We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elizabeth Minchilli is a Roman treasure for food lovers!”

Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome
Ranked #2 of 494 Shopping in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elizabeth MInchilli in Rome offers intensely delicious food packed private experiences in Rome. Join professional food write Elizabeth Minchilli on a day long exploration of markets, food stores, wine bars, ice cream shops, chocolate makers and pizzerias. Make every bite count! Featured in The New York Times, Travel & Leisure and Food & Wine Magazine.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you love food and want to experience all that Rome has to offer, take a culinary tour of the city with Elizabeth Minchilli. My husband and have been to Rome many times and thought we were pretty knowledgeable. So Elizabeth set out to show us more. Whatever your level of knowledge of Rome's food delights, she can match it. For example, we knew of the various bakeries (fornos) around Campo Dei Fiori so Elizabeth took us to sample different offerings from each to see which we thought offered the best pizza bianca. We enjoyed the most amazing authentic cappucino in a tiny cafe we would have never noticed.

Go hungry and sample Rome's culinary gems as Elizabeth presents them. They are not to be missed!

While we used Elizabeth's app Eat Rome (which we also loved), as we wandered through the city, the markets, stores and restaurants, Elizabeth's insider insights made for a fabulous day and provided us with food for thought for future trips to Rome.

2  Thank Rosie_Earl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethMInchilli, Owner at Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Rosie and Earl, it was a delight getting the chance to walk you through my Rome. Thanks so much for taking the time to check back in.
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food tour"
in 20 reviews
"jewish ghetto"
in 13 reviews
"monti neighborhood"
in 6 reviews
"gelato"
in 29 reviews
"goat farm"
in 3 reviews
"food culture"
in 3 reviews
"romans eat"
in 2 reviews
"deep knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"food and wine"
in 5 reviews
"suppli"
in 3 reviews
"fried artichokes"
in 2 reviews
"campo di fiori"
in 2 reviews
"group tour"
in 3 reviews
"eternal city"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 2 reviews
"umbria"
in 8 reviews
"molto"
in 10 reviews
Filter

119 - 123 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Imagine having a good foodie friend who lives in Rome who's willing and eager to show you around the city. Then imagine your good foodie friend is also the good foodie friend of food icons like Jonathan Gold, Evan Kleiman and Nancy Silverton. This is Elizabeth Minchilli.

We did a private tour, so Elizabeth, my partner and I spent an incredible day wandering and eating Rome. After some email correspondence confirming our itinerary in the weeks before our trip, she picked us up at 9am rom the small family hotel she'd recommended. She then proceeded to lead us through her Rome: a cappuccino at her local cafe, dueling pizza bianco bakeries, the farmer's market, a sit down cheese tasting with the shop owner, a butcher, a full meal in the Jewish neighborhood, a gelato stop and a final late afternoon espresso around 4pm. We parted full, happy and with an iPhone full of food porn photos and recommendations for future meals.

My only regret has nothing to do with Elizabeth -- we spent our first full day in Rome with her and since we'd flown in from LA hours before, we were still in a culture shock/jet lag stupor during our tour. If you can, give yourself a day to recover so you can fully appreciate the experience.

Elizabeth is the person food professionals seek out for their visits to Rome. I can't imagine a better endorsement than that. And if you know an Elizabeth in another city anywhere in the world, please tell me so I can book that tour too! (Not kidding!)

Thank LA-LONDON-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethMInchilli, Owner at Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a long report. Reading through this, I can't believe we didn't explode! We certainly managed to fit in quite a bit of eating in one day. At least we got some walking in between stops. :)
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Elizabeth is a passionate food writer who has lived in Rome for decades. Her insider knowledge and personal relationships with the restaurants, chefs, and shop owners can't be duplicated. Her depth of knowledge and graciousness is striking, as is her balance between professionalism and keeping a relaxed ambiance. I highly reccommend her tours.

1  Thank anniecooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethMInchilli, Owner at Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thanks Annie, for your endorsement! It's always a pleasure to eat my way around Rome with you. Looking forward to your next trip over. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spend a very enjoyable day with Elizabeth. She guided us on a unique culinary tour that introduced us to where the locals eat and shop.
Highly recommend.

Thank Shlomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethMInchilli, Owner at Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I had a very enjoyable day with you as well, and loved hearing about Tel Aviv. I hope the rest of your trip was delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2014
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethMInchilli, Owner at Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome also viewed

 

Been to Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing