We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, and overall great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Ranked #90 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel was located very close to the Coliseum and Palatine Hill (Roman ruins). It s slight trek to central Rome where you will find more restaurants, so if you are not inclined for a 15 min walk into the restaurant area then you might find this inconvenient. However, you will be close to many attractions and it is nice a quiet, calm, and charming. In fact, arco di giano is literally a few steps from the entrance. This was a nice stay overall, clean rooms, nice bathroom, and, unexpected, a spacious room!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brix510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 579 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel was a disappointment. The hotel lacked any charm and even the renovated rooms were not well done., the doors stuck and there were paint spots splattered on the bathroom tile. One of the few hotels we stayed at that charged for wifi. Though close to the ancient sites, you are pretty far away from any access point. I think it is more appropriate for a business traveler. It reminded me of Embassy Suites, but not as nice. The beds were rock hard.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomson4Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just behind the forum and the Capitole hill which makes it perfect to visit the city by foot. It's also close to the metro. People there were very kind and professional. The room was nice and very large, although when we go back we'll definitely go for one of the rooms with a balcony because they have a view on the Palatine hill :)

We didn't have breakfast there because it's close enough from all the little streets you need to go for breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Palazzo Al Velabro, where I have been staying on and off for the past 12 years has one of the best locations in Rome for walking, and is tremendously quiet (in a sometimes noisy city). The suites are large, comfortable and feature everything any traveler could ask for. That said, they are running down, with scuffed walls etc. Further, the damp in this part of Rome lends itself to mold. Anyone with a mold allergy should steer clear of this formerly marshy part of the city. The hotel also seems to be cutting corners financially rather than reinvesting. On the other hand, breakfast is excellent and friendly. Overall, it needs a turnaround, but has the potential to resume being an outstanding hotel in a glorious city.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front façade of the hotel have great views, particularly on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I'll start by saying, the staff is amazing and breakfast was fantastic. It was kind of hard for us to find since we were self - navigating and took the subway from the train station. It was probably a 10 minute walk from the subway station and the building had a very small metal sign so we almost passed it up. Our room was big and "apartment style" with a cute deck facing the Roman Forum!It did smell like smoke though so that's my reasoning for the 4 star. So the location was awesome and within walking distance of pretty much everything if you're fit!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Roman forum!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroom appartment for five nights over Easter.
Lovely hotel with good facilities in an excellent location for central Rome and ancient Rome.
Breakfasts were great. Staff very obliging and helpful .
Some minor refurbishment and updating required eg around lifts. Appartments should really have kettles in but then we didnt ask Dont reserve a taxi for the airport. We paid 70 e and found out the fair is 48e .
We booked well in advance and had free wifi.

Excellent overall
Overall rooms lovely cool and quiet with excellent views. Service excellent. Will certainly go back

1  Thank Ultan21
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Thank you again the staff at Palazzo al Velabro for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The spacious apartment right beside the weekend market was beautiful. An incredible view of the Palatine hill was stunning. We always feel at home at the Velabro !

Room Tip: any room is god.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Kolbe Hotel Rome
#138 of 1,267 in Rome
1,433 reviews
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#79 of 1,267 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#97 of 1,267 in Rome
1,356 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,267 in Rome
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Al Velabro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Al Velabro

Address: Via del Velabro 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#71 Family Hotel in Rome
#100 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $128 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Palazzo Al Velabro 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Palazzo Al Velabro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Hotel Rome
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing