We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome pasta”
Review of Il Localino

Il Localino
Ranked #2,355 of 12,271 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome pasta”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Exactly what you want from an Italian restaurant, just ask what you are eating afterwards :) Great wine selection as well...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    83
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path in Barberini”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Via Veneto is chock full of restaurants trying to drag you in kicking and screaming (this should be a warning sign btw). We detoured a few blocks from the main strip and found this local hangout across the street from a gentlemens club. Don't worry though as the clientele are not mixed.

Everything was great as we shared a carbonara and a ragu bolonese which were prepared with rigatoni.

The only negative was the rather long wait for the bill but the place was packed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattbrendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fish-lovers' paradise”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

As a solo woman business traveller, it's not that easy eating alone in a restaurant. But I care more about food than about feeling self-conscious. And the fish at Il Localino was so wonderful that I didn't care about making a glutton of myself.

The restaurant had been recommended by a Roman foodie work colleague - it's off the Via Veneto and there's nothing from its outward appearance to signal that it's anything special, so I was grateful for the tip-off.

I wanted to try absolutely everything on the menu - impossible obviously - so the next best thing was two starters and a pasta: carpaccio of baccala, grilled octopus and pacchero in a fish stew (a new pasta shape for me). Quite the most exquisite tastes and excellently cooked. The menu changes daily, is highly seasonal and very imaginative, though within the range of traditional Italian.

It's not cheap - but good fish never is, and shouldn't be either. And it was the best food experience I've had for a very long time, even though I wasn't sharing it with anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tangoclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great place, great service!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Super fresh seafood for a reasonable price! A must in Rome! No extra charge for 5 persons or more. In most restaurants they add a amount without letting you know. This is always disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Visser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved the monkfish ragu and the grilled swordfish with eggplant caponata! Must go if you have the chance!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taramarievan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Localino also viewed

 

Been to Il Localino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing