We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Ebraico di Roma

Museo Ebraico di Roma
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.81*
and up
Romantic Sunset Aperitif in Jewish Ghetto
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Do not expect a blow away experience. The museum is small and yet it portrays Jewish Rome well, both the history and the present day community.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    68
    14
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pnei Kedem
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Synagogue Very Unique Prayer Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I prayed at the synagogue both Friday night and Shabbat morning, the building is breathtaking, with frescoes, murals, stained glass, etc. Services were unique and impressive, unlike anything I've ever experienced, the nusach of prayer is unique to the Italian community. However services were hard to follow especially in the morning. There is a kiddush following morning services on shabbat, and a speach in Italian.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We walked quite a distance in the rain to see the synagogue and museum, and we weren't disappointed. A guided tour is included in the price of admission, and our English-speaking guide was quite knowledgeable. The museum itself consisted of 7 rooms of artifacts on display, and the synagogue was both beautiful and of historic interest. Photography is not allowed, either inside the building or on the grounds - most likely for security reasons, but guidebooks, etc, are available in the gift shop. I doubt most people would make this their first point of interest to visit on a trip to Rome, but if time allows it's certainly worth checking it out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
689 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“History of the Jews in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

A nice museum located in the Great Synagogue located in the "Jewish Ghetto". There is an audio tour of the museum which in detail describes the history. Well done. There is also a tour of the small as well as the main synagogue. The Great Synagogue is a beautiful structure ornately decorated. Would be a special treat to experience a service there. Worth the visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank frugalarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A glimpse into the Jewish people of Rome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

It is always nice to see inside somehwere one would not normally be able to go. This is what the tour of the Jewish Museum allows. Our English-speaking guide gave a good amount of detail, not too overwhelming, about the background of the Jewish people in Rome. This was probably the most interesting part of the tour.

The entry price of €11 covered the tour of the 2 synagogues and a visit to the museum. The museum was secondary to the tour. The synogues were ornate yet simple, pristine yet used.

Our whole visit took about 40 minutes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museo Ebraico di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing