We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dull exterior, impressive interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri

Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri
Book In Advance
$71*
and up
Rome Walking Tour: Mary and Saint's Churches
Ranked #30 of 1,257 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular church full of breathtaking statues and paintings. Located near the Termini station in Rome, this church is guaranteed to leave you gasping in admiration.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dull exterior, impressive interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The basilica is located within 5 minutes walk, directly opposite Termini Station. The exterior is huge, dull and the entrance is small. But what a surprise when we stepped into it. The interior is beautiful with tall columns, beautiful paintings and sculptures. There is a small museum depicting the history of the basilica and it was free during our visit. Walking out to the backyard, it was a quaint sight with an impressive looking statue. The stained glass dome in the basilica is really beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marietang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    451
    41
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Surprise behind an unassuming facade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The outside is a crumbllng semicircular facade, and you expect the inside to be unassuming, but WOW 1 this is a spectacular working church, originally ancient Roman Baths that were converted, with a splendid dome designed by Michaelangelo. Near the train station, so go if u are nearby

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Wow Moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped into this church on our way to dinner on our last night in Rome, on the recommendation of some friends who had visited the day before. The church is very unassuming outside but our jaws almost hit the floor when we walked though the doors. I was impressed with the size of the Basilica and he artwork that graced the walls. We had been to the Vatican earlier in the day, and I was equally impressed with this facility, largely because we did not have to fight crowds to get in, and could take our time to walk around and enjoy the structure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vicboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
477 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“No ho-hum...another church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Indeed Rome's churches are like America's Starbucks - one on very corner - but San Maria degli Angeli is splended. Michelangelo designed the vault of this former Roman bath, but there is a awe factor that goes beyond that. We returned to this place because of interesting things like the flooring and the organ. A working church, we happened upon a real Italian wedding and while we were not invited, we were accepted. The rear has a lovely garden with some sculptures. It is so old and yet still alive and well. It is free, although donations are accepted.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beware of pickpockets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A must see.It is usually crowed to the point where you can't get close to the fountain without pushing your way through.The pickpockete are everywhere so be carefull

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri also viewed

 

Been to Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing