We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domus RomAntica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Medici(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
183
93
20
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
93
20
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastryfrench embassyb bquick accessstreet facingfourth floormin walking distancemini barapartment blocknice roomresidential buildingrooms are beautifulvilla borghesecomfortable stayquiet neighborhooddecent sizebars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 299 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This has hotel standard rooms but in an apartment/b&b type building. The lady at check in (claudine I think her name was) was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location close to the french embassy. safe for walking around at night. close enough to the metro for exploring rome. Breakfast was just a coffee (or tea in our case) and muffin but was perfect for us. Not a single english speaking channel on the tv would be my only slight reservation but overall we were very happy with it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garymackenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Don't get thrown by my 3 star rating. I actually very much liked this place. But it's not a real hotel. If you want to stay somewhere with a person at a front desk for your needs 24/7 this is not the place for you. The rooms are very nice, and everything is perfectly clean. The location is perfect. Walking distance to Via Veneto and Villa Borghese. It's on a lovely quiet street, in a very safe seeming neighborhood. We always felt comfortable walking around at night.
Warnings/tips
Most of the time there isn't a person working at the front desk so you're on your own. The lights in the hallway automatically turn off so it's dark a lot. However there are switches right outside your room so you can turn back on.
For what it was and the amount of time we were there we found this hotel to be acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliciaWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

the hotel is a descent one. Very clean and with nice space. the room has a pleasant decoration so you don't feel that you must get out of the room.i liked the colours,brown and warm.
the hotel is not so close to a metro station but it did not worry me,it was quite central. rome is a town ideal for walking so is not needed a stay in the heart of the town.
we liked the breakfast,it was quiet a fun to go to the cafe to the corner.never had a stay in a hotel like this before.
generally i recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lefteris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was great.
The room is nicely decorated and the bathroom was clean. The air conditioning was nice and ice...it was dark when closing the curtains...and very quiet! Perfect for exhausted travellers. Its about 10 min walk to train stop and there are only a few restaurants around (pretty average the ones we ate at). The breakfast included was nice and we would definitely stay again when in rome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Overall this is a very good hotel, and I recommend staying there if you don't mind a 15 to 20 minute walk to/from the Metro. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Marco and Fabrizio (hope I spelled his name correctly) were fantastic. The hotel is updated, clean, well maintained, near the city center, and the price is very good.

On our end we did two things that helped a LOT.
Firstly, we gave them our time of arrival. There's not always someone at reception (especially after hours) so since they knew when we would be arriving, Marco made sure to be there to greet and check us in.
The second thing that helped tremendously was to have the hotel arrange for a taxi to pick us up from the airport. The price was pre-determined and the driver honored the price. We paid $60 euros for 6 people and it was worth every "penny"! It was actually a great deal given the distance from the airport to Rome. Our driver also took us past Vatican city. So...unless you have a mobile gps mapping device or have already been there, I would not advise trying to find the hotel yourself. The roads in Rome are VERY difficult to navigate - there may or may not be a street sign, and the streets change name several times along the same route (i.e. 1 street, multiple names). Also, everything is a lot closer together than we're used to. Again, my advice is to NOT try to find your way from the train station to the hotel, especially at night.

I agree with the other reviews about the signage - very difficult to see unless you know where to look. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no way to tell it was even there. Fortunately the taxi driver pointed out the button we needed to push to contact the reception. This hotel occupies part of the 4th floor of a building - something we were not expecting. Also, there are only 5 or 6 rooms.

We were there in August and the AC worked OK but not great. We slept just fine - partly because we were exhausted at the end of each day, and partly because we had the AC cranking all night long (I believe the setting we used was Maximo).

The breakfast at this hotel consists of coffee, a baked item, and cold drink (juice or soda) from a café next to the hotel. The croissants were absolutely delicious, and the café owner was very nice and helpful.

The best thing about this hotel is that it's just around the corner from Pizzeria Al Forno della Soffitta - simply the best pizza we've ever eaten. We got several kinds and I don't recall their names - but they were all delicious.

Again, overall I would recommend this hotel based on quality of the rooms/bathroom, great staff, price, and the fact that it is close to the city center. Just be aware that it's about a mile or so to get to the metro - doesn't seem far until you try it in 90+ degrees with luggage and small children. Also, the AC in the rooms works but is not great.

p.s. something we learned while traveling in Italy...the Italians are out in the morning, take a break in the early afternoon, and then resume activity in the late afternoon/early evening. This might seem strange to people like me who have never done that before, but we discovered that there's a very good reason for this. The mid-day/early afternoon heat is simply miserable, so they just skip it...makes sense when you think about it. Our days became a lot more enjoyable and productive after we adopted this practice.

Room Tip: I don't know which one has the best AC, but if there is and you will be there in the summer I'd grab that room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews