We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmmmm.....”

Cremeria Monteforte
Ranked #58 of 779 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Takeout
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmm.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The guide gave us free time after visiting the Pantheon because SHE wanted to cross the street for amazing gelato, so of course we did the same thing! Newspaper clippings on the door indicate Romans themselves appreciate what's offered here. I actually had chocolate mousse in my dish, and thinking of it still makes me salivate. Nobody in the group had a single complaint. Actually, nobody said anything, they were too busy happily eating... Very easy to order, pay, and then head out to find a perch and people-watch the zoo of humanity in front of the Pantheon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaggfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    62
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Gelato”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

But not the best - convenient to the Pantheon and for a heavily touristed area a safe bet. Small selection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOakesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
552 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 802 helpful votes
“a return visitor - just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Love, love, love this place. Had their granitas this time (they have 4-5 flavors). I had a selection of 3 flavors in a good-size cup for EUR 4: including coffee, almond, and dark chocolate. A good deal for the area (right next to the Pantheon), and more importantly, amazing tasting. Fresh, so flavorful, amazing, amazing, amazing. Get these with panna (unsweetened Italian whipped cream) on top for the full Roman experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must stop in Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I agree - as you look at that beautiful building, do not miss out to have a cone from Cremaria!! The staff there is wonderful - the gelato is FANTASTIC. I go there every trip to Rome and usually every day - Hey when in Rome right?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Admire the Pantheon while indulging in great gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you are facing the Pantheon, Cremaria Monteforte is on the right side on Via Della Rotonda, 22. We were in Rome for 5 days and my family ate there 4 times. My favorite was the fig gelato while my daughter loved the lemon granita. The shop was always busy but never too busy. The gelato is fresh and staff is very friendly. Grab a cup or a cone, then stand in front of the Pantheon and admire one of the most beautiful buildings in Rome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StormingTheCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cremeria Monteforte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing