We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see all of Roma!”

Rome Free Walking Tour
Ranked #86 of 796 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a group of licensed and expert tour guides and we offer free walking tours through the Eternal City.All of us are local guides and all have a University Degree in History of Art or Archeology.Our Meeting PointCOLUMN of the IMMACULATE • Piazza di SpagnaWe offer three different tours in English and Spanish everyday, plus a special tour in French on Friday.All tours start whatever the weather and last about 2 hours. No reservations required, just show up at our meeting point.Tours are free – we work based on your tips, onlyOur commitment is to offer everyone the chance to enjoy Rome, no matter the budget, with the best tours!
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great way to see all of Roma!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

What a wonderful way to see Rome! I did both the Vatican and Colosseum tour and was so impressed! The tour guides were so knowledgable and had terrific bits of history to share at every stop! I spent the whole day touring Rome and learned so much! Wonderful tour, kind and interesting guides, overall perfect way to see this amazing city.

The tour guides work for tips, so please be ready to give them money at the end. I was so impressed and gave each guide 10 euro. Even for that price you could not get a guided tour of Rome anywhere!

Finally, keep in mind that you will not go inside any of the sights on this tour so save some time if you want to go to the Vatican Museum it into the Colosseum. We did go into the Pantheon.

Such a perfect day!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank KristenM522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    251
    57
    32
    42
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“On our own”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were on our own in Rome for two nights (14 and 15 November 2012) before going on a Mediterranean cruise on the 16 November 2012. We checked into a hotel walking distance to the Colosseum. That way we were free to explore Rome at will. A 30-minutes bus ride to the city of Rome only cost 1.5 Euro. Tickets can be purchase at any post office. A great way to explore Rome at your own leisure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chong-wah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our tour guide was amazing! He had great knowledge of the city and even showed us great places to eat! I went in July and I wish I could remember our tour guides name, it did start with a G though. Very nice guy, tip them well because they work hard through all weather conditions and are patient and will wait if you want to take a hundred pictures! He constantly was checking to make sure the group was together and I thought that was very generous. I recommended this tour to a friend who will be visiting next month. Hopefully you'll see her there! Overall this is a 5 star tour! Definitely check out the 10:00am tour and the 4:00pm tour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The best way to see the European cities specially with histories like Rome is through a walking tour. Our guide was Serena, and she was very good, informative and friendly. As the tour guides are locals mostly, you can get a very good know how of the city and people through them.

Both the colosseum and vatican tours were well routed and decently paced. Serena can include more anecdotes to the tours as I am sure there are many.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank needhi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had maria she was lovely answrred all everyones questions told us she had been studingnin rome for quite a while but she was amazing and beyond knowledgeable about all things roman history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rome Free Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing