We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous - Ballet - Romeo & Giulietta”

Teatro dell'Opera di Roma
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.41*
and up
Rome Uncovered: A Fully Private Walking Tour Through the Most Iconic Places of...
Ranked #152 of 1,497 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous - Ballet - Romeo & Giulietta”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We attended the ballet here and had an exquisite time. The theatre is beautiful, our seats on platea good, music wonderful - thank you Prokofiev, orchestra great, dancing incredible, costumes and set very good, choreography superb--a real happening. Don't know how it could have been better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JandR711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    94
    30
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“for opera lovers!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we saw an opera here, as opera in Rome in the finest theatre with the finest voices seemed a good choice and it was - La Giaconda in all it's grandeur with a full ballet did not let us down!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“La Gioconda was wonderful”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything you could ask for! Wonderful music, orchestra, singers, dancers, production! Magical, seating in the boxes is a rip off, €115 a person. Six people crammed in a box which meant a restricted view for half of us and the box we were in was in the centre area and in theory should have been a good view. Would recommend you sit in the stalls which are well ramped for a god view

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzywac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“La Giaconda, fantastic”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a great evening at the Opera. We've been to several times to Opera in London, Venice and Verona and this ranked very well.

We hadn't seen La Giaconda before and it was a really good production with a beautifully done ballet sequence. The staging was great and the singing wonderful.

As far as seeing it in Rome is concerned, well the Italian audience was very enthusiastic with many shouts of Bravo and a 10 min+ curtain call. We knew we didn't have the best seats but our seats in the balconetta were ok, the sound was fine but we our view was a little hindered. But that was ok, we hadn't paid for exclusive seats :)

The main thing to note compared with productions elsewhere is that this production started late (8:30pm) and had two long intervals meaning that we didn't leave the theatre until after midnight (about 12:20 I think). So make sure you make arrangements for eating, drinking and for transport home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Norma at Terme di Caracalla was pitiful”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Teatro dell'Opera di Roma is well regarded. It has a summer music, dance, and opera series at the Caracalla baths Roman ruins. The venue is ill-suited for Opera. A stage has been set up in front of some wall ruins, and the seating is a low-angled bleacher sort of arrangement. The result is that the acoustics are dreadful--unlike a real Roman or Greek theater where the scena stage background and the round cava seating area make for outstanding acoustics. The acoustics here are so bad that everything was heavily miked--so much so that all of the sound came out of the two speakers set at opposite sides of the stage. it is very disconcerting to have singers in center stage but the voices coming off, say, the right edge of the stage.

I fear these problems are endemic to the venue and that the Teatro dell'Opera should abandon performing operas there.

But the venue was not the only problem. The staging was extremely static, making the performance visually boring. The performance never came alive. Given the acoustics, I have no idea what the musical quality of the performance was.

All in all it is probably the most unsatisfactory opera performance I have ever attended.

It didn't help that a large woman sitting next to us chain-smoked throughout the performance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro dell'Opera di Roma also viewed

 

Been to Teatro dell'Opera di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing