We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a feeling of your own home in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castellani a San Pietro
Ranked #483 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very nice B&B. Room was very fresh and cosy, with a little, nice balcony. Toilet and shower is inside every room, what is making stay even more comfortable. Every morning, B&B owner and hostess Cynthia, prepared us an amazing breakfast with fresh pastry and coffee. She has very nice taste and all rooms are very well decorated and have fresh flowers. Room cleaning (bed cloth changing) was made every day. Our family felt ourselves like at home and it was pity to leave. Location is great and you could reach with all kind of transport in every part of the Rome. Almost every evening we were taking a nice half- one hour walk to return from Piazza Venezia (city center) by old and beautiful streets of Rome. To take underground in rush/hour may be little extreme, since it is only 2 lines in Rome and a lot of people who is traveling by metro in this hours. Taxi from Piazza Venezia to B&B was costing around 12 hour, trip by metro for two grownups and baby 3 eur. We were preferring to walk or take a taxi.

I have pick up this place because of a great location and good reviews in both tripadviser and booking. And I have not doubt any minute in my choice. Personal touch of Synthia with all our matters, was making our stay very enjoyable and I would advise this place to everyone. We and our little son Gabby will definitely come back to this place next time when we will visit Rome and Vaticano.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is an amazing place, the location is great only a couple of blocks from the Vatican. Don't judge this place by the entrance, once you are in is really nice and modern. I must say that we were blown away by the attention to detail from Cynthia the owner. The breakfast was very good with freshly squeeze orange juice. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaBelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Okay, so we’ve stayed at a lot of places over the years and the owners of Castellani’s (Cynthia, hubby and son Pablo) win our TOP award for ‘service with a smile’ and ‘service way beyond the expected’.

Closely followed by another BnB nearby (Papa Vista Relais) where we also stayed – within 5-10 min walk of each other (also a fabulous place to stay; see separate review).

Where to start?:
• Cynthia herself: her beautiful and sincere nature radiates; she is SO genuine and helpful.
• Cynthia cooks a lovely breakfast personally each morning. She makes a yummy ham/cheese toasted sandwich; provides lovely, fresh rolls, croissants and pastries and warms them for you and a variety of breads, etc. There is fresh fruit, fresh coffee, a selection of teas and a juice machine. She whips up a lovely carrot, apple & orange juice to start your day! There are also cereals, jams, etc. Breakfast is currently (late Sep/early Oct) 8am – 10am however Cynthia will provide you a selection of pastries and cereals and fresh milk for your room the night before if you want an early start and to eat in your room (is a kettle, fridge, etc in your room).
• Cynthia and Pablo went ‘above and beyond’ when our travel plans were changed and we found we had 2 extra nights in Rome. Castellani’s was booked out so they got onto booking.com for me and searched for nearby available places at a similar cost (we wanted to be in the Prati area near the Vatican & St Peter’s). They found Papa Vista Relais BnB just a couple of streets away and even closer to the Vatican entrance. They called them and asked them questions about Papa’s, when satisfied they then went ahead and booked online for us. Cynthia then walked us up with our hand luggage while Pablo bought our packs up in his smart car. Cynthia introduced herself at the BnB and asked them to take care of her guests (which they most certainly did).
• We stayed in the ‘green’ room which is whites, silvers and green tonings. Lovely king size bed, small terrace with table for two, extremely modern bathroom with toilet, bidet, large sink and a double shower with rain shower head. Water pressure fantastic. Small writing desk, fridge with mini bar (at reasonable prices), tea/coffee making facilities in room. Wardrobe and adequate floor space (and luggage rack) for getting luggage out of the way. Well lit as well as romantic, soft side lights. All toiletries, hair dryer, slippers, toothbrushes and paste are supplied. Air con works beautifully and is QUIET. You want for nothing in here.
• Immaculately clean and ‘new’ looking.
• In ‘Prati’ district right amongst some fantastic taverns, gelati places, restaurants, shops, etc. Near a market and about 4 or so min walk to Varican entrance. About 8 min walk to St Peter’s. Also near Ottaviano ‘San Petro’ Metro Stn (easy to use to get to Colosseum area).

Don’t be fooled by the exterior of the building. Like with many Roman BnB’s and accom’s finding the right ‘door’ to the BnB can be a challenge and the buildings, including this one, don’t look much from the outside. You find ‘Castellani’ on the buzzer and press it to gain access. Once inside the main building it looks quite run down. You walk up one flight of stairs and then can walk the rest of the flights OR take the small elevator. Cynthia or Pablo will come out and meet you and once you enter their ‘Castellani’ door the scene changes completely. Their hallway is pure white with paintings, vases with flowers, small side tables, mirrors etc. It is simple and elegant and put together ‘just right’ The kitchen/office area is lovely and welcoming and the bedrooms are beautiful.

We found the Prati district in general a great location to stay as it was quiet at night, cheaper for pizza/pasta meals and a great area for night photography which we love (St Peter’s Basilica and square, the main shopping street, Castel San Angelo’s, the bridges lit up over the river…).

If Castellani’s is full though do check out Papa Vista Relais BnB nearby as it was also a great place.

Anything to improve upon? Nup… Castellani’s deserves every accolade found on the internet and it gets our highest recommendation. We WILL be back. Thankyou Pablo. Thank you Cynthia.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived to have the owner respond to our 'buzz' at the building entrance. Whilst it was a little difficult getting our bags to the rooms due to the small lift starting at level one...our first impression of this b&b 'hotel' was fantastic...and it got better from there. The rooms were modern and neat and the continental breakfasts were great with freshly squeezed orange juice, cappicinnos made to order and pastries to prepare us for the day. A good example of the service was when I asked if there was any ice for our rooms...and the owner filled cups for us to use the first night. By the following morning she had purchased small ice holders which allowed her to have ice ready for our use when we returned from a full day of sightseeing! Nothing was too much trouble. In addition to the service the rooms are within a stones throw from the Vatican...and some great street side cafes for chilling out at night wTching the passing parade! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms to choose from...saw 2 and ther are identical with a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Castellani a San Pietro and would highly recommend this as a place to stay. There is everything you need here. The room we had was large, the bathroom was modern and very large by European standards. We had fresh pastries for breakfast each morning that could be washed down with freshly squeezed orange juice or a cup of lovely coffee.
The location is brilliant. Only 3-5 minutes walk from the metro and to Saint Peters basilica. We would stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank HJM_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SilviaVeiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,969 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#227 of 1,270 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#206 of 1,270 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castellani a San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellani a San Pietro

Address: Via Vespasiano 17/a, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast - B&B Castellani a San Pietro - is a brand new alternative hospitality facility located in the heart of Rome, in the historical Prati district just a short walk away from St. Peter’s Square. It consists of three double rooms with ensuite bathroom and private balcony, a reception, and a breakfast area, all on the fourth floor (with lift) of an old Roman building in Via Vespasiano 17/A.The interior is exquisitely furnished and the rooms, bright and spacious, are perfect in every detail to offer top comfort during your stay in Rome, whether you are here for business, to study, or on holiday. All suites have an additional third bed; the Red Room has also a fourth.Our Bed & Breakfast offers three brand new "Luxury Comfort" Suites, each with queen-sized bed, ensuite bathroom and a wide glass door leading to a private balcony. Our facility also includes a comfortable "agora", a meeting place where every morning you will be served a savory breakfast, personalized to your taste, and will be able to choose from a selection of the most important national daily newspapers. Our Bed and Breakfast is just 100 meters away from Vatican City, 200 meters away from St. Peter's Basilica, 150 meters away from the entrance to the Vatican Museums, and 3 metro stops away from Piazza di Spagna, Fontana di Trevi, Trinita' dei Monti, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, and many other wonders of the eternal city.Just 150 meters away from our B&B is the entrance to the Vatican Museums, and just 100 meters away is the metro A line station OTTAVIANO-S.PIETRO; hop on the train and in a few minutes you will be in the old town center where you will be able to visit the most beautiful and charming sites in Rome.Booking includes: breakfast, ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, heating, free Wi-Fi Internet, LED television with Sky satellite channels, minibar, safe, hair dryer, water kettle and a supply of coffee/tea, linens changed every three days, daily cleaning, one daily newspaper of your choice. Take a look at the affordable offers for our luxury suites: competitive prices and tailored services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castellani a San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing