vibe, italian taste. VEG friendly!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved it. The place really looks like a corner of New York in Rome, very enjoyable.
But more important, the food was amazing!! Great quality and big choice (for vegans too!!!).
Even though it was a buffet (I went on a sunday) the quality was excellent.
The potato soup unforgettable.
I went with a group of 6 people and we were all impressed by this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So-so food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having tried many great restaurants in Testaccio, we decided to try this place which is more casual and seeminly caters to a younger audience.

Location is good, in via Marmorata in Testaccio, next to the river. The place is quite big, and serves lunch, dinner, drinks and aperitivo. The place looks fresh and has a different ambience than most restaurants -- this is more of a cross between cafe and restaurant. We were really hoping this would be a great place which we could go to often. It's not great, though -- no more than average.

Service was downright poor. Even though we speak perfectly passable Italian, the waiter insisted on speaking English to us (there goes your tip, mate). The waitress who brought our food, drinks and bill basicall slammed the items on the table without a word, then left. I had to call her back to open my soda bottle for me.

We had burgers (9-10 euros apiece). Bread seemed to be store bought, meat was dry. Served with potato chips.

All in all not a fantastic dining experience. I might come back for brunch or aperitivo, but this isn't a place I'll return for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Spradebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rec23 Restaurant Emporio Club also viewed

 

Been to Rec23 Restaurant Emporio Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing