We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice perspective”
Review of Galleria Spada

Galleria Spada
Book In Advance
More Info
$326.00*
and up
Private Palazzo Spada Tour in Rome
Ranked #217 of 1,536 things to do in Rome
Attraction details
Bjarred, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice perspective”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The gallery holds some hundreds of painting from various places and times - Europe 14-1600. A rather disparate collection, with the usual portraits of dukes, but a handful really interesting works. It is housed in vary interesting rooms where the painted roofs and walls many times outshines the paintings. There are some sculptures too, and two globes - one of the stars and one from early 15th century, designed for the Swedish king Gustaf II Adolf.

Tha main attraction, however is the cleverly designed alley of pillars. It is only 10 meters long but appears to be 25 meters due to clever use of perspective. Even the busches were maid of stone carving and painted green to fit in the perspective.

We were two visitors guided by a nice lady, but we were not allowed to go into this magic alley. Instead she went in there so we could judge the perspective effect due to her relative size. We were not allowed to take any photos of this.

A quiet place well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DrTravelmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    96
    38
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our fun visit”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went too see the tricky colonnade but ended up seeing Spada's collection spread across four or five rooms upstairs first. I really liked this little place. The guards were talking up a storm and there were only two other visitors in the gallery. I felt like we could talk in normal, not library voices and we didn't have to compete to see anything. Perhaps no masterpieces but I'm no art expert, I just like what I see. And, the trompe l'oeil was really great. Yes, I wish we got to go in it (geez!) and I wish we could have taken a photo or two, but we did get escorted to the colonnade by a staff person who gave us a great history and explanation of the piece. And, she walked in all the way to the sculpture at the "far" end so we could really understand the distance and sizing. That was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Hallway is great, and the ceilings are amazing”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Well worth a look. The hallway is super cool, but they will not allow you to take a picture, which seemed really odd. the pained ceilings are really good (no pictures here either)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhillKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
762 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
“Hardly worth the effort”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

If you are already walking by and have 5 euro burning a hole in your pocket, sure. After you've paid it, you'll be shown the famous Boromini false-perspective hallway, which is really the only thing worth seeing in the Spada. But you won't be allowed into the hallway, nor will they let you take a picture. You'd think that if you paid admission, they'd at least let you into the hallway so you can appreciate how it was done, but no. You also wonder what it would hurt them if you took a picture, but no, apparently they think that your amateur snapshot will deprive them of millions in royalties.
Without paying anything, you can see pretty much the same thing from the public courtyard, and no one will stop you from taking a photo, though through a pane of glass.
The rest of the museum is nothing to write home about. There are 4 rather small rooms with paintings and a few sculptures by mostly minor Italian Renaissance artists. There was one Titian.
All in all, a very marginal museum living off the glory of its one attraction, which they guard over-zealously.

Helpful?
1 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertforshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We found the Galleria Spada by chance, and decided to go in. It's a marvellous place, and so quiet and away from the crowds of Rome, each room in the Galleria had free guidebooks to use in most languages for you to study the exhibits at leisure. The surprise that awaits you when you enter the Galleria Spada (a personal guide takes you to see a wonderfull sight) is worth the entrance fee alone. I won't spoil it for you, just wait to be surprised!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galleria Spada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing