We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing & Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Stazione Termini

Stazione Termini
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.61*
and up
Rome - Electric Bicycle Small Group Tour of the Eternal City
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Confusing & Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beware of the train from Roma Termini to the Fiumicino Airport. Not only is it overpriced at $14 Euro for a 20 minute ride, but you also risk getting a hefty fine from the train staff of $50 Euro if your ticket is not "validated" prior to entering the train. After a two week vacation we bought our tickets from the counter and ran to catch the train leaving for Fiumicino airport. The conductor saw us running and held the door open for us. After the doors shut and the train started moving he asked for our tickets, which we promptly gave to him. He proceeded to rudely tell us that they needed validation and proceeded to write us tickets. We showed him our receipt dated 4 minutes prior, but he could have cared less. In our two weeks traveling through Italy we never had any issues with the train system and never had to have tickets "validated". THIS SYSTEM IS A SCAM!!!! They prey on unwary travelers and have no clearly marked systems on the platform for validation. This experience, combined with the typical scam artists, thieves and trash around the station almost ruined an otherwise perfect vacation. If you can avoid Roma Termini, and TAKE A TAXI, do it!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    1,010
    990
    439
    602
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“no refund”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My bus was cancelled and their staff told me that the money would be refunded[4 travellers].In spite of lodging a claim and getting a "ticket"[ID:12482],no response from Terravision.
No reason was given for the cancellation and the lady was quite rude too.There are many better options as I later discovered,for getting to Termini from the airport.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Srinivas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad System”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having booked first class tickets with reserved seats on Intercity to Naples we arrived on the platform with suitcases etc to find hundreds of people going back and forward trying to find their carriage. We'd been assured that carriages were clearly numbered and ours, number 2, would be obvious.

Several carriages with 2 on and none obviously marked !st Class. Trusted a 'helper' without a uniform to show us and he was right! And free! Now to get the suitcases up three narrow steps and then lift them onto the ceiling high racks beyond the table and pairs of seats. No floor level extra storage as mentioned while booking.

Not nearly as young as we were it was a serious test and one not appreciated. We weren't the only ones and I'm not sure that UK trains are much better with case stowage but the whole shambles left a bad taste. Never again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently got the bus from Termini back to Ciampino airport. The whole situation was so badly organised. My husband was first in queue to change his ticket into a boarding pass however somehow we ended up on a coach that left nearly an hour later yet people who were behind him got on an earlier bus (people were given colour coded boarding passes based on which bus they could get on). We were given no infomation on when our bus would be arriving and we were just told to wait with another group of people on the other side of the road. Thankfully we had left plenty of time to catch our flight however there were other people around very scared about missing theirs because they had no anticipated

I did feel sorry for the people working and having to deal with so many angry people but the organisation was so bad for something which should be quite easy.

If I were to travel to Rome again I would definitely use a different mode of transport.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Florencia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beware of Theives”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beware of distraction theft - someone, probably a young lady will approach you and try and be of assistance, finding your train, validating your ticket, corralling you to a carriage. She will then try and help you with your luggage- meanwhile someone else is watching you and when you out something down, which you have to do at some point, whoosh it's gone.

There are no barriers onto the platforms and these people have free access - they're mates are usually sat ona stationary train acting like innocent passengers but they're not - they're watching you. You feel safe when you get n the train and the helpful lady is on the platform but really she's handing o over to the thieves on the train.

It's appalling and there isn't a policeman in sight - it feels like open season on the poor tourist.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AJAceSuffolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stazione Termini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing